April 19, 2014 | 1117 users online

Cleansers - Avene - Cleanance soapless gel cleanser for oily skin



image 0image 1

rated 4.0(331 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 74% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 7/16/2009 9:07:00 AM More reviews by sanziana29

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought it 6 months ago, after i read some very good reviews about it. I tried to use it as in instructions, but it did not work. Another expensive product with zero results. Do not waste your money!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/7/2009 11:47:00 AM More reviews by sunflowergirl6

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is the only cleanser that doesn't break me out. Every time I try another cleanser, it breaks me out and disturbes the balance in my skin! The only thing I dont like, is the green color and the packaging..not very luxurious! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/6/2009 3:14:00 AM More reviews by astrid101359

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought this based on reviews saying it was good for sensitive skin. After 2 uses my face was a red, burning mess. Not the right product for me. Will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/20/2009 11:00:00 AM More reviews by shandelsam

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this cleanser even though I use this as more of a face wash in the mornings. It doesn;t irritate my acne prone skin and it leaves it feeling clean and smooth. Love it. I think this also helps keep my acne under control because when i stop using it, my acne seems to get worse. Will definitely keep repurchasing as long as it works!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/6/2009 7:52:00 AM More reviews by loveluxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The best cleanser I've ever used. Removes all traces of makeup and keeps breakouts at bay when used with the other Cleanance products. It doesn't really foam up and like other reviewers have suggested, it is definitely recommended to work up some lather with your fingers before applying to face so that the cleanser works evenly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/24/2009 5:03:00 PM More reviews by qeEYy0

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I've had this cleanser for what seems forever, and it still hasn't run out! For all you Canadians out there, I bought this at London Drugs (Shoppers Drug Mart might carry this, try them as well). As other reviewers have said, you don't need to use very much for it to be effective.

It works really well for me, but I don't like the strong scent of it. If there was no smell, I would have given it a 5/5.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/14/2009 10:10:00 AM More reviews by apgoh2

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I generally have oily T-zones..... I really blame it on the hot Malaysian weather that triggers the oil glands on my face !

While this soap is created for oily skin, im surprised that it did not dry out my skin like other soaps. To apply, i highly suggest that you create some lather using your fingers.... this enable the cleansing process to be easier and also, direct contact with soap itself dries out the skin.

It's midly fragranced, did not cause me breakouts or anything. However, i found that my skin somewhat lost its 'glow', that i usually have. therefore, i use this at night, after my skin gets oily throughout the day.

Overall,I would recommend this to generally anyone as it won't go wrong because its formulated for sensitive skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/8/2009 4:15:00 AM More reviews by annaxbella

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My skintype: very oily t-zone, some flaky spots around nose, mouth, chin and forehead; sensitive; blackhead and acne prone; dermatitis prone. Those of you with similar skintypes (i.e, flaky yet oily) should definitely give this cleanser a try.


It is very difficult to find a gentle yet effective cleanser that keeps my sebum and blackheads at bay while not aggravating my dermatitis and dry spots; most cleanser targeting oily skin types leaves my sensitive barrier too flaky, and conversely most cold-creamed type cleansers designed for dermatitis prone and flaky skin are packed with fatty alcohol and heavy emolients that not only clogged my pores, but ended up leaving a greasy film on my face -- it was hard to find the happy medium. I have now been using this cleanser for the past five years, and though I've strayed at times, I've now realized that this is the perfect cleanser for me.


Though this cleanser contains fragrance and coloring, I still find it to be more gentle than Paula's Choice cleansers. This product opted to be sulfate free, while Paula's cleanser for oily skin does include sodium laureth sulfate (a detergent based cleansing/lathering agent that, although not as harsh as sodium lauryl sulfate, still does considerable damage to those of us with flaky and dermatitis prone skin). This product removes all types of make-up (even my MAC Fluidline) without the need for harsh scrubbing, yet my face does not feel stripped and tight after cleansing. I have now eliminated the need for a make-up remover prior to cleansing, and when I wipe my face with a toner and cotton pad afterwards, I find that there is absolutely no trace of makeup and dirt left on my face -- I am now considering going without a toner altogether as well. For the record: I wear a powder-based foundation (but quite a few layers of it); those of you who use a long-wearing liquid based foundation and water-proof mascara might still want to use a make-up remover prior to cleansing.


One other thing: I noticed that on the product description, this cleanser claims to "minimize the trigger of excess sebum production". Sebum production is controlled by hormones, and a cleanser cannot make your skin produce less sebum, it can simply cleanse off existing sebum (and this cleanser does so very effectively).


Product information >> Ingredients: Avene Thermal Spring Water (Avene Aqua), Water, Decyl Glucoside, Polysorbate 20, Ceteareth-60 Myristyl Glycol, Disodium Cocoamphodiacetate, Glycerin, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Methyl Gluceth-20, Benzoic Acid, Cetrimonium Bromide, Cucurbita Pepo (pumpkin) Seed Oil, Disodium EDTA, Fragrance, Green 5, Lactic Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Yellow 5, Zinc Gluconate

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/11/2009 12:08:00 AM More reviews by bananna12

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this cleanser! It was recommended to me by a SDM cosmetics consultant when i complained about my dry, itchy broken out winter skin. I was using cleansers that were way too harsh for my skin, I guess I thought I had to use a strong product to get rid of the acne. Quite the opposite! i have been using it for over a year now and my face loves me again, and feels great. And I have completely converted to Avene products. A bit expensive, but by far worth every penny.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/19/2009 9:11:00 AM More reviews by nenaguapa

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have been using this product for about 3 years. I absolutely love it! It does not wash away the moist of the skin, but it does not leave it oily either. Really good, and prevents my breakouts. I only use it twice a day, morning and at night. It is a bit expensive and as other avene products you cannot buy it anywhere, but it is so worth it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No