November 27, 2014 | 1497 users online

Eyeliner - Bobbi Brown - Long Wear Gel Eyeliner in Black Ink



image 0image 1

rated 4.3(373 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2008 10:36:00 PM More reviews by bibiancheng

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

it works similar to Mac fluidline but the color is thicker, easy to use, stay on really well for hours which i like, however, it caused irritation to my eyes several times, once it got into my eyelids, I will have to wear glasses for a week! too dangerous for me to use. And it's almost unwashable(you got to scratch really hard) if it gets on your contact lens. Also the price is high compare to other brands. never put it in your make up bag and leave your bag in the car baked by the hot sun, close the lid immediately after use.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2008 6:10:00 PM More reviews by tinylemming

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have this in black, green and navy (forget the exact names, but no shimmer in mine). This gel liner is OK. It lasts longer than MAC Fluidline on me (esp waterline) but not long overall. A couple of hours tops. It's painfully annoying when this smudges (anywhere, not just waterline), it makes me self-conscious and i keep looking into a mirror to wipe off smudges. But many seem to have luck with it, so it's worth a shot. I did notice that the green one lasts the longest on me (not my long though).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/15/2008 4:10:00 PM More reviews by jbel80

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used this eyeliner years ago with the recommended Bobbi Brown angled eyeliner brush and it got all smushy and smeared all over my oily lids so after a while I threw it away. It looked horrible. Then I switched to Laura Mercier and they taught me how to dab liner into my lash line from below the lashes with the Laura Mercier flat eyeliner brush. Then I tried this same method with the Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner with PERFECT RESULTS. So I realized that the Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner is really a great product but I wasn't putting it on properly. Now I have precise lined eyes with no smudging (which is a huge problem with my oily Asian lids because the crease is so close to my eye) and lasts all day long. The gel consistency really lets you add quite a bit into your lash line to get the darkest solid black thin line. So if you use this eyeliner, don't use that stupid Bobbi Brown brush they suggest and you'll love this eyeliner. Now I can't live without it!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2008 11:41:00 PM More reviews by eastbaychick9

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I LOVE this stuff! I want to buy it in other colors because it works so well but i don't like wearing black eyeliner everyday. I used this on my wedding day and it was great--never smudged or flaked, stayed in place for a good 10 hours! Also, it's a lot easier to apply than liquid eyeliner, because it doesn't drip. You need a good, stiff flat eyeliner brush to apply it, and if you have curly lashes (like me), you have to angle the brush in so you don't just get a bunch of eyeliner on your lashes, but with a little practice you'll have beautifully lined lids!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/23/2008 12:34:00 PM More reviews by milliestarz

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

EYES: Dark brown, almond-shaped.
HAIR: Black, straight, fine.


This gel eyeliner brings out the brown in your eyes, it goes on easy, and looks good all day. My only concern is that it smears onto my bottom lashes after 5 hours, maybe bc the skin around my eyes are oily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/6/2008 4:08:00 AM More reviews by starzi

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

Fantastic eyeliner! I used to have a violet ink, but then the brush got really hard, and so did the liner (i think, i can't remember - it was quite a long time ago), so I gave it to someone else. However, suddenly I wanted to buy black ink, coz... well, i dunno, but I just wanted it, so I went and got it. And I do not regret it! The saleslady told me that the brush went hard coz I didn't wash it everytime I finished using it, and the gel liner got hard coz it was exposed to air too much, she told that when I'm applying the liner, turn the gel pot upside down, so there's a temporary cover to avoid too much air getting in. I really can't believe that the gel liner is sooooooo smooth, I use it on my bottom line, it smudges and flakes a teeny bit, but I don't really mind that. I've tried some black eyeliners before, but they all seem to smudge. But not this one! Well, at least not too much. However, it doesn't work on the waterline, but I don't really mind. I have hooded eyes, showing just a bit of the top lashline; I used some of BB's gel liner on it and on the bottom line, and instantly, my eyes look bigger!!! I'm lovin' this sooooo much! I recently bought another one, ivy shimmer ink, which I haven't used yet, but looks like a really nice colour. Will write a review on it soon. Btw, I didn't get the BB ultra fine eyeliner brush, coz it's too expensive, and I think I would need to get a new one every few months (maybe), so I just got some cheaper ones at the drugstore. It works perfectly fine with the liner. I used to love using Chanel's stylo yeux waterproof marine, but this totally beat it; I will only use that liner when I'm in a rush. xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/5/2008 8:20:00 PM More reviews by lavaqueen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For the past few years I have been using New York Color eyeliner, because no matter how many times I lost it or replaced it, it only cost about 99 cents. I was too lazy to find a better eyeliner and it got the job done. Recently I asked my friend whose eyeliner always looks amazing what she uses and she enthusiastically sold both me and our mutual friend on this Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner. I had never used a gel eyeliner, and hadn't applied liner to my eyes with a brush in years, so I was super hesitant. I can have somewhat of an unsteady hand. So the mutual friend and I went to bloomingdales and had the woman at the BB counter demonstrate. We both walked away with the thicker eyeliner brush (apparently there is another one) and the black ink gel liner. The whole purchase cost about $40, so it was expensive, but it was absolutely worth it. This eyeliner is smooth and dark, additional layers make it darker if you want, and it's not too tricky to apply once you get used to it. It really does last all day, and I have kind of greasy eyelids. I absolutely love it, and plan on investing in some of the other colors (the navy, maybe?). I will NEVER go back to those crappy NYC pencils!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/11/2008 3:09:00 AM More reviews by Absolutely

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It was too harsh on my eyes, being very dark but I could use this for nights out. However, it smudges after a few hours and does not stay well at all in when I tightline. The black-paint-under-your-eye look is not very flattering. Will not repurchase. Too bad this didn't work out for me like it did for so many others.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2008 10:31:00 AM More reviews by kikidaisy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Very black, will stay on from morning till night, creamy in consistency making it nicer to use than the MAC fluidline. Excellent liner.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/8/2008 3:05:00 AM More reviews by hollywoodvixen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This black ink gel liner has been my HG for a long time. (Before this I used to use Maybelline's liner - ew.) I have the most sensitive eyes in the world, so some days I do have to touch up my liner near the corners a bit, but otherwise, it's heavenly. Very smooth and once applied correctly, it looks defined and sexy. As mentioned in other reviews, if you use the right brush with this eyeliner, you can create many looks from pin-up, cat eyes, punk... whatever you feel like that particular day. I'm still trying out different techniques and I've been using it for about 2 years. Don't waste your time keeping an EYE out for anything better! (...get it?) This product's 100% dreamy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No