October 22, 2014 | 1377 users online

Eyeliner - Maybelline - Define-A-Line Eyeliner in Ebony Black

rated 2.3(201 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.3
  • 31% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 12/4/2008 2:54:00 PM More reviews by obzessd

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Goes on very smoothly, but smudges badly. I was very surprised and disappointed -- I was used to Revlon ColorStay and Prestige Waterproof pencils (both of which have excellent lasting power and do not smudge --although Color Stay doesn't apply as smoothly). I still use it every once in awhile, when I want a smudgier look, or when I don't need a liner to last 12 hours, or when it's not hot out, b/c I like the ease of application, but I would definitely not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/2/2008 2:21:00 AM More reviews by lollipopman

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

It goes on smoothly.... but after 10 seconds it smudges and goes into your eye. I got an infection after that. Maybelline eyeliners aren't always the best. Try australis or revlon. DON'T BUY THIS!!!!!!!!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/27/2008 1:38:00 AM More reviews by violettexstars

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is pretty good. Minimal smudging and takes a little bit of work to remove,but not so bad. I know there are better eyeliners,but I'll have to finish this one before I explore the others...

I can create the kind of line I want, so that's good too

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/17/2008 5:07:00 AM More reviews by J9xstarrr

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I love how it applies so precise on my lash line. I know this is supposed to be used with the smudge tip but I generally just use this as my liner. I like how I can apply this so thinly because other liners can smudge out even if I try to apply as close as I can to my lash line. This can also be great for beginners, I recommended this to my cousin who's in 8th grade.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/2/2008 6:09:00 PM More reviews by amatthewsgh

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i like it so far!! i've only had it on for about an hour...bt it goes on so smooth!! And the All In One pencil idea is good and convient!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/1/2008 1:39:00 PM More reviews by SimplyManda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Other

I second what everyone else said: smudges. Then again, I don't want a super defined line (I use cream eyeliner and a brush for that) so I use this for smokey eye looks. And for that, it works beautifully so I give it a 4. Plus, it's pretty easy to put on as long as you're careful not to smudge it everywhere. Just don' t buy it if you want a skinny, super-defined line.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/29/2008 11:34:00 PM More reviews by parks906

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This eyeliner smudges a lot, after a couple minutes of application. Even when i put a concealer base, it still smudges. Definitely do not recommend. Because i already bought it, i use it for smokey eye looks, but i definitely regret the purchase because i can't use it for anything else because it smudges and partly comes off.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/14/2008 8:30:00 PM More reviews by Concertina

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

i wish this product didnt smudge because it goes on so smoothly. bummer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/10/2008 10:09:00 PM More reviews by zomgblah

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This smudges like CRAZY. Two hours into the day, I need to redo my eyeliner. I would give it only one lippie, but since it came with a fairly decent smudge brush (for smokey eyes and the sort) and a sharpener I added one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/7/2008 5:17:00 PM More reviews by JGarfield

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I picked this up during a recent DS raid. The formula glides on wonderfully. I love using it to 'tight line' my upper lash line. It does smudge after a couple of hours, but it never has looked bad, just smudged a bit. The pencil twists to advance which eliminates sharpening. However, on the 'cap end' has a black spongy smudger along with a 'tiny little' sharpener inside the smudger if you want a sharper point which is a plus!

Good application, but it did smudge a bit. Good DS iner, can't wait to get other colors.

Is this review helpful? Yes No