March 1, 2015 | 2060 users online

Foundations - BeneFit Cosmetics - Play Sticks Concealer, foundation and powder all-in-one!

rated 3.7(283 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 6/15/2013 6:07:00 PM More reviews by ImogensMakeupReviews

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

After using Estée Lauders Maximum Coverage Double Wear I completely broke out in spots for the last three months so 3 weeks ago I stopped using it and went looking for a new foundation and I stumbled across the benefit counter! I asked what was their best foundation for full coverage and I was colour matched to Tea Party in the Playsticks range (it was the wrong colour completely), I was pushed into buying it and regretted it the second I came home! But I eventually got used to it only to my shock discovery that it only lasted me 2 weeks!!! It was completely gone after just two weeks. I applied it directly to my face and as I like the full coverage look I would put a few strokes on! But two weeks for the price I payed (€36) it was a complete waste of money! I would only recommend this product if you use it sparingly and not everyday! Otherwise complete waste of money! Found a new foundation which I love so wont be budging from that for a while!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/31/2013 7:57:00 AM More reviews by LeeSays

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've been wearing this product for years, but in different ways. I originally would use it as a foundation, but the face IMMEDIATELY became shiny and oily-looking, so I only use it as a concealer on certain areas of my cheeks where I have discoloration on top of my foundation and it seems to work well. You do have to set it with a powder, but overall the lasting power and coverage is great.

One tip: It can definitely be used as a highlighter because of the luminous look it gives your skin when used in certain places. If used carefully, it won't look cakey and the stick will last you for quite a while!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/21/2013 6:14:00 AM More reviews by Tinzeh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I tried to apply this in a range of ways but no matter how I would apply it it would always turn super orange on me. Sad considering how much it was and how much I wanted to like it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/10/2013 12:31:00 PM More reviews by flickasmom

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Love this product!! It goes on smooth, covers what needs to be covered, but looks natural on my skin. Hope they never discontinue this product!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/30/2013 3:29:00 AM More reviews by LeilaXXX

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

As a die-hard makeup bargain-hunter I'm loathe to spend this kind of money especially on a foundation as it's a product I use every day with multiple touch-ups; however I get so many compliments on my skin when I wear this I couldn't resist repurchasing. While even with the lightest shade the colour leans just slightly too dark and on the yellow side, I find a light application and blending with a regular flat foundation brush are enough to ensure a natural looking application. My favourite thing about this foundation though is that it can also be used as a concealer, as I have major problems finding concealers to match the colour and texture of most of my liquid foundations - this I can just dab on as and when needed with my little finger or a concealer brush, and as the stick is so light and portable it saves me having to carry a separate concealer when on the go. Also I do find the look and texture of my skin tends to improve as I wear this, presumably down to the ingredients (green tea, chamomile and ginkgo biloba). As I tend not to use this every day (especially not for work!) it does tend to last a few months but I doubt I could justify the price for an everyday foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/29/2013 9:20:00 AM More reviews by sebloch

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've just repurchased this, and I'm not generally a repurchaser, so that tells you something.

I use the colour paper doll; it's a fraction too dark for me but a good blending makes it look fine.

The smell is lovely, lavender, and having read lavender is antibacterial, there might be something in it as my skin is the best it has ever been with this.

I went back to Mac Studiofix for just a few days and broke out again, so knew there was something good about this.

It's easy to put on as it's in a stick - I just swipe on forehead, cheeks, nose and chin and get blending. Seems to have fairly decent staying power - maybe 6 hours of looking really good.

Slightly greasy feel to the fingers but it does seem quite moisturising.

The packaging is great and I plan to buy a spare to keep in my handbag.

The only negative is that the stick isn't very big (although when you get to the bottom there's a lot of product left that you can dig out).

Would love to have a greater range of colours.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/17/2012 11:46:00 PM More reviews by Aphelion123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with this product.

Love:

The compliments my boyfriend use to give me when I wore it, He would actually tell me my skin looked really nice every time I wore this, I even tried switching from using it to not using it on different days and he always complimented my skin and saw the difference on the days I wore it.
It didn't make my skin break out.
Very good coverage
Creamy texture which I like
Smooth feel
Its unlike any other foundation I have used, combines concealer and foundation properties in one,

Hate:

No matter what color I use its too dark for my skin tone, I am very fair skinned.
The texture, although providing good coverage and feeling smooth, is way too heavy for my skin and face and looked caked, every time! I have slightly thinner skin.
The main thing I didn't like was that I would never stay in place. I would try to smooth it on and blend it in and it would just move around!
If you use too much, like my sister does, you literally look like someone put a mask of foundation over you and you have to be very careful not to get lines and smudges.
I don't have oily skin but this foundation would always end up looking oily on me after a few hours and/or giving me a slight shine which never happens with other foundations.
After a while I noticed it made my skin look dull as it was too matt, I personally prefer foundations with luminous properties as they brighten the skin and look more natural.
It can work really well but I don't feel its worth the hassle and required daily upkeep and uncomfortable feel.
When I had blemishes such as bumps and spots it had the potential to highlight them if not used very specifically and carefully.
Its expensive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/3/2012 5:04:00 AM More reviews by elainegel

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

My mum bought me this as a treat at Benefit on a girly shopping day. I am 26 but have oily skin with dry patches.

This looked great when applied in store, but when I got it home I fell out of love.

It's a very wet consistency and you really have to apply a lot of it to get any kind of good coverage.

It also made me feel a bit sweaty underneath it - like it was clogging me up.

Love benefit but sad to say this is just sat in my make up box for dire emergencies only!

x

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/16/2012 4:31:00 PM More reviews by Jhlcomp2

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have combination-dry skin which can vary one direction or another based on the type of moisturizer I use (always an SPF 30+). Sensitive, rosacea prone skin.

First the good. Beautiful texture. Emoilliant, easy to apply, great slip. Light matte, dewy.

Now the not so good. The color Tea Party was the perfect color. We tested it at Sephora's, went out into the light - perfect. Took it home and when i did my entire face, oh boy - it looked chalky/mask- like and slightly ashy.

A real disappointment. Will not buy again.



Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/31/2012 5:28:00 PM More reviews by ashleystar

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Oh, I wanted to like this product SO much! But as for me and my oily, acne-prone skin... it just wasn't love.
Coverage-wise, this didn't deliver what I was hoping for (it barely covered the redness of blemishes, let alone some red post-acne marks), and no matter how I applied (directly from the stick, with my fingers, blending with a sponge), the final effect always looked cakey. (I wasn't even using much, either, so I ruled out that option.)
Plus, compared to when I use mineral foundation, I noticed my face (particularly my T-zone and forehead) felt much, much greasier than normal.
The kicker for me, though? Something in this makeup did NOT get along with my skin; after two days of use, I was broken out in all the places I'd applied it, and the pores closest to my nose on both cheeks began to just look... HUGE. Almost like they were having a weird, slightly swollen allergic reaction. So strange.

Not a re-purchase for me; thank everything for Sephora's return policy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No