October 1, 2014 | 1092 users online

Treatments (Face) - Retin A

rated 4.1(515 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/9/2011 9:52:00 AM More reviews by Lipscape

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Im 45 and been using Retin A for years. I have wrinkles, age spots, blemishes, but the RA really smoothes everything. If I stop using it for a while, the difference in skin texture is incredible - skin like old tree bark, thats not a side effect, thats my original ageing skin lol! I get breakouts (ironically from the sunscreens which HAVE to be worn daily with this treatment) but they dont last more than a day as the RA turns blemishes out really quick. I also have sensitive skin, I can only tolerate the 0.25% (lowest dose cream). And even then, I cant use this at full strength every day without experiencing redness and peeling. BUT I discovered that half/half moisturiser + RA, mixed in the palm of your hand before applying works perfectly for me. All the smoothing benefits without any of the side effects. My nightly ritual. Will never give this up. I buy a proper branded RA online, at a fraction of the price the dermatologist charged me.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/9/2011 7:55:00 AM More reviews by volkan0624

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Silver, Other, Other Eyes: Other

porno güzel krem continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2011 7:30:00 AM More reviews by daintydancer

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

once again to be honest i work in the industry. still in 2011, no potion or lotion with all the scientific background, Retin A is the only product to really work on exfoliation and wrinkles,I have used this for over 20 years, and thank god I did, not lines on my forehead or crows feet, and even better I buy it in India over the counter for £1.20 I prefer the ,5 but to begin its best to try to 0.25 as some skin reacts to it, I have no problem with it, it just carries away the nasty top layer gradually>you must wear sun screen every day, even in winter time, also incorporate a good vit C, E, whatever your skin needs>B5 for hydration and you will never need botox, unless you have a very expressive face which cause the lines.This is one product I could never live without, but my review is based of preventing wrinkles and lines, not reviewed as it was originally intended for which was acne. Although many years ago, when I suffered break out, I used the retin A gel, whoooo.was like wall paper stripper until I adjusted to it. A GREAT PRODUCT WHICH HAS STOOD THE TEST OF TIME,dont be fooled by over hyped over priced alternatives,retin a gives results,but must be used for a period of time before you notice them, works well with cetaphil cleanser which costs just £1 in India or £4 in UK. the oldies are often the best

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/30/2011 4:45:00 PM More reviews by Sarah0926

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I get this as a prescription from my derm. My skin has been through hell and back dealing with acne since I was 15. I used Retin A when I was younger, and at the time it was too harsh. I am now 26, and have been using it (I use the 0.1% version, which is pretty high) for the last year, and it has transformed my face. I use it along with spironolactone and it has taken my skin which was broken out, uneven, and very bumpy, to much smoother skin without a trace of acne. The kind I am prescriped comes in a pump which is awesome. It gives you about a small pea sized amount each pump..and when I use it, I use about two pumps for my entire face. In winter I can only use it every other day, but in summer(with a really good sunscreen) I can almost use it every day without redness or flakes. My skin is like steel, so for most people, using this daily would make their skin red and flakey. Do what your doc says and you will be fine!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2011 2:03:00 PM More reviews by Soyamonkey

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have been using Retin A since I was 15, I"m now 37 and it shows. Do not use it everyday but 2 to 3 times a week at night. Make sure you use a high spf during the day and no sun bathing or tanning. Yes, it makes you sensitive to the sun but it's a wrinkle cream, spot fader and exfoliates dead skin. Why damage the skin your wanting to perfect? It works, way effective and less the price than mass and prestige brands claiming to have the same results! enough said- SoNia

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/29/2011 1:33:00 PM More reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

If your health ins covers this it's usually a great deal monetarily. I remember when I used this & didn't have health ins, it cost a great deal more (though I don't remember the actual amt as this was over 10 yrs ago). Generally it's dispensed by Rx only (I don't know if that's changed in recent yrs).

I used to use Retin-A for relentless acne as a teen & then in my late 20's for excess sun damage (hyperpigmentation, wrinkles, thickened skin, enlarged pores). It worked great & improved my skin texture nicely, though the results took some time to develop (6-8 wks).

However this product has its pitfalls. Since it thins the skin, it's absolutely mandatory to wear a good strong sunblock while using Retin-A. Definitely be careful to protect your skin from the sun. It also can cause irritation, dryness & sensitive redness. The redness was unpleasant for me. And definitely flaking! My face would randomly flake badly around my mouth & embarrass the living daylights out of me when I'd finally look in the mirror & wonder how long I was walking around with a flake beard like a shedding lizzard (I hated that no one ever warned me!).

Gentle scrubbing to slough off the flakes was a regular requirement since the flakes never stopped. No amount of moisturizer prevented it. My skin would flake anytime it felt like it & i became constantly paranoid. In this area Retin-A didn't provide me w/any self confidence or peace of mind, ever.

I also had to use it on a specific schedule - not every day b/c it's very strong, so every 3rd night before bed, & it's a pain to keep track of on/off days on the calendar & remember if it's the right day to apply or not. All of this became tiring & a drag, regardless of the benefits...so when I finished my last tube of Retin-A, I didn't renew or refill the prescription. I had enough of all that for a while.

The nice thing is that I can always restart again in the future. It's a wonderful, effective product (albeit very strong & requires careful usage - very tiny amount each time). I'm in my late 30's now & my skin really needs to look better, but Retin-A isn't something I want to commit to @ present. It requires responsible care & longterm commitment. I'd rather do a home TCA peel instead (which I would only do in the wintertime to avoid sun damage to renewed skin).

I do recommend this product, but you have to commit to it & suffer some punishment.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/29/2011 12:00:00 PM More reviews by bankston76

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I am 34 and destroyed my skin with the sun and tanning bed in my earlier years, I'm very fair. My skin is very bad texture, wrinkled, saggy, blotchy. I have used this for a couple years and it's the only thing that makes me look younger. I have tried to stop using it and I look 10 years older when i do. People tell me I look like I'm in my 20s, I seriously hear this all the time. I use the stuff that I order online and I use .025 strength. The .05 strength was too strong and made my skin too sensitive and dry. I also use a C serum during the day which helps with skintone and makes my skin glow.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/16/2011 6:51:00 PM More reviews by catah21

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i was prescribed the Retin A by my derm.. ive had clear skin my whole life however during my pregnancy and after giving birth.. my skin went bonkers.. had breakouts on my chin and forehead. I was prescribed the Retin A .. and i apply it evenly on my face ONLY AT NIGHT.. then apply a mositurizer like cerave or Dessert essence night cream.
YOU must apply sunscreen every day.
It did cause some peeling.. nothning major.. no redness. I did notice my eyelids were irritated.. my derm said its cause the RETIN A spreads.. so dont apply too much.
ALSO dont WAX ur eyebrows while usign this. .. i learned the hard way..
its been 6mos + and my skin is alot clearer.. it has a youthful glow.
again.. see a dermatologist.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/7/2011 1:56:00 AM More reviews by storminateacup

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I`m writing this review as a warning, because I think sometimes we all get a bit carried away in the pursuit for perfection and don`t do it as carefully as we should.

DON`T prescribe yourself Retin-A. Yes, you can get it online without a prescription, yes, it does wonders for a lot of people. But it`s prescription for a reason: because only a doctor can determine if it`s right for you or not.

I prescribed this for myself, stupidly, and bought it online. I had blotchy pink skin and acne, with the beginning of wrinkles, and after a LOT of research thought: Retin-A seems like what I need. Smooth out skin tone, get rid of pink scarring, sort out spots.

I used it sensibly: once every two or three days for about six weeks. Yes, my skin went red, yes my skin was peeling, but not unbearably. I was patiently waiting for the side effects to die down. But they didn`t, and my face got blotchier and blotchier, and angrier, and hotter: to the point where I was icing myself in a restaurant with cubes from my drink.

It was only then that I started researching Rosacea, and sure enough: rosacea was what I have. I went to a dermatologist, and I`d totally screwed my skin up: it`s two weeks after last applying Retin-A and my skin is still bright red. Far, far worse than it was before I started.

THe thing is: the things a lot of us turn to Retin-A for are often symptoms of other conditions. My acne "scars" weren`t scars: they were broken blood vessels below the skin, and they are now significantly worse. My uneven skin tone was because of inflamed skin. The "acne" on my cheeks was rosacea pustules, (although sadly I also have proper acne on my forehead and chin so it was confusing). And my prescribing myself Retin-A without having the education to understand what was actually wrong with my skin, I`ve damaged it and now have to get laser surgery to undo it.

Retin-A is GREAT for a lot of people, but please: go to a dermatologist and DON`T play doctor yourself. That hundred dollars to see a professional is much much cheaper than the money you`ll have to pay if you damage your face.

57 out of 71 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/10/2011 1:23:00 PM More reviews by pttraveller

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I had an extremely adverse reaction to Retin-a, even though my skin isn't particularly sensitive and I haven't had an allergic reaction before. My whole face broke out into hives, I lost several layers of skin, and there are dark scabs on my chin and cheeks. Beware, this product is NOT for everyone!
BTW, I used 0.05, and only ONE time

Is this review helpful? Yes No