October 23, 2014 | 1437 users online

Hair Styling Tools - Denman Grooming Brush



image 0

rated 4.9(23 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.9
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/27/2012 11:40:00 PM More reviews by aligator

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

My hair gets tangled easily because I am trying to grow it out. It is the longest it has ever been! My Rusk paddle brush was just pulling out my hair and the knots and I ended up losing more hair than I was growing it. I heard that boar bristle hair brushes are the best for hair and the ones with nylons quills are the best for my hair type (thick, wavy and frizzy). I was trying to debate on whether to fork out $200 for a Mason Pearson or $20 for a Denman. I ended up picking the Denman and figured if I liked it enough, I could get a Mason Pearson later on. This brush was only $20 at Peninsula Beauty. The only size they had was the medium which is good for my hair but I think the large size would have had a bigger handle, which is what I originally wanted. This brush is great! It made my hair very static-y at first but now it seems to have gotten used to it. It detangles my hair very easily and I feel like I can actually groom my hair now. This Denman brush is only for grooming and not really styling but I don't really style my hair anyways so it works for me. The boar bristles are supposed to help distribute the natural oils in your hair to the ends and help promote shine. I have noticed my hair does seem to look healthier but I really just love how easily this brush glides through my hair especially when it's tangled! A very good and cheaper alternative for a Mason Pearson!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/5/2011 4:09:00 PM More reviews by glossygloss

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Amazing! Love this brush. I have fine thin hair which gets very messy. I'd been using all kinds of products to achieve sleek glossy hair but this brush has literally done more than all the others things combined. After I brush my hair it feels so smooth and looks shiny. Compared to a Mason Pearson brush, this is a steal and isn't much more expensive than other brushes. I would definitely recommend that people spend a little bit more and buy this brush!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/19/2011 10:57:00 AM More reviews by Loopachu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I got this hoping to dupe the $150 Mason Pearson, and while this is also not super cheap at $19 or so, it's certainly more in my price range.

I have long, fine hair, and lots of it, and while it's straight it has a tendency to wave a little and get VERY frizzy, especially in the summer. This brush does what countless anti-frizz serums have failed to do for me, and that is to take all that frizz down. I haven't been using it for long enough to say whether the natural bristles take the oil through, making the scalp less oily and the ends more moisturized, as is the claim, but I really like the effect it has on my hair. I don't own a straightener but the results are similar to when I've had it straightened.

I would imagine that if your hair is super curly and thick the brush wouldn't be able to get through it (the bristles are short and not as rigid as the plastic in a paddle brush), but for any other hair type I'd give it a try. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/17/2010 10:22:00 PM More reviews by ashlei130

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Hazel

ok. i don't even know where to begin b/c i'm overwhelmed with how great this brush styles my hair. i took a chance and purchased (although a bit pricey) due to the rave reviews, and it smooths my hair like a dream. the boar bristles seem to be perfect for getting down to my scalp and really giving me a massage while detangling. i couldn't ask for more and would buy again despite the price tag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/11/2010 11:01:00 PM More reviews by lefty986

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I own the D3 brush and it makes my 3c/4a curls clump like nothing else I've ever tried. I use it when I'm wearing wash and gos, slick ponytails, or while setting it in a braid-out. Results in some shrinkage but eliminates frizz. A good find and the only brush I will use on my hair now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/4/2010 8:48:00 PM More reviews by ReggieJackson

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I just found my old Denman brush in the basement! My last cheaper brush fell in the toilet and I threw it out (ewww). I was all set to buy a new brush and was looking at reviews. By some miracle I was doing some cleaning and found my Denman brush which I think I've had for around 18 years! It looked brand new! I must have been washing it years ago and left it. This is a great brush! It is the perfect weight. Mine is the plastic one that just looks like a typical drugstore paddle brush but is so much more! I spent $20 on it originally and looks like I won't have to buy one after all!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/9/2010 9:43:00 AM More reviews by teresa1083

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Green

Great boar bristle brush! It really helps distribute hair oils better than the goody brush i was using before. I have super thick hair and this really seems to get right down to my scalp. As far as price goes i paid $25 canadian for it which isnt bad considering a mason pearson is like $100+....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/2/2009 1:13:00 PM More reviews by mellern

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have the paddle brush. At first, it looks like a completely non-descript plastic brush that one would find in any drugstore. However, this brush is surprisingly different from any one I've ever used before.: it detangles very well without snagging and gives a GREAT scalp massage! I was using the Sonia Kashuk nylon/boar brush from Target for the past year, and, while I liked it, it didn't detangle as well as this one - and my hair isn't even particularly coarse and isn't curly! The Denman is fast, efficient, and leaves my hair with less static than other brushes I've used in the past.

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/24/2008 11:01:00 PM More reviews by RunningWithThePugs

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Yes I would buy this brush again but I doubt I'll have to! Hunted high and low for a replacement brush for a much loved Spornette. I flirted briefly with trying to buy a Mason Pearson...but I could not justify spending that much on a hairbrush I'd be leaving in the bathroom. I read on line about comparable brushes and found a writeup of the Denman line. This is a quality brush that features the same mix of boar and nylon bristles to penetrate. It has a black plastic handle and an orange rubber cushion, both of which are water, heat and chemical resistant. The D81L penetrates my thick, somewhat coarse color treated shoulder length hair with ease! My hair and scalp feel great after a good brush out. You can find these at beauty supply stores or online...and after my search and while I was waiting for it to be delivered, I happened be having my hair done and my own local hair salon had a basket full!

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/23/2008 7:32:00 PM More reviews by hay_guise

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Black

When i was natural(no relaxer), i use my denman to detangle my hair while wet or dry. its great for removing shed hairs. It never broke my hair. Now that im relaxed, my hair is more fragile and i only it once in a while to detangle in the shower with lots of conditioner when i have lots of shedding. I have the Denman D3.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No