August 30, 2014 | 1967 users online

Foundations - BeneFit Cosmetics - Play Sticks Concealer, foundation and powder all-in-one!

rated 3.7(280 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/10/2013 12:31:00 PM More reviews by flickasmom

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Love this product!! It goes on smooth, covers what needs to be covered, but looks natural on my skin. Hope they never discontinue this product!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/30/2013 3:29:00 AM More reviews by LeilaXXX

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

As a die-hard makeup bargain-hunter I'm loathe to spend this kind of money especially on a foundation as it's a product I use every day with multiple touch-ups; however I get so many compliments on my skin when I wear this I couldn't resist repurchasing. While even with the lightest shade the colour leans just slightly too dark and on the yellow side, I find a light application and blending with a regular flat foundation brush are enough to ensure a natural looking application. My favourite thing about this foundation though is that it can also be used as a concealer, as I have major problems finding concealers to match the colour and texture of most of my liquid foundations - this I can just dab on as and when needed with my little finger or a concealer brush, and as the stick is so light and portable it saves me having to carry a separate concealer when on the go. Also I do find the look and texture of my skin tends to improve as I wear this, presumably down to the ingredients (green tea, chamomile and ginkgo biloba). As I tend not to use this every day (especially not for work!) it does tend to last a few months but I doubt I could justify the price for an everyday foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/29/2013 9:20:00 AM More reviews by sebloch

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've just repurchased this, and I'm not generally a repurchaser, so that tells you something.

I use the colour paper doll; it's a fraction too dark for me but a good blending makes it look fine.

The smell is lovely, lavender, and having read lavender is antibacterial, there might be something in it as my skin is the best it has ever been with this.

I went back to Mac Studiofix for just a few days and broke out again, so knew there was something good about this.

It's easy to put on as it's in a stick - I just swipe on forehead, cheeks, nose and chin and get blending. Seems to have fairly decent staying power - maybe 6 hours of looking really good.

Slightly greasy feel to the fingers but it does seem quite moisturising.

The packaging is great and I plan to buy a spare to keep in my handbag.

The only negative is that the stick isn't very big (although when you get to the bottom there's a lot of product left that you can dig out).

Would love to have a greater range of colours.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/17/2012 11:46:00 PM More reviews by Aphelion123

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have a love/hate relationship with this product.

Love:

The compliments my boyfriend use to give me when I wore it, He would actually tell me my skin looked really nice every time I wore this, I even tried switching from using it to not using it on different days and he always complimented my skin and saw the difference on the days I wore it.
It didn't make my skin break out.
Very good coverage
Creamy texture which I like
Smooth feel
Its unlike any other foundation I have used, combines concealer and foundation properties in one,

Hate:

No matter what color I use its too dark for my skin tone, I am very fair skinned.
The texture, although providing good coverage and feeling smooth, is way too heavy for my skin and face and looked caked, every time! I have slightly thinner skin.
The main thing I didn't like was that I would never stay in place. I would try to smooth it on and blend it in and it would just move around!
If you use too much, like my sister does, you literally look like someone put a mask of foundation over you and you have to be very careful not to get lines and smudges.
I don't have oily skin but this foundation would always end up looking oily on me after a few hours and/or giving me a slight shine which never happens with other foundations.
After a while I noticed it made my skin look dull as it was too matt, I personally prefer foundations with luminous properties as they brighten the skin and look more natural.
It can work really well but I don't feel its worth the hassle and required daily upkeep and uncomfortable feel.
When I had blemishes such as bumps and spots it had the potential to highlight them if not used very specifically and carefully.
Its expensive.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/3/2012 5:04:00 AM More reviews by elainegel

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

My mum bought me this as a treat at Benefit on a girly shopping day. I am 26 but have oily skin with dry patches.

This looked great when applied in store, but when I got it home I fell out of love.

It's a very wet consistency and you really have to apply a lot of it to get any kind of good coverage.

It also made me feel a bit sweaty underneath it - like it was clogging me up.

Love benefit but sad to say this is just sat in my make up box for dire emergencies only!

x

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/16/2012 4:31:00 PM More reviews by Jhlcomp2

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have combination-dry skin which can vary one direction or another based on the type of moisturizer I use (always an SPF 30+). Sensitive, rosacea prone skin.

First the good. Beautiful texture. Emoilliant, easy to apply, great slip. Light matte, dewy.

Now the not so good. The color Tea Party was the perfect color. We tested it at Sephora's, went out into the light - perfect. Took it home and when i did my entire face, oh boy - it looked chalky/mask- like and slightly ashy.

A real disappointment. Will not buy again.



Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/31/2012 5:28:00 PM More reviews by ashleystar

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Oh, I wanted to like this product SO much! But as for me and my oily, acne-prone skin... it just wasn't love.
Coverage-wise, this didn't deliver what I was hoping for (it barely covered the redness of blemishes, let alone some red post-acne marks), and no matter how I applied (directly from the stick, with my fingers, blending with a sponge), the final effect always looked cakey. (I wasn't even using much, either, so I ruled out that option.)
Plus, compared to when I use mineral foundation, I noticed my face (particularly my T-zone and forehead) felt much, much greasier than normal.
The kicker for me, though? Something in this makeup did NOT get along with my skin; after two days of use, I was broken out in all the places I'd applied it, and the pores closest to my nose on both cheeks began to just look... HUGE. Almost like they were having a weird, slightly swollen allergic reaction. So strange.

Not a re-purchase for me; thank everything for Sephora's return policy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/18/2012 4:21:00 AM More reviews by jellybabe23

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this product after wanting a new foundation. I've been using studio sculpt by MAC for a very long time because the color match was so good (NC42) and it left a nice, satin finish. Well, the benefit play sticks are also satin-type to semi-matte finishes and cover so well. The way I use it is by taking the stick and putting 3 streaks across each cheek, one one my forehead, nose and chin and blend away. This foundation blends so well! It's the type of foundation I can use in 5 minutes, and I'll have full natural looking coverage. I use the color jump rope and it matches my NC42 pretty nicely, except, it does have a slight pink undertone to it. If I need more coverage on certain areas, I will go back and put a seconds layer and pat the product as I would with a concealer. Even though it is pricey for a stick foundation, it is worth it, as the product is easy to travel with, does not require brushes(unless you want to of course) and it has ingredients that are supposedly good for your skin. Downfall is that there are only 4-5 shades, I believe, so not everyone will have a match. Would definitely recommend.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/23/2012 1:47:00 PM More reviews by Beautyy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I took a chance & chose this off someone's list who wanted to swap with me. I was afraid at first because the color was the lightest color & I thought it would make me look too white(I'm fair skinned but I'm never the lightest shade). When I swatched it I saw it was actually pretty good color for me. Now, I HATE liquid foundation but I'm forced to wear it because I need full coverage & my HG powder I found with full coverage, broke me out. So.. I decided to give stick foundations a try & I do really like them. I don't know why I waited so long to try this particular one but I'm glad I swapped for it now that I have. I have deep red acne scaring all over my face & this gives me the full coverage I need. I don't need concealer with it because it works as both. It doesn't make me look cake faced the way Max Factor Pan-Stik made me look. I set it lightly with some powder & it looks flawless. The staying powder is actually pretty decent also. If this doesn't start to break me out(praying it doesn't), I'm sure this will be my HG.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/10/2012 3:27:00 PM More reviews by blu3

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm trying to be a bit unbias in this review as my true dissatisfaction comes from the Benefit rep who sold me this...here goes: as far as coverage goes, this made my face look flawless and it matched my skin extremely well. I also like the "stick" form and being able to apply straight to my face and just blending out with either by fingers or brush. However, after 3 days of use, I broke out horribly!!! I'm talking the worst breakout I have ever had in my life. So bad, that the girls at Sephora gave me HUGE free samples of tons of skincare products to help. According to them, someone like me (oily combination, sensitive skin) would never warrant a recommendation in benefit products.

Is this review helpful? Yes No