February 1, 2015 | 2088 users online

Fragrances - Dior - Poison



image 0

rated 3.4(251 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 56% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/31/2012 1:15:00 PM More reviews by maliciousdelicious

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is to Christian Dior what Opium is to YSL - totally classic and nostalgia inducing. I love the smell although it's more of a winter smell. I would love to wear this again if I moved to a colder climate.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/22/2012 5:54:00 AM More reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I love this for nostalgic reasons. My mother always had a mini bottle of this lying around the house and I'd always give it a little sniff now and then. So of course it reminds me of everything 80s and my childhood. I've tested many 80s fragrances lately and compared to those (and a lot of them smell the same) its different and not as dated or as typical of the decade. But you'd have to very brave indeed to wear this nowadays. Its pungent and in your face, I can't even describe the notes as it hits your senses to strongly to make anything out.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/7/2012 4:33:00 AM More reviews by Kysyona

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

OK, am new to this one and being a child of the 80s with a "made in USSR" birthday stamp, I probably got an accidental sniff or 2 of this stuff back then, because it does awaken a memory, a memory of being small and everything around - veery big. And the smell of Poison - even bigger. I waited out until I could get esprit de parfum at a bargain price off ebay ( since pure perfume is imho what a scent is actually meant to be ), and here we are, two 5ml dark purple bottles with glasstops sitting on my dresser, and I was almost calling my hubby to come and be on standby while I test it in case it levels me with the ground as soon as the first poison molecule pops out! What can I say, it is heavy artillery, but all complex scents are, so 3 golden rules for those, who want to learn to help it develop into a heavenly elixir instead of having a bulldozer effect on anything with a heartbeat in a kilometer's radius: 1) 2 DABS for dry skin, 1 DAB for oily like mine: then WALK AWAY from the bottle! 2) APPLY 30 MINS - AT LEAST!- BEFORE enetering an inhabited environment. 3) Apply on the hidden UNDER THE CLOTHES skin, not necesserily too far away - like the bottom of your cleavage for instance, or on the top "knuckle" of your spine just below the dressline. When these rules are observed, POISON will reward you in a most amazing way! The headache-inducing qualities dissipate after about half an hour, for some - after a full hour, and then the magic happens. This perfume needs to be applied in such small doses not even because it is so strong - it just has the expanding multifold effect and it needs you to give it a vast room to do so, and then, like a smoke cloud after an explosion, after booming out, it gathers itself again and then sits tight around you, but not too tight, so when you walk, a whiff of it will still reach the chosen target. :) I cannot imagine what a post-chemical war effect this scent could have if one - GOD FORBID!! - sprays it! When done right, this is a femme fatal perfume, incredibly alluring and it doesn't loosen its grip once it catches attention. A very powerful weapon in knowing hands. I will use it purely for seduction: the best scent for the task.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/23/2012 11:34:00 AM More reviews by Drigsby

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

@Post below: Please write perfume reviews for a living <3


Sampled this in the store. Very creamy, chill, vanilla scent. Absolutely delicious! My favorite of the poisons,

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/15/2012 8:33:00 PM More reviews by rosademarzo

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This perfume lasts on you like no other (I've ever tried), be it Chanel's Chance or the other Diors (even in its EDT version). Good value also for this reason: no need to reapply like other equally expensive ones. Got it as a gift recently and wearing it (over again) happily. I don't think that "fashion" or "tendencies" apply to something as personal as a perfume. Good scents are immortal. Strong stuff, use it carefully.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/24/2012 9:39:00 PM More reviews by coolfreshair

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Upon smelling this again I was reminded of the 80s. The only words I can use to sum this up is "nostagically revolting". It's an attention seeking mess of a scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/3/2012 7:20:00 PM More reviews by ceen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Appropriately named. Rancid.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/21/2012 4:29:00 PM More reviews by EBH613

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I love this perfume. at first I wasn't so sure because it's not a sweet scent like I typically prefer even when I like a spicey scent I lean towards a sweet note but this is a very respectable scent. It feels light, only need one spray. It is very mysterious and feminine but powerful and alluring somehow. Anyways I love it and I think it's a good scent in a pretty bottle.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/5/2012 2:49:00 PM More reviews by Therealslayergrrl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

One of the original 80's powerhouse fragrances. And by Powerhouse I mean knock you over where you stand perfume... This stuff is strong. As strong if not more than Giorgio. My 8th grade teacher wore this. Some things from the 80's need to stay in the 80's mainly this and shoulder pads...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/12/2012 2:34:00 AM More reviews by ShellyMum

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Green

Poison is my absolute first "real" perfume. It was a gift to me from my first boyfriend as a teenager. I loved it immediately and wore it as my signature scent for about 5 or 6 years. I think Poison is a lovely scent, but in small doses. It is very unique, with a deep plum/wine mysterious feeling about it. I would describe it as a slightly spicy scent. However, it does also have floral and sweet undertones to it. The dry down is gorgeous.
Top notes: Coriander, pimento, plum, anise, mace, rosewood, carnation
Heart notes: Rose, tuberose, ylang-ylang, carnation, cinnamon, jasmine, lily of the valley Base notes: Cedar wood, vetiver, sandalwood, musk, heliotrope, vanilla, opoponax
I can see how it wouldn't be something everybody likes, but it is one fragrance I will always have in my collection. For a modern day comparison I think Euphoria by Calvin Klein is "slightly" comparable to Poison, but honestly Poison is really in a league of its own. I now wear it (sparingly) at night or on cooler days. Sometimes when I'm just at home, I spray a bit on for the nostalgic, cosy feeling it gives me.... yum!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No