September 1, 2014 | 1886 users online

Scrubs - The Body Shop - Vitamin C Micro Refiner



image 0

rated 4.4(57 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/19/2012 11:54:00 PM More reviews by kkate

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Please note - this is for the Vitamin C microdermabrasion scrub (this seems like a predecessor to it).
Cannot say enough good things about this product. I use it 1-2x a week and it makes my skin feel amazing. I hate when scrubs say they exfoliate and then there are some measly beads in it that do nothing. This product is like small grains of sand so if you don't like harsh treatments don't use it. As I rub it in, I can just feel my dead skin sloughing off. I have to stop myself from using it too often.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/8/2012 4:13:00 PM More reviews by MrsNoir

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

The Vitamin C Micro Refiner - or Microdermabrasion as it is now called, is definitely one of my favorite facial products from The Body Shop.

I have sensitive skin - I wouldn't say that it is super sensitive, but it does get red easily, especially after washing it and applying moisturiser. Lets just say that my face doesn't like to be touched too much!

On The Body Shop's website, it states that this product will:
- Leave skin feeling soft and smooth
- Give skin a brighter, more radiant look
- Improve skin texture and tone

I can say in all honesty, that this product does pretty much everything that it says it does for my skin.
My face is always left feeling incredibly soft and smooth, it looks lovely and radiant, and the texture is fantastic!

There is only one thing that I can't agree with, and that is the part about the improvement of the skin tone. I have uneven skin tone - I have hyperpigmentation under my eye area (above my cheeks), and this product doesn't help to fade it or make that area more even.

The hyperpigmentation has been there for about six years though, so I'm guessing that no product like this will work miracles! I think that side of things is a job for the pros!

I have also found that if I use the Microdermabrasion too much over the area with hyperpigmentation, that it becomes quite red - possibly the sensitive skin...

If you have sensitive skin, but would still like to use this product, I would suggest the best way I have found this to work is to:
- Completely clean your face first (take off all makeup and moisturiser)
- Leave the face wet
- Mix a pea size amount in your fingertips with water
- Glide your fingertips over your face from your nose out to your cheeks lightly

I only glide this product over my face very lightly for about 30 seconds at the very most before carefully washing off.
Hope this helps my sesitive skin buddies!!! xxx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/11/2012 5:09:00 AM More reviews by Rebeccaxx24

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is such a fantastic exfoliator. Unlike others you don't have to scrub the skin to feel the benefits with this, the grains are soooo fine you just massage this in circular motions once a week and you are left with baby soft skin. It evens out my skin tone too and instantly brightens my skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/29/2012 11:31:00 PM More reviews by gint518

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I am a scrub junkie, so I really wanted to like this. As another reviewr noted, this can feel like sand paper, but I don't consider that a bad thing. My problem is that is smells like lemony bathroom cleaner to me, so I just can't use it. It's been relegated to the back of the closet for emergency purposes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/25/2012 10:53:00 AM More reviews by luxlover79

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I'm a makeup and skincare junkie who can't stay put on a single brand and try different products, always searching for the best. I have several face scrubs/at-home microexfoliants and I use them depending on my need. I exfoliate 1-2x a week coz I have oily skin. Sometimes I use the gentle scrubs, but there are times I want the grittier ones to deliver better exfoliation. I have to say that this Body Shop refiner is the BEST in my stash. Firstly, I love the citrus smell, its energizing and gives me zesty cleansing feel as I'm using it. Secondly, it really exfoliates without stripping my skin of its moisture. My face doesn't feel tight after, skin feels very smooth and I'm glowing. I use this with the Body Shop Re-texturizing Peel and wow! it does what it says. The Vitamin C in it really works and wakes my skin up. This refiner and peel duo are my go-to products specially when I want great looking skin on special events coz my makeup looks better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/6/2011 10:34:00 PM More reviews by Lollipop_gal

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Love this product. Can't think of any other scrub that would work like this. <3

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/22/2011 5:25:00 PM More reviews by Alinster

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Bought this product a few weeks ago and really love it. I use it once a week (all you need to) and it leaves my face smooth and clear. You only have to use a little bit, so even thought it's quite expensive it lasts for a long time. Feels almost like rubbing fine sand on your face, and it has a nice smell too. Best scrub I have used, and will definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/15/2011 12:53:00 PM More reviews by rynamyn

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I really like this product. It is a little harsh but I find it really helps to smooth out any rough or red spots on the skin. I have lightly oily skin & occassional acne, I find it really helps to relieve the red spots left behind after a pimple has faded.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/12/2011 2:46:00 AM More reviews by jessicaem

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

A little harsh. Im all for removing dead skin and trying to banish those stubborn blackheads on my nose! But I felt like this was a little destructive on my skin. It feels like rubbing sandpaper against it. I noticed several broken capillaries on my cheeks, chin & nose after using, displaying that it was just too rough for my skin to take. Still love BodyShop products though!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/26/2011 11:54:00 PM More reviews by Tina101

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I bought this product thinking of a home dermabrasion, obviously a milder one. I have a really oily skin, enlarged pores and i do breakout every now and then. This product is great if you are trying to get rid of those post acne spots and also it smoothed my scars probably by peeling the dead skin. My pores appeared refined. So yea, it really worth it...
I just use it once a week at night, and i gently scrub to avoid any redness and keep a thin layer on for 3-4 mins and rinse off. Follow up with the night regime( non alcoholic toner+ night cream)

Is this review helpful? Yes No