April 21, 2014 | 1201 users online

Masks - Aztec Secret - Indian Healing Clay

rated 4.3(425 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 86% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/21/2011 11:03:00 PM More reviews by gojiberry

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I've learned that this mask works wonders with frequent usage. Several days ago I had several huge and painful breakouts on my face after eating fast food, and I used this mask right away with organic apple cider vinegar. The next day I repeated, and on the third day all the breakouts were gone. For now my face is completely free of breakouts and feels much lighter. I've never had a pimple completely heal in only 3 days. I will definitely repurchase this mask and use it more often. I apply a thick layer with a foundation brush, leave it to pulse 30 minutes to 1 hour, and then I rinse it off in the shower. It deposits minerals into the face, so don't use a cleanser after removing the mask. I am very thin skinned and NW 15 so my face stays a lot redder until the next morning, but the results are worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/30/2011 2:39:00 PM More reviews by sthepaut

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This stuff really works! It lasts a really long time, too. I would use apple cider vinegar if you have oily skin and honey/milk if you have dry skin. Don't use it too often, once or twice a week maximum. Its really tempting to use it every day though, once you feel your skin tightening up and all the toxins being sucked out!!
You can use it on acne, insect bites, and even take it internally. I buy mine at iherb because it is really cheap and they offer free shipping too! Try coupon code: HEP887 to get $5 off your order

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/26/2011 4:26:00 PM More reviews by rachelph

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I've been using this for two weeks or so now. It was a coupel tries before I got results. I mix it with ACV that i also bought from the Vitamin Shoppe and most recently with some sea salt too (very good for acne). It gets REALLY tight. While on, it burns, tingles, and itches. Its also painful to take off. However, it is SO worth it. After washing it off your face is a bit red and raw, but it draws out whiteheads and impurities, and my skin is soo much clearer since using it. My forehead used to be so oily, clogged, and bumpy before this, but this mask finally cleared it up. I would REALLY try this out, i've tried freeman's feeling beautiful, albas enzyme mask, and those japanese ones. They have nothing on this!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/17/2011 3:40:00 PM More reviews by Barbiebuxxx

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Honestly, I don't think this did anything for my face. I used it for about two months at least once a week before writing a review on it. It made my face feel tight and felt some suction action going on, so I got excited because I thought to myself, Oh wow this is probably going to make my skin look amazing once I wash it off. I was wrong, after washing it off I still had my nasty blackheads and my skin looked the same, only beet red. I was disappointed because I thought I would love it because of the great reviews it had here on MUA.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/16/2011 10:52:00 AM More reviews by sweetascocoa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I can't really say that this did anything for my facial skin, because I didn't really use it on my face enough to say it made a difference. But, this stuff is great for rashes and bug bites. I occasionally get heat rash and rashes from wearing costume jewelry on my neck and chest.
My body skin seems to be more sensitive than my facial skin, and any non- precious metal is liable to break me out. I've tried hydrocortisone, benadryl,, anti- bacterial cream to clear up the rashes. My allergy issues are pretty bad anyway, so I already take a daily dose of claritin, and it would take forever for the rashes to clear up. But, one day while putting the clay mask on my face, I put it on my neck too. And bam, the rash cleared up/ dried up in like an hour. I then started putting the clay on the reoccurring rashes, and every time the clay would clear them up with just one mask application. I've used it on insect bites too, and it works at "drying" them up and making them not itchy. I'll always keep this clay around because it really works.

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/9/2011 10:36:00 AM More reviews by DazzleDiaries

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this stuff...its my go to mask when i need a deep clean. i use it once a week and i have gotten all of my friends and family hooked! i mix 1 part clay with .5 part organic apple cider vinegar. i put it on my face and curl up to read a book or watch some TV. after about 30 minutes or so (sometimes i leave it on longer) i wash it off and my skin, although red, feels wonderful. and the next morning i always wake up to glowing skin!!! its like magic. i always get compliments on my skin the day after i do my mask. Love that its an all natural, easy, DIY....i dont think i will ever love another mask as much as my precious Indian Healing Clay mask!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/9/2011 1:20:00 AM More reviews by PaperAlias

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm so glad that I finally decided to give this mask a chance. I have oily/acne-prone skin, so I usually lean towards clay masks, and this is by far my favorite one, as it feels most effective. It's a real gunk-sucker!


I bought this on Amazon for a little under $8 with free shipping. Very inexpensive for 1 lb. of product. This is pure sun-dried calcium bentonite clay. The clay itself is greenish in color with no scent. I scooped up 1 teaspoon of clay and mixed it with one teaspoon of ACV. (Note: I've read somewhere that using metal bowls/utensils will deteriorate the potency of the clay, hence the use of glass/plastic is recommended.) It seemed a little bit watery, so I kept adding a bit of extra clay powder until I had the consistency I wanted. The result was a smooth whipped texture. It felt nice and creamy going on, and I applied enough for a nice opaque and even layer. The label on the tub says that it contains enough product for 10-15 masks... but I would imagine that you really need to use VERY thick layers to only get that many masks out of one jar. This tub looks like it would last me well over a year, if not two!


Within about 5 minutes, I could already feel it start to tighten and pull. Shortly after, I begin experiencing the pulsating sensation that everyone has mentioned. Bentonite helps stimulate blood circulation in the skin. That, combined with the pulling, is what makes it pulse and slightly redden the skin afterwards. After about 10 minutes, it starts to feel a little bit more uncomfortable. It even itched a little bit. This isn't something you can put on and then eat/talk afterward. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's best to keep your face as still as possible until you're ready to remove it.


After about 15 minutes, I find that it has pulled my skin so much that my lips were partially open. I decide that I've reached my tolerance level and hop in the shower to rinse it off. Keep in mind that the thicker the mask, the more difficult it is to remove. If you use a light layer, you may be able to get away with just using warm water, but for thicker applications, a wash cloth, or a shower, helps remove it much more easily.


I loved how CLEAN this made my face feel afterwards. This is great at bringing gunk to the surface. I can imagine some people may experience initial purging with this (especially those with very congested skin), but for me I did not. My skin felt very soft and my pores did look noticeably cleaner and smaller in size. It didn't completely remove all blackheads on my nose, but I'll update on how that goes with more regular use. I followed up with my regular acne medication and moisturizer afterward. I was so amazed that I decided to try it as a spot treatment that night. I had a couple of picked areas on my face, with one stubborn pimple on my forehead. The next morning, these areas did look a bit better. The pimple was noticeably smaller in size and easier to conceal, and the picked spots looked more healed and smooth. Instant holy grail? Perhaps!


The first time I used it, I mixed it with Heinz Apple Cider Vinegar (which is only about 5% acidity) but it still felt very effective for me. Of course, I plan on trying plain raw ACV when I get a chance. As someone who has struggled with acne for most of her life, I think this is an excellent product. It's inexpensive and effective. I love simple, no-frills skin care. I also love the DIY aspect of it; anyone can tailor this mask to fit their own needs and skin types.


For me, the clay and ACV seemed effective enough for what I wanted, but as I continue to use this, I'll definitely experiment with other additional ingredients. So far so good. Highly recommended!

UPDATE Feb2013: This mask can feel a bit too drying during winter, even for my oily skin. But to make the drying action more bearable, I find that adding some honey (how much will depend on how dry you are; I am oily and add about 1/4 to 1/3 tsp) works great. I like how this can be adjusted to accommodate your skin through all seasons.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/8/2011 10:08:00 AM More reviews by appletea

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I always like it when I try a product that proves to be just as awesome as everyone says it is. I tried it last night for the first time, applying it before I hopped in the shower. I figured because of the thickness and consistency of the clay, taking it off in the shower would be less complicated. I left the masque on for about 20 minutes and it did make my face feel tight, but not uncomfortable. Because I made a little too much and applied it very thickly to my face, it didn't dry entirely by the time I was ready to shower; I am assuming this is why my face didn't feel super tight or "pulse." As I rinsed it off, I felt a little disappointed since I could still feel many of the underskin bumps along my chin, cheeks and forehead. But when I woke up today, my skin was clear and most of the bumps had disappeared entirely or dried up and shrunk. My forehead was completely smooth and there are only one or two areas on my cheeks and chin where I probably should have let it dry longer. I'm amazed at the results and I think I'm going to try it again tonight, dabbing it on the areas needing a little more TLC and applying a thinner layer. However, I would caution that this masque seems as if it would be drying and I probably will only use this once a week or less after this initial "purging" so not to over dry my skin. FYI, I mixed mine with apple cider vinegar, though I have heard of people using green tea or water with success as well. Personally, I weirdly enjoy the scent of apple cider vinegar so I don't mind having it on my face. Finally, my only *minor* gripe about the product is that the tub was so packed full of clay powder that it was impossible to scoop out without spilling a bit. This is definitely worth the price and will last me ages.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/4/2011 1:58:00 PM More reviews by webacat

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Yes, I'll buy this again, but one canister lasts forever. I've been using Aztec Indian Healing Clay for years. I think I bought this canister in 2001 and there's still lots left. Sometimes I use it weekly (summer months) and sometimes just every so often. (I also use the Aspirin mask or plain yogurt at other times.)

I mix up a little bit of the powder in a dessert bowl with a little bit of OACV. I prepare it so it's souffle fluffy. I apply it with my finger tip paying attention to sneaky areas like the sides of the nose, which are prone to oil, blackheads and other impurities. The area between the eyebrows gets special attention, too.

You're probably suppose to lie down and enjoy the pulling power of the mask, but I'm always running around doing things. So, I can't even tell you how long I leave it on -- 10 mins?

The removal takes longer than the application, because I want to do it gently. I soften it first with a warm wet washcloth and gently ease it off with the washcloth. Then there's more washclothing and splashing until it's finally gone. The revealed skin is soft and clean. There are a few red patches in odd areas, like the sides of my forehead, but these go away quickly.

Sometimes I follow this mask up with a moisturizing one. Sometimes I just put on day or night cream as appropriate.

I've used other mud masks, but for the price this tops them all. I've tried Aztec Indian Healing Clay with plain water, but I find it works much better with the OACV.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/4/2011 1:43:00 PM More reviews by kristamb

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This really is a powerful face mask. If you can stand the smell of vinegar on your face for about 30 minutes, this mask really does seem to do well for your face! I usually take a custard bowl and a teaspoon to mix up the powder with vinegar, into a thick paste (don't make it too runny, or it will not stay on your face!). After I remove the mask my face is usually red for another 30 minutes or so, but it definitely feels clean and detoxified! I like the fact that this product comes in a powder, because it lasts forever and you can create your own consistency. I think the label says you can also use water instead of vinegar, but I always use vinegar. Apple Cider Vinegar is supposed to be great for your complexion (Google it). I picked this up at Whole Foods for $6.99, and it's practically the last face mask I'll ever need (huge container). I would highly recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No