October 21, 2014 | 2005 users online

Sunscreen - Burt's Bees - Burt's Bees Sunscreen with Hemp Seed Oil Chemical Free



image 0

rated 1.6(39 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 1/28/2011 1:59:00 PM More reviews by vidadeashley

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Not a great product...I like that it's natural, and it doesn't have the smell of a sun screen. People were saying it smells like a public restroom? I don't think it smells THAT bad, actually. It smells more like clay or play doh...still not the most pleasant scent, but I don't think it's enough to really complain about.

The consistency of this product is really weird. It's hard to blend into the skin. When it dries it feels a bit like dried toothpaste. I hate the feeling, so I simply apply a bit of moisturizer over it, problem solved. I don't think I'll buy it again, especially because of the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/25/2010 9:01:00 PM More reviews by sparky17

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I tried the Burt's Bees Chemical Sunscreen with hemp seed oil this afternoon prior to embarking on a 70 mile convertible ride. This sunscreen is the consistency of cake frosting and is difficult to rub into the skin. About 30 minutes after application, I observed white patches appearing on my skin as it dried. As the product dried more, white granules began to slough off my arms. The visible white streaks on my body didn't alarm be because I chalked it up to the product's high zinc oxide content, but when I got home, I noticed that I was burned in the same areas that were covered in white.

So, the final score is this: applies poorly, doesn't blend, flaked off, and I ended up with a sunburn.

Don't buy this sunscreen!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/3/2010 3:05:00 AM More reviews by 093274000

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Pros:
-All natural
-Probably does a good job at protecting skin because it is so thick

Cons:
-Chalky residue
-Greasy
-Hard to blend into skin and is extremely streaky
-expensive

Overall: Do NOT buy

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/26/2010 9:57:00 AM More reviews by rikasmith

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Ugh. What is this crap?? This is by far the worst product I have ever purchased. I think I am allergic to traditional sunscreen chemicals so I was looking for a natural alternative. First off, if you put this sunscreen on the herbs will leave you smelling like grandma all day. Secondly, this product is so white that even after rubbing it in for a long time it'll leave a white streak all over you. I can't believe I paid for this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/26/2010 12:09:00 AM More reviews by kokolani

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This stuff is indeed pretty awful. It was comical, i looked like i had rubbed toothpaste all over my arms. I am allergic to the chemical kind of sunscreens and I realize the physical ones most of the time will leave a cast but this was ridiculous. Anyway...yes it did protect me from sunburn and wasn't expensive, but I am sure there are better alternatives out there.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/14/2010 7:03:00 PM More reviews by jelxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I got this because I wanted a sunscreen that doesn't irritate my skin. Well, I got what I wanted because this doesn't irritate your skin. It actually does nothing beneficial at all. It's a SS, but it has NO staying power... So there really is no point in putting it on. You have to use practically the whole tube if you want to cover your body. I got so sick of it pilling up and rubbing off that I just finished covering myself with my BF's SS. I joked about the fact that I only got a sunburn on one shoulder (the shoulder I used the Burt's Bees on), but it really wasn't funny. It was annoying. What a waste of money!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/11/2010 5:15:00 PM More reviews by productaholica

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Another user commented that this smells like a 'urinal cake' and you've hit the nail on the head! OMG, this smells so bad it's unusable. I actually like how matte it stays on my face but I cannot tolerate the horrible public bathroom smell. Seriously, somebody over at Burt's must have smelled this prior to it entering the market - how could they let that go?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/2/2009 4:47:00 PM More reviews by aspalek

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wish i had read reviews before purchasing this. It was actually recommended on a beauty site. I agree with all the others; it is horrible. Putting it on is difficult because it isn't slippery like a normal lotion. It's tacky, smells bad and is very white. I could put up with the smell and the color if it would just go on smoothly. Horrible stuff. how did this make it past product testing????

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/23/2009 11:34:00 AM More reviews by BrightEyes9

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I so wanted to like this. I could never get past the scent--scents do not usually bother me. But at the end of the day, I could still smell it whenever I turned my head!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/6/2009 10:03:00 PM More reviews by amylmiller

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Besides the product pilling up and leaving a chalky residue on my skin, it STUNK!!!!! When it was first applied, it smelled so bad, my brother said he couldn't figure out why his car smelled like a urinal cake! We figured out it was the sunscreen. Later, as it is absorbed into the skin, it takes on a sort of fishy smell. So bad!!!!! I returned to the store immediately....

Is this review helpful? Yes No