July 31, 2014 | 1930 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Lustre - Honey Lust



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.8(246 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 5/29/2012 8:07:00 PM More reviews by Crazycubbie18

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I didn't really like this eyeshadow. It wasnt very pigmented, it was more glittery.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/10/2012 2:29:00 AM More reviews by Seficat

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I don't usually like lustres, but I was looking for something to wear with Humid and a SA paired these two up. I really like the colour, on me it goes on as a bright coppery gold.
So why only 3 lippies? The only way I can get to go on and stay on is to apply UDPP, then an Australis cream es (completely useless on its own), then pat on Honey Lust while looking down 'onto' a handmirror to try to control the fallout. I don't regret having the colour is my stash, but honestly, I don't like Honey Lust enough to go through all that faffing around very often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/6/2011 12:51:00 AM More reviews by vancesa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Maybe my skin tone is just too dark for this shadow but I just cannot wear it. When I swatched it at the mac counter I thought it would be a great day-wear eyeshadow, but when I brought it home and have experimented with it i seem to have no such luck. The color is not strong enough and the glitter fallout drives me bonkers. Oh well. I have it stuck in my neutral palette if I ever need something light to highlight with.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/27/2011 3:27:00 PM More reviews by Debbie41176

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this eyeshadow! There's nothing quite like it! I'd say that it would work on any skin. On my cool toned fair to medium skin it looks like a dark warm gold. More metallic than shimmery in my opinion. It's great for blending with other shadows for a smokey eyed look.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/7/2011 12:43:00 AM More reviews by shirleeeyyy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is the first M.A.C product I ever bought. I love it :)
Despite what other people say, it's a good product. It's got a subtle shimmer, which can be built up. It's a pretty sheer colour, a light espresso colour almost which you can easily get away with at school or at work. Build it up and it becomes a earthy brown which is beautiful. I'd definately buy it again (:

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/30/2011 2:11:00 AM More reviews by sweet_like_honey

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

This eyeshadow was way too glittery for me. It didn't seem to be pressed well (probably because of the giant sparkle particles) and broke soon after I bought it. I tried pouring it into an empty plastic vial but it became a mess of glitter every time I tried to use it. Too bad, because it's a nice shade, just too much hassle to try and put on. If you mix it with a mixing medium it might be easier to apply, but I have too many similar shadows so I haven't tried that. (You can make a homemade mixing medium by mixing glycerin with water OR you can buy one from Coastal Scents and other websites.) Good luck!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/30/2011 1:34:00 AM More reviews by citygirl123

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I actually really like Honey Lust. It was one of the first MAC shadows I bought, and I never looked up reviews of it online or anything beforehand. Then I found out that it's hated by a lot of people and so many say it's the worst shadow ever from MAC.

As far as the glitter problem goes, if I use a base with it, I don't ever have a fallout problem. I don't find the glitter horribly chunky, either. It's definitely not a fine shimmer, but I would say it's on par with the chunky glittery shadows from UD.

I find this color incredibly flattering in the summer. I use it a lot on the inner half of my lid, with woodwinked on the outer half and outer V. I get SO many compliments when I wear it. It just has a really pretty metallic finish to it, which looks so good with a dewy skin summer look. I don't find I wear it a ton in the winter, but I especially love it for summer and even fall with a plum color.

But yeah, I don't have fallout issues with this shadow and I really like it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/24/2011 8:48:00 PM More reviews by Foveolata

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is great, one of my most reached for eyeshadows! I use this for a brown/gold smokey eye as a blending color between my darker colors and my highlighter.

I have very oily lids, and have to use a primer, such as UDPP, or MAC Paint, to make any shadow last, even so, most shadows crease inside two hours. Not Mac. With primer, this shadow lasts, and the color stays true.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/16/2011 4:17:00 AM More reviews by Marissa83

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Olive, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I find this eyeshadow a bit of a mystery. I personally don't like it all that much because of the previously mentioned glitteryness, and also because it looks a bit too orange on me. But on the odd occasions when I do wear it I get compliments galore... wierd.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 6/10/2011 10:15:00 PM More reviews by piinkcheeks27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Wouuld I buy this again? NEVER IN MY LIFE! I think this is the worse eyeshadow MAC has ever made. I bought it first thinking it will be a nice similar color to UD Chopper eyeshadow, but I was dead wrong. This color looks nice when you swatch it but as soon as i tried it out the next day, I was so disappointed because all I saw was glitter on my face, not my eye! It was sooo disappointing. Such a pretty color in the pan but not at all when its on your eyes. If you like this color, then I would suggest Urban Decay's Chopper. STRAY AWAAAAY FROM HONEYLUST!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No