July 23, 2014 | 2019 users online

Scrubs - Queen Helene - Cocoa Butter Scrub



image 0image 1

rated 4.6(80 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/1/2011 9:33:00 PM More reviews by nabs07

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Great basic scrub! The grains are so fine that it doesn't feel harsh on my skin at all, and leaves it incredibly clean, soft, smooth and removes all the dead skin and dirt. I use it 2-3 times a week and it doesn't dry my skin out either nor does it break me out, definitely a plus! I love cocoa butter body butter so I am glad I found this as a scrub! I use this as a body wash in the shower on my shoulders, arms and chest too. For $6 CAD for a large tube, you can't go wrong.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/20/2010 10:59:00 PM More reviews by KaceyM

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is my favorite scrub of all the ones I've used (St. Ive's Apricot Scrub, various acne-geared cleansing scrubs, etc). The consistency is a pleasant soft paste, creamy with tons and tons of very fine, sand-like granules. There is a faint, lovely cocoa-ish scent that fades quickly. Previously I had really liked Burt's Bees Peach and Willowbark scrub, but after trying this I realize how harsh and sparse the granules were in the BB product, and how much of a film it left. I generally trust Queen Helene products - inexpensive, good quality stuff. This cocoa scrub not only exfoliates very well (be careful to be gentle when you use it!), but also cleanses nicely and doesn't leave a film, despite the creamy application. I haven't noticed any moisturizing capabilities, but that's likely because I use this as a final step in the shower (and right before my potentially drying acne treatments). Because it exfoliates so well, I'd recommend using it only a few times a week - on other mornings and at night I use Cetaphil gentle cleanser. I have repurchased this in the past and will happily continue to do so!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/23/2010 4:58:00 PM More reviews by thriftesfai

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other Eyes: Black

As of now, this is my HG scrub. I live in Canada and I've heard of people say that it's difficult to find their products, but I get mine at a Black hair care discount store down the street for about $5. Maybe anyone having difficulty would like to try there.
I have dry skin, as well as eczema that causes my skin to be pretty sensitive. I base my skin care routine on products that clean, moisturize, don't break me out (acne-prone) and are gentle/non irritating. This is amazing for me. I use it about twice a week to get rid of flakes, and it works perfectly. The smell may not be the truest cocoa butter scent I've ever sniffed, but that doesn't bother me. It's gentle, doesn't sting or hurt when I exfloliate and gets the job done. Best of all it leaves my skin feeling clean without stripping it of moisture. Huge amount for the price, totally worth it. It's a must in my skin care routine. I've repurchased once, and I'll do it again.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/14/2010 2:15:00 PM More reviews by cheechi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I picked this up yesterday as an alternative to the $26 kiehls scrub i've been lemming. the kiehls stuff is luxurious, but i have to say that for $5 this is extremely high quality. the granules in the scrub are extremely fine - my first thought was that it felt like fine sand on my skin. the cocoa butter fragrance combined with the texture is really nice - i feel like i'm at the beach :). i have eczema and the oat & honey queen helene irritated me a little bit (my eczema does not like honey), but with this i'm so far, so good on irritation. i will update if i have a reaction, but as of now i'm left with soft, glowy skin :). excellent product!

*EDIT* Unfortunately I've come to realize that the fragrance in this product irritates my eczema. Still gets 3 stars though because it is nice for the price, and i can use it on my body without irritation.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/11/2010 1:20:00 AM More reviews by delightfullydorky

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I used this stuff years ago, then the store where I bought it closed and I couldn't find it again until a few days ago when I spotted it in Sally's. I can't tell you how excited I was when I saw it! lol I love it. The grains in it are small and fine, and don't irritate my skin. It actually feels nice on the face, unlike some scrubs that feel just plain scratchy. My face feels sooo soft after using it. I did take away one lippy though because the fragrance is superstrong. It's not necessarily a bad smell though, just a bit overwhelming.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/24/2010 3:31:00 PM More reviews by Camstar1000

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I am a fan of the Queen Helene facial range, and was quite excited to try this one.
It does the job, but the scent is quite boring. It has somewhat a fake scent as well, which is quite disappointing. But the fact that it cleans my face really nicely is a plus.


xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/31/2010 10:28:00 AM More reviews by ClaireMcD77

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

LOVE all the QH scrubs because the granules are sooo fine and not harsh at all. This one and the mint julep scrub are my faves. Will def. buy over and over!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/26/2010 7:52:00 PM More reviews by mctoft

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This polishes really well without causing undue inflammation. I also love how beachy it smells, like cocoa butter and hot sand. Reminds of the days I used to bake in the sun (long time ago). :>

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/5/2010 12:45:00 PM More reviews by becca19

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I love this scrub! I had been using the medicated St. Ives apricot scrub for years but I was still breaking out. I started using this scrub and the oatmeal and honey scrub and threw out the St. Ives! It's been about three weeks and i haven't had a breakout yet. I am so impressed with all of the Queen Helene products so far. They are so much better than any other drugstore product I've used. I can only find them at Sally's so I stock up when they're on sale. Everyone should try this scrub as well as the other products you will not be disappointed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/14/2009 8:22:00 PM More reviews by bisco

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I used the oatmeal one ages ago. I have to agree with the user below me, that I wasn't that impressed. This scrub is different though, the smell is also nice. It doesn't irritate my skin, and the beads do the job, a little goes a long way.

I'm always on the run for scrubs, and by far, this one gets an a+.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No