MAC Fleshpot

3.8

127 reviews

66% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 2/21/2013 11:37:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this lipstick, love the color and since I'm pale it's hard to find a true nude color my only problem with this lipstick is it sinks into cracks and makes my lips look way worse if they are somewhat chapped or dry. I've found the way to fix this is to put a lipgloss over it. The packaging is also really simple and cute, I'm in love!

I love this lipstick and will be purchasing it again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/9/2013 10:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've always been a sucker for nude lip colors. My go-to nude shades have been Myth and Crème d'Nude for a long time now. I was afraid Fleshpot would be too whitish for me but I really wanted to try it anyway. I'm glad I did! On me it's a slightly paler version of Crème d'Nude, and a very different finish, of course. I have to say that it nearly *is* too pale whitish for me, but not quite. I just can't apply a heavy layer of it or it will make me look like a corpse. For reference, I'm an NC15 (very golden undertones) with brunette hair and green eyes.


So as I said, I'm really glad I tried it. However, I have to say that I know of (and already own) an exact dupe for it. I don't know if this has already been mentioned but e.l.f.'s Mineral Lipstick in Natural Nymph looks identical to it, even down to the finish. It looks the same in the tube, when swatched on my skin, and when applied to my lips, and it's $10 cheaper! So if you're wanting a cheaper alternative, go for that one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/8/2013 2:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I love Myth, but Fleshpot looks absolutely hilarious on me. The white, cool base of Fleshpot just does not work on my NC30 complexion and ends up looking too pornstar chic for my liking. It's workable if I dab it on or apply it lightly from the tube and add a bright lipgloss over it, but for me a lipstick should really work on its own. Fleshpot is a satin formula so it wears around 3-4 hours, but I find it to be more drying than MAC's other satin lipsticks (including Myth) and because of the color it emphasizes lip imperfections like crazy. Your lips might feel moisturized and exfoliated to perfection but Fleshpot will find dry flakes to cling to and make them worse as you wear it. If you're fair and cool-toned, this may very well be a flattering nude lipstick on you. Anyone who's an NC20/NW20 and darker will find Fleshpot hard to wear, and for those people I recommend Myth. The pinkness and lack of white in Myth make it so much more flattering than Fleshpot.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2012 3:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have tried both Fleshpot and Myth, and I can say I prefer Fleshpot. I have very fair skin, blonde hair blue/green eyes, and the pink undertones in this one suit me better. I have enjoyed Myth in the past, but looking back at pictures of myself, it was way too yellowy and concealer-looking. I find Fleshpot is a little less drying, but I still have major lip chap happening at the end of the day if I wear this... (Yes, I have tried tons of different lip treatments and chapsticks before applying). I'm kind of 50/50 about buying this again.. A few years ago it seemed impossible for me to find a true nude lipstick like this, but there seems to be a lot more on the market now that last better and don't completely dehydrate my lips.


on 10/22/2012 11:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

For reference, I am NW 20 to NW 25. This is hard lipstick to work with my skin tone. I have no problems with Peachstock or Myth. I believe it has to do with the extremely dry texture and the white undertone. I can make it work by applying a small amount and using it in conjunction with a lip balm, but I feel like I really have to put in a lot of effort just to make it work. I will stick with Myth and not repurchase this.


on 6/14/2012 3:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i hated this l/s on me. just didnt go with my nc20 skin. i'll stick to myth for now.


on 5/8/2012 12:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I found this lipstick at my local CCO over the weekend. It is my HG lipstick. It shows up pinkish on my lips. Will buy again.


on 4/9/2012 11:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have mixed feelings about this product, one day I love it, others not so much. I LOVE THE SMELL, it's just something about MAC lipsticks and that vanillaesque scent. It's tricky to put on, I'm NC40 and I feel if I put it on by itself and swipe it on it gives me concealer lips and settles into my lines. If I dab and blend it works so much better and definitely with a lip balm underneath. I can put this under another lipstick to give the other one a more "creamy" look if you understand what I mean. It settles into my lines some days and others it doesn't. Your lips have to be in great shape all the time in order to wear this and I think that the lipstick shouldn't be so high maintenance. I was lucky to get this for 10 dollars at a warehouse sale so I didn't spend too much on it and I have enough uses for it to use it up, but I won't be repurchasing this and I'll try out other nudes.


on 12/9/2011 11:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My favorite nude lipstick. I absolutely love it. Your lips do have to be properly exfoliated and moisturized though or it will definitely show up. My hg nude lip<3


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Bought this yesterday ....very interesting lipstick. The application needs learning as by itself, smeared on it can be concealer stripper lips ( not a good look doh,)
Needs to be dabbed onto the lips after moisturizer or balm and then....
Great nude
Lasts for hours
Stayed put through a dinner party...very impressed
Think it is now available only on Mac pro...but I bought mine on eBay .
Will last and last as it needs so little to achieve the effect.
Another Mac staple...myth with a hunt if palest honey tone.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top