October 20, 2014 | 1987 users online

Liquid - Physicians Formula - Youthful Wear Cosmeceutical Youth-Boosting Foundation



image 0

rated 3.2(45 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 48% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 5/15/2013 4:52:00 PM More reviews by zoestark

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This foundation is awful, especially for older women. It comes out of the tube like a thick paste. Smells like clay. Doesn't really cover much of anythings and actually accentuates pores and wrinkles. Definitely gives you a drier look rather than a youthful dewy look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/13/2013 8:16:00 PM More reviews by Cherity

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to like this foundation :( Too streaky and unnatural looking on my fair skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/6/2013 9:40:00 AM More reviews by beachsexybronze

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I like this foundation, although the texture feels a bit different than other ones. The brush helps, but sometimes I only use this as a light coverage. One thing I do like about this is that I dont seem to need to use powder if I do choose to use this. I wouldn't say it lasts too long, but it did stay on and looked fine for about 6 hours (so that is good). :)

The consistancy is sort of like a liquid mixed with powder..sort of like a creamy thick feel, but it blends fine. I would say if you are looking to create a full faced look, this may not suit you. But if you are just wanting to use this as a light coverage average "hardly no makeup" day, than this can be good. They don't have much color selections tho.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 12/4/2012 6:46:00 AM More reviews by aimela

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Gritty, drying, not much coverage. Although not great, love the brush. Now I know what a foundation brush does.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/15/2012 11:34:00 PM More reviews by iheartchikn

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm kind of a makeup snob when it comes to products for my skin and I literally have about 20 different types of foundations and this is by far my holy grail foundation! I only got it because I was at CVS and they had a promotion that ended up letting me get it for free so why wouldn't I try it. I didn't like it at first when I used it with the brush and I put it away for months until I decided to experiment with it again. I have combination skin with very large pores so I usually use benefit's porefessional under my make up. The thick mousse texture settles very well into my pores (without breaking my out) when I use my fingers to apply and it keeps my shine free and pore-less all day! I've never actually looked oily with it on, EVER, only when I wash it off. It has extremely good coverage while looking like real skin for me so my skin looks flawless and my boyfriend who complains about cake face even when professionals apply my foundation (he has 18/20 vision) has never complained about too much foundation at all since I started using this. DEFINITELY a re-purchase just make sure you don't use the brush and use your fingers instead.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/14/2012 6:17:00 PM More reviews by bobitarocks

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I had high hopes for this foundation, but unfortunately, my skin had other ideas. The second day I wore it, my face started to burn and itch, but I told myself it couldn't possibly be this foundation, as it was billed as "hypoallergenic." Well, my skin does not care about product advertisements, and it persisted in burning and itching for the next week. I skipped a day, had calm skin, then tried it again, only to have the same problem. Sigh. It's back to mineral foundation for me--the only stuff that doesn't drive my skin crazy! I will say that this foundation was long-lasting and a fairly good match for my pale neutral skin. So, if your skin isn't sensitive, it's worth a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/6/2012 1:23:00 AM More reviews by lipz

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

For reference, I am NC 15 combo to dry skin (dry, more so in the winter) and I chose the shade "fair" Generally, as most know, PF's foundation colors are a bit off. I cannot speak for any of the other shades in the Youthful Wear Cosmeceutical line, but the shade "fair" is dead on perfect for me. Words cannot describe how happy I am to find this foundation. Very lightweight feeling and does not get heavy as the day wears on. Did not dry my skin out nor leave it oily. I did not blot once. I did set with a very light dusting of powder and sprayed my face with Urban Decay's "All Nighter" finishing spray. I also used a good primer underneath. Lasting power is excellent. Did not oxidize on me. I find that when sitting in my car with natural light coming in, it can be the best judge of a true color match and once again, the shade "fair" is perfect for me.
Comes in a squeeze tube and with a foundation brush. Squeeze tube is excellent but I just use my fingers to apply. I do not care for the paint brush type foundation brushes (for lack of better makeup terminology)
Coverage is not full coverage. Its more of a medium, which I personally prefer. Full coverage tends to feel very heavy on my skin after so many hours and I can't wait to scrape it off. Its a quarter after 10pm as I am typing this and I've had the foundation on since 0530 and I can't even tell its on my skin but when I look in the mirror, it still looks good.
I really hope PF does not get rid of this one! I'm currently awaiting my package of Ben Nye's Banana powder and I'm guessing it will compliment this foundation well since the foundation itself is not pink nor orange. Slightly yellow and the shade "fair" can probably be used for either warm to neutral skin tones.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 10/2/2012 11:40:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

The foundation is medium coverage. It applies evenly. Actually, a little goes a long way. It wore well (8+ hours), did not seep into my pores or lines, did not oxidize and did not irritate my skin. I like that it looks pretty natural and has a matte finish. It did however make some of the more dry areas on the skin more noticeable.. I just wish it was more moisturizing.

*Update 7/2013* This product has sat in my makeup drawer for months now. I just couldn't deal with how dry this foundation made my skin look.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/4/2012 2:32:00 PM More reviews by purplesoul

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This is the only drugstore foundation I've had success with recently, as I have extremely sensitive skin that breaks out on contact with most foundations. I'm an NC-15, so I use the lightest shade (fair) and while it goes on a little dark, it dries the right shade. It's very smooth and blendable, drying to a nice powder finish. It gets an extra point for the packaging because it comes with a brush, though loses a point because I'm not sure how you'd be able to effectively get ALL the foundation out of the tube once it starts to run out (unless you roll it like a tube of toothpaste, which is likely to damage the plastic of the tube.) I found this was good to light to moderate coverage, and that it lasted for most of the day with only minimal creasing. A good buy, especially if you get it on sale (it's normally $15, I got mine for $7.50 on sale at rite aid.)

Update: 04/16/13- I am no longer such a big fan of this product. It got clumpy after a month or two, and the color seemed to get darker as the pigments in the tube separated. I don't think I'd repurchase this at full price.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/14/2012 5:00:00 PM More reviews by funnygirlup

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I find the colour match to be great and I find it has good, even, thick coverage. A big problem I have is that I have big pores and this makeup covers them totally. The brush that comes with it is pretty useless. It provides pretty matte coverage and skin looks soft.
The price is high, but I had a coupon and that was the only reason I bought it. I would purchase again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No