Cover Girl CG Smoothers All Day Hydrating Makeup

3.7

234 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Talc, Sodium Chloride, Dimethicone Copolyol, Arachidyl Behenate, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Stearic Acid, Ethylene Brassylate, Trihydroxystearin, Trisodium EDTA, Silica, Dimethicone, Synthetic Wax, Propylparaben, Barium Sulfate, Methicone, Aluminum Hydroxide, Laureth 7, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Mica


on 6/16/2004 7:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

CG Smoothers All Day Hydrating Makeup is a good buy and provides adequate coverage for my dryish skin.

I bought this product in "Classic Ivory" and it really does smooth over the skin, leaving the skin soft and translucent. I think it's a decent product if you can't get out to buy the department store brands.

It is a good lightweight makeup for summer when most of us already have some color in our faces. It almost seems like a tinted moisturizer.

A real advantage of this foundation is that I do NOT find it turning orange on my skin the way some foundations do.

Edited to add about the CG Smoother Hydrating Foundation: It does not take the place of moisturizer, I am finding out. Though it goes on fairly smoothly, if you have dry skin, you had best be wearing a very good moisturizer underneath it.

I am really glad I found CG Smoothers All Day Hydrating Makeup just in time for summer. Now if I could only find a great moisturizer, preferably one with a sunscreen in it, too.



on 6/12/2004 2:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I've not been a fan of covergirl products in general, but this was a nice foundation at a reasonable price. I also LOVE that it comes in a squeeze tube so it doesn't get messy and I don't have to worry about getting bacteria in it. I'd say it gave medium coverage and has a natural finish. I have normal skin that is dryer in the winter and this was not too dry, not too shiny. However, even though this foundation is for dry skin, I don't think it would be appropriate for REALLY dry/mature skin. I can't imagine my mother being happy with this product for example. I might repurchase as a cheap day-to-day foundation.


on 6/9/2004 12:26:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is the only foundation that works on my rosacea skin, and I have tried a ton of them. With Peter Thomas Roth tinted sunscreen, I've at last found my hg combination.

It seems to be the same formula as the discontinued Olay foundation, my former hg.

I had to buy a few tubes before I found the right color, but it is far cheaper than the EL Re-Nutriv foundation I was using (that made my skin flaky). Its flat container is great for travel too.


on 5/16/2004 8:59:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Pretty good foundation for the price. It's very thin, so it's not something you'll want if you need a lot of coverage. It evens out my skin tone and works pretty well.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this is a great product - very sheer (but that's ok with me) and moisturizing. I've been trying lots of high end foundations lately (on a hunt) and so far, this one beats them all!


on 4/15/2004 5:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this less than their Clean Makeup. Parts of the product are good- very longlasting, doesn't rub off, blends well, decent coverage (not as much as Clean Makeup). What I don't like is this is much more orange than the Clean Makeup and the shade is supposedly the same (Creamy Natural). Also for a "smoothing" or moisturizing makeup I think this would fail, bigtime. I have combo skin and it tends to dry it out, one of the first foundations I've had that did so. It emphasizes dryness and tiny lines around the eyes.
Like the packaging. Wish it covered a bit better, had better shades, and didn't dry me out. Also no SPF.


on 4/11/2004 2:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i tried the trial packs and i really loved it. the coverage was great- not too heavy and not too light. it made my skin look really smooth, and the gel formula made it super-blendable! the only problem is that i haven't been able to find my perfect shade yet, but i'll keep looking cause i love this foundation!


on 4/9/2004 7:27:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is an okay makeup. I like good coverage with a satin-dewy finish. This was too matte for me and ended up making me look somewhere in between cakey and dry. I won't be buying this again--didn't hydrate or moisturize. Don't recommend.


on 4/8/2004 5:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Good for medium coverage- daytime makeup.

No breakouts yet.

Packaging is great, becuase with the flattened tube you can squeeze out just the right amount, and then fit it in a small purse.

Color is okay, blends pretty well, and is not as "rosey" as other drugstore brands. I can blend it with my fingers.

DOWNFALL: it has a weird, faint smell that I can smell all day, kind of musk-perfumy.

Would buy this again though, espeiclly for the price.


on 3/23/2004 11:43:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Well i've been searching diligently for years (and have used LOTS of high-end dept store stuff) for *the* makeup... could this be it? I'm thinking yes!!! I've got late 30's skin (which means *gulp* wrinkles) and I've been having a hard time finding something that doesn't settle into the lines.. until now. I just bought this a couple of days ago and did a double take when looking in the mirror after applying it the first day... was that me with the wrinkle-less skin? It has decent coverage (not very heavy but I don't want heavy), a pretty good match for my skin (and cheap enuf to buy a couple diff colors if necess to figure out the right one), is moisturizing, and just makes me look good. I'm sooo happy


Back to Top