Everyday Minerals Silk Dust (Untinted ) [DISCONTINUED]

3.9

119 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS



on 6/28/2008 1:42:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This product I wanted to love.. within minutes my face was burning, puffy, red, and itchy.. and it lasted 8 hours.. the next day i had 3 pimples.. and i never get pimples.. I'm still trying to get my skin back to normal.

WILL NEVER purchase again..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/23/2008 8:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've used this for about a week w/o problems. I've been using it as a base to apply before I use my edm matte ftd and concealer (in that order). I find that it does make my face quite matte and reduces the need for blotting thru out the day. it also essentially eliminates the need for a silicone based primer (smashbox photofinish) although i still use this on the t zone before the silk dust if i think i'll be out all day/night or will be esp. hot and sweaty.
the silk dust is essentially colorless, and provides no coverage, just a matte base to apply color. i have had no skin reactions thus far but will update if otherwise. so far i love it! i bought it part of the 12 item custom kit so it worked out to be <$5 each which is a great deal for the large amt you get. a light dusting is all you need!


on 6/17/2008 4:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this product for about a month and developed tiny bumps under my skin. They looked like tiny pimples and made my skin texture rough and uneven so I took a break from it for a week and the tiny bumps slowly disappeared and there were no new ones after that. Since I only noticed the tiny bumps when I started using the silk dust and they disappeared after I stopped using it, I basically blame the silk dust as the main culprit. There was no way that I going to carry on with it since my skin disagrees with it.

I also find that the silk dust comes off when I sweat which is extremely annoying. I've found myself walking around with white powder floating obviously over my nose even after just running up the stairs since I tend to sweat easily around my T-zone area.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/12/2008 2:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would love to love this product, but I think I'm allergic to Silk Powder, because my skin broke out in tiny bumps which went away once I stopped using this product. And it made my skin itch terribly.

I think I'll just use it on my hair.

To be fair, this is probably a very good product judging from the reviews here, and my mom is neutral towards it when I gave her all 3 of my silk powders. It's just too bad that I'm not suitable for it :(


on 6/8/2008 10:58:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I wasnt really as impressed by this as I thought I would be although it has performed slightly better than what I was using for oil control previously so that explains my rating. Its very hit and miss for me on whether this control oil throughout the day - sometimes I apply it and I'll be oily an hour later and the next day I can apply it exactly the same and it'll work really well, lasting many more hours. I cant really figure out how that works lol as I do the exact same routine every morning. Its certainly not a miracle product - I still havent found anything that completely controls oil but its one step closer anyways - but as anyone with oily skin knows its still frustrating to have to blot and worry about checking a mirror every hour or two.


on 6/3/2008 11:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have dry-combi skin with my t-zone having a tendency to oil up by mid-day. I decided to try this (the tinted version) after reading the comments/raves in my local beauty forum about its great oil-control ability. I got the chance to put this powder to the test when I had a BBQ party to attend last weekend, and this did a good job! Of course, my t-zone still oiled up, but it lasted a wee bit longer than usual. I also didn't top-up the entire day because the oil wasn't that gross and gave me a sort of dewy look that I could live with. It also didn't cause me any breakouts. Which is great! I like this so far. If you haven't already tried this there's nothing to lose. :)


on 5/19/2008 10:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

At first I absolutely loved this powder.... I still like it, but it definitely isn't perfect... It does make my face look flawless, but it doesn't last very long on my oily skin... Still a great product, though.. I think next time I'll try the tinted kind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/14/2008 1:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I use this as a primer and although my skin is on the dry side, I find that silk dust helps to even out my oily t-zone with the drier areas of my skin. This really helps my foundation go on smoothly, however, it definitely has a white cast to it which is noticeable on my cool fair skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/13/2008 5:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My favorite powder! Gives a perfect finish over my mineral foundation and blush (Miessence brand). Lasts all day and looks great. Will buy again and again. I previously used Everyday Minerals foundation and loved it, but realized (through research) that titanium dioxide actually does more harm than good, so I switched to Miessence.


on 5/10/2008 6:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It is a product from heaven. It perfectly make the skin matte and gives you velvet finish. Two thumbs up!


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Everyday Minerals Products

image

Daydream

33 reviews
Back to Top