April 17, 2014 | 951 users online

Shampoo - Revlon - Flex Shampoo

no image

rated 4.1(42 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/12/2010 10:23:00 PM More reviews by hadas

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I LOVE the smell of the Flex products. I couldn't find them anymore at stores and read some people online suggesting that they were discontinued, so I wrote to Revlon. Here is the response that I got:



"Thank you for your recent comments from the Revlon website and your
interest in our products. Sometimes, because of fashion trends and limited consumer demand, it
becomes necessary to discontinue an otherwise excellent product.
Unfortunately, Flex is no longer being manufactured."



So stock up on Ebay girls, as that lovely balsam scent is vanishing forever. Very sad as it is such a gorgeous, spicy, creamy, scent, and very unique. :-(

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/28/2010 10:36:00 PM More reviews by Hisoneandonly

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Nothing beats this classic for truly cleansing the hair!


I like how it removes styling products and oil from my hair. It has the same effect as a clarifying shampoo. I try not to spend a lot of money on clarifying shampoo so this is priced perfect. I do use Flex conditioner to go along with the shampoo and it makes my hair soft and clean. For anyone who hasn't used this classic, there is a very fragrant strong scent. It is not for everyone! I would describe as a men's cologne. They say it is the Balsam that is an ingredient. It reminds me of Revlon Outrageous Shampoo (if anyone can find this anywhere please PM me!).


I love this shampoo. Classic oldie but goodie that stands the test of time. I don't know what I would do if they DC'd it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/25/2010 4:29:00 AM More reviews by shereenmohsen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I liked the shampoo it cleans my hair with out drying it much
I have a dry colored haired.& I tried many shampoos but none
has worked for me .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/26/2009 5:21:00 AM More reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Wow, the scent of this takes me back to junior high. Cleans and moisturizes and it still costs the same. I'm surprised they still make it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/1/2009 6:35:00 AM More reviews by arikabh

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff! another one bites the dust....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/29/2008 2:16:00 PM More reviews by butterflygirl

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I just ordered some of the shampoo and conditioner from drugstore.com I love the smell-reminds me of the 80's .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/25/2008 4:18:00 PM More reviews by moondogfluffy

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I'm so surprised at the people who hate the smell of Flex....that's the best thing about it! Its one of the few old fashioned, non-fruity smelling shampoos still made. Its a decent shampoo, very good quality for the price. Unfortunately, the conditioner sucks, and unless you use the conditioner, you lose the wonderful scent. I wish there were a few more shampoos with that kind of scent....these days Herbal Essences, Pantene, Garnier, all the major brands all have a similar strong, fruity smell. It would be nice to have some variety.

UPDATE: I just tried to buy some more Flex on Drugstore.com but no dice, and then I discover it has been discontinued! *Sigh* I think Flex was the last of the 80's shampoos. I am actually sad about this. Not only will I miss the incredible scent, but I just miss the fact that all of the old school products are now gone. No Tame Creme Rinse, no Vidal Sasson, and now no Flex. :(

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/28/2008 9:44:00 PM More reviews by JenJenofAz

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Got it at a .99 cent store. It stank awful, but did an okay job. My Suave works alot better. So does the VO5. Not bad for a buck, but it doesn't do anything much but stink. A friend of mine used it on her curly hair and it was left frizzy and dry. Maybe good for the fine and limp haired girls. If you can get past the bad odor.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/21/2007 11:20:00 PM More reviews by luckylouie

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product is not widely available in australian chemists or supermarkets, but when it is, it costs under $2. This is one of the unsung bargains of the hair world. I used this for years until I decided to go organic and bought a shampoo that cost 10 times as much per ml. What a waste of money. I like the way Flex cleans my hair without stripping it, and leaves it bouncy and shiny. Most of the time I don't bother using a conditioner afterwards because my hair feels good without it, but when I do use a conditioner, I use the Flex conditioner, also an unsung bargain. The smell is quite strong but wears off fairly quickly, and I like it so would be happy if it lasted longer. I will continue to repurchase this as long as I can find it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/21/2007 9:37:00 PM More reviews by xxpaxxxilxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I found this at the grocery store one day and was suprised they still made it. My dad always said that Flex was a good shampoo because it didn't dry out your hair, so I bought it. It was extremely cheap which is good. The smell is horrifying. Very bizarre 80's smell. I can't really describe it. Cleaned my hair nicely and didn't dry it out, but I won't be buying it again mainly because of the smell, and besides if I want cheap shampoo that actually smells good I'll buy Suave. Sorry Flex.


My mom smelled my hair after I washed it with Flex, and she said it smelled like puke. Hmm..

Is this review helpful? Yes No