Queen Helene Cocoa Butter Scrub

4.5

83 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Walnut (Juglans Regia) Powder (Juglans Regia), Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Stearic Acid, Cocoa Seed Butter (Theobroma Cacao), Glyceryl Stearate, Stearyl Alcohol, Glycerin, Kaolin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Isopropyl Myristate, Dimethicone, Triethanolamine, Fragrance (Parfum), Carbomer, Propylene Glycol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Phenoxyethanol


on 2/21/2012 1:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I buy this scrub all the time. I buy the Oatmeal & Honey scent also. I absolutely love them. Other scrubs are either too harsh or too gentle, this one is perfect. It scrubs wonderfully & doesn't leave me all red faced after. I usually order off of amazon & get packs of 3 or 6 at a time. This is the only scrub I use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/25/2011 11:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I think all Queen Helene's facial scrubs are essentially the same. The difference is the scent. I have this one and the oatmeal and honey one. I like this scent so much better than the honey one. But they both makes my skin feel soft and smooth after using. Just be sure to be gentle when you massage your face. Last thing is the packaging isn't really made to use in the shower because the cap tends to hold water. Other than that, great line of product and very affordable!


on 7/24/2011 7:02:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Cool

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a very gentle scrub. Perfect for sensitive skin. The smell reminds me of a beachy scent for some reason. You can smell the cocoa butter and almost like a light chocolatey scent. It's not overpowering but does smell. The texture is amazingly smooth. The grains of the scrub are as fine as sand on a beach. They don't scratch your face as you rub it on. It washes off clean with no residue. I use it daily because it is that gentle. It hasn't caused any redness or breakouts for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2011 9:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Great basic scrub! The grains are so fine that it doesn't feel harsh on my skin at all, and leaves it incredibly clean, soft, smooth and removes all the dead skin and dirt. I use it 2-3 times a week and it doesn't dry my skin out either nor does it break me out, definitely a plus! I love cocoa butter body butter so I am glad I found this as a scrub! I use this as a body wash in the shower on my shoulders, arms and chest too. For $6 CAD for a large tube, you can't go wrong.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/20/2010 10:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is my favorite scrub of all the ones I've used (St. Ive's Apricot Scrub, various acne-geared cleansing scrubs, etc). The consistency is a pleasant soft paste, creamy with tons and tons of very fine, sand-like granules. There is a faint, lovely cocoa-ish scent that fades quickly. Previously I had really liked Burt's Bees Peach and Willowbark scrub, but after trying this I realize how harsh and sparse the granules were in the BB product, and how much of a film it left. I generally trust Queen Helene products - inexpensive, good quality stuff. This cocoa scrub not only exfoliates very well (be careful to be gentle when you use it!), but also cleanses nicely and doesn't leave a film, despite the creamy application. I haven't noticed any moisturizing capabilities, but that's likely because I use this as a final step in the shower (and right before my potentially drying acne treatments). Because it exfoliates so well, I'd recommend using it only a few times a week - on other mornings and at night I use Cetaphil gentle cleanser. I have repurchased this in the past and will happily continue to do so!


on 8/23/2010 4:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Black

As of now, this is my HG scrub. I live in Canada and I've heard of people say that it's difficult to find their products, but I get mine at a Black hair care discount store down the street for about $5. Maybe anyone having difficulty would like to try there.
I have dry skin, as well as eczema that causes my skin to be pretty sensitive. I base my skin care routine on products that clean, moisturize, don't break me out (acne-prone) and are gentle/non irritating. This is amazing for me. I use it about twice a week to get rid of flakes, and it works perfectly. The smell may not be the truest cocoa butter scent I've ever sniffed, but that doesn't bother me. It's gentle, doesn't sting or hurt when I exfloliate and gets the job done. Best of all it leaves my skin feeling clean without stripping it of moisture. Huge amount for the price, totally worth it. It's a must in my skin care routine. I've repurchased once, and I'll do it again.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2010 2:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I picked this up yesterday as an alternative to the $26 kiehls scrub i've been lemming. the kiehls stuff is luxurious, but i have to say that for $5 this is extremely high quality. the granules in the scrub are extremely fine - my first thought was that it felt like fine sand on my skin. the cocoa butter fragrance combined with the texture is really nice - i feel like i'm at the beach :). i have eczema and the oat & honey queen helene irritated me a little bit (my eczema does not like honey), but with this i'm so far, so good on irritation. i will update if i have a reaction, but as of now i'm left with soft, glowy skin :). excellent product!

*EDIT* Unfortunately I've come to realize that the fragrance in this product irritates my eczema. Still gets 3 stars though because it is nice for the price, and i can use it on my body without irritation.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I used this stuff years ago, then the store where I bought it closed and I couldn't find it again until a few days ago when I spotted it in Sally's. I can't tell you how excited I was when I saw it! lol I love it. The grains in it are small and fine, and don't irritate my skin. It actually feels nice on the face, unlike some scrubs that feel just plain scratchy. My face feels sooo soft after using it. I did take away one lippy though because the fragrance is superstrong. It's not necessarily a bad smell though, just a bit overwhelming.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2010 3:31:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I am a fan of the Queen Helene facial range, and was quite excited to try this one.
It does the job, but the scent is quite boring. It has somewhat a fake scent as well, which is quite disappointing. But the fact that it cleans my face really nicely is a plus.


xxx


on 3/31/2010 10:28:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

LOVE all the QH scrubs because the granules are sooo fine and not harsh at all. This one and the mint julep scrub are my faves. Will def. buy over and over!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top