April 18, 2014 | 1593 users online

Eyeliner - Smashbox - Cream Eyeliner in Smashing Caviar



image 0

rated 3.3(83 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 55% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 4/3/2010 7:37:00 AM More reviews by Jayemceetee

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I had as little palette of these from QVC UK a couple of years ago, and loved them! Bought this on its own after a disappointment with another brand, and this was worse! Smudges all over the place, even gave me black lines above my socket lines! Awful, awful, awful.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/22/2010 7:21:00 PM More reviews by AmyDbaby

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Worst eyeliner ever. Smudges, smears, disappears. I have nothing good to say about this product. How Smashbox can continue to put out this sub-par product is beyond me. They should be ashamed of themselves. I don't know why anyone would buy this when there are such great liners on the market now. Don't waste your time or your money on this big fat loser.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/22/2010 7:17:00 PM More reviews by SEPORALOVER

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this is the worst cream eyeliner i have ever used it smudges i will never repurchase this

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/5/2010 7:44:00 AM More reviews by iqaganda

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got this as a gift from my sister when she came back from U.S.A. so I don't really know how much it cost. I got two of these, one is in Envy (Black with little bits of glitters) and a Cream Liner Duo in Cameo and Caviar (Black and Red). I knew nothing about the brand Smashbox not until my sister gave me this. It was my first product from Smashbox. I know a lot of girls loves using this cream liner from Smashbox, but not for me.

I find this smudgy. It is very light wearing, like wearing nothing at all. My only problem is that it doesn't stay in place. I use Benefit's She Laq as a top coating for this, so that it stays in place.
I don't use these that much since I like Naris Up's Gel Liner better than this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/27/2009 3:49:00 PM More reviews by sunshine1424

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This eyeliner smudges, and when it is applied, it doesn't make a thin line. When I apply it to the top lash line, it smudges in five minutes. This product is not worth $20. Drugstore eyeliners are better than this. I don't know why sephora people like it so much...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/14/2009 6:50:00 PM More reviews by prettyreckless

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

More like dark grey, but I love it. You'd have to build it up to get black. I don't have a problem with this smudging or fading like most of the reviews are saying. Because it's more of a dark grey, it looks more natural and not harsh on the eyes. Will repurchase

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 8/5/2009 11:49:00 AM More reviews by msdi2u

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I don't know how anybody could like this liner, but apparently, a lot of people do. Good for Smashbox, I guess. I fell for the QVC hype a while back and ordered this along with 2 other colors and the flat eyeliner brush. The only thing I wound up keeping was the brush. All 3 colors were poorly pigmented, difficult to apply (compared to other liners of this ilk) becuz you had to keep going over the line in order to get it to show; and then after all that, the line fades, smudges and disappears within hours of applying. I should have sent this back, but instead, I tossed the liners & kept the brush. I am leery about buying anything Smashbox again. I will stick with MAC, Bobbi Brown, & L'Oreal HIP when I want a cream or gel eyeliner that is worth its salt.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/2/2009 10:29:00 PM More reviews by dropsical

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I'm a big fan of Smashbox cream eye liners. I have strong lashes and I don't need a lot of accent to my eyes, but my lashes are blonde at the roots, so I need something to "connect" the mascara to my eyelids.

I'm not a big eyeliner person- usually I just use an eyeliner brush and smudge a deep shadow along the lash line, so Smashbox liners are perfect for me. They're smoky and pretty and smudge nicely, and I don't have a problem with them melting off. I usually wear them all day with no problems, and re-apply if going out for the night. The liners also blend nicely with other shadows and can be played up for day or night. Smashing caviar is a very pretty black, and pretty versatile. My favorite shade is "fan club," but I think that's a color limited to the QVC beauty bulletins. It's a smokey taupe that's also very flattering.

I have to deduct points for two things: price and how long the product keeps. It's expensive. You can get for a reasonable price online, but walking into any store and paying retail, the price is ridiculous. For what you pay, you get a lot of product, but in my experience it only lasts about three, four months tops. After that it gets dry and a little flaky, and just doesn't apply as smoothly. I've also had one pot of it start smelling bad. I HATE tossing these, but I've never used one completely up before having to. Take that into consideration as for how much you pay for it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/28/2009 12:27:00 PM More reviews by Cinnabuns

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is the first cream liner I've ever used, and I love it. I don't have a problem with it smudging on my upper lash line. I don't use it on the lower. I love how this glides on smoothly with a flat eyeliner brush. I was hoping this had a hint of brown in it, but it is totally black. I received this in a swap and I couldn't be happier.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/21/2009 2:12:00 PM More reviews by Gabriel679

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

RIS - lovely product - I find for me the best application is with a flat eyeliner brush - easy to use, makes a nice smoky eye or thin line, depending on what look you are after -

I do wish the packaging was different - I find I have to remove the drier top portion prior to use, which wastes product, especially when it's pretty expensive.

Will repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No