August 23, 2014 | 1135 users online

Polishes - OPI - I Have a Herring Problem

rated 4.3(28 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.5
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2012 11:17:00 AM More reviews by Julia941

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

This was my first blue nail polish and still one of my very favorite polishes ever. It is a kind of medium denim blue with a little grey and some silver sparkle that is opaque with two coats. I don't love the OPI pro-wide brush because my nail beds are very small, but it gets easier with practice. The color is fairly subtle and very flattering. I always use base coat and top coat and I change my nail color pretty often so I haven't had any trouble with chipping or staining. Zoya makes a dupe called Skyler but I Have a Herring Problem is vastly superior and a real stand-out from the OPI Holland collection. Very highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/29/2012 10:57:00 PM More reviews by loriann52

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This is a gorgeous colour from the Holland collection. It is like a turquoisey-ocean-blue. Very light, has a pretty sparkle to it. Here is my breakdown:
Colour: 5/5
Application: 3/5
The application wasn't great. It took three coats, and there were a couple of nails that looked like they could use a forth. It was far from the worst application I've ever experienced, but it doesn't apply as nicely as other OPIs. That being said, the colour payoff was well worth the application- I'd definitely reccommend!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/18/2012 12:56:00 PM More reviews by ticklishgypsy

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Love this colour, very unique. In dim light just looks like a blue grey creme, but in sunlight or regular light has very pretty subtle flecks of glitter.

I layered Butter London No More Waity Katie (chunky lavender with silver and pink glitter) over it, which looked great. Also tried Nicole Such a Go-Glitter over top (a very fine cobalt and silver glitter in a clear base) and that rocked too.

But my favourite combo is 2 coats of IHaHP with a coat of Essie matte about you topcoat overtop. Makes the colour look very industrial and 2 shades lighter, but glitter flecks still show through.

Very versatile!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/17/2012 1:46:00 PM More reviews by Maquillage33

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

This colour is kind of grey/blue with a hint of glitter, it's a very nice colour but it takes a few coats to get it opaque

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/26/2012 9:21:00 PM More reviews by eleventwentyseven

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

With the right pale skin tone, this color is super vampy. LOVE IT!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/13/2012 1:18:00 AM More reviews by siobhanerin

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This colour looked a lot more grey than blue on my nails as compared to the bottle. That was the onyl disappointment, however. If I had not expected a polish that was more blue-based I would have loved this polish- subtle and subdued but still pretty and shimmery. Application, like most other OPIs, was a dream. Opaque in 2 coats and self-leveling. A great polish, just don't be fooled by the colour in the bottle!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2012 8:14:00 PM More reviews by megieroo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this nail polish! It's a great shimmery blue-grey colour for spring, I'm not so sure about summer because I love wearing bright colours. This polish, as other reviewers have stated, goes opaque in about two coats. I usually don't add a top coat to shimmery polishes as it seems to make them trickier to remove. This polish has pretty good wear as far as that's cocerned. I can usually go a few days without a touch up. Great polish even if it is a tad pricey. Totally worth it for the quality and colour.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2012 4:08:00 PM More reviews by sasami1jj

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this polish. I normally change my polish 2x a week. since I got this one I find myself not doing anything until I need to redo this color. This is a beautiful Blue/Gray/Periwinkle with a lovely shimmer not too overwhelming, and not too calm either. This polish goes easily from office to the pool/lake/club anywhere you can think of. The formula is also quite nice. It goes on smooth and dries quickly. 1 coat it is sheer but after the 2n coat it is perfect on me. Even if you are not a fan of blues this one is worth a shot.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/28/2012 10:29:00 PM More reviews by Perthro

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a unique blue polish from OPI's Holland Collection. It's a light, muted, cool blue with hints of grey with silver glitters. Application was smooth and opacity was fair (3 coats to really get the full color too show).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/26/2012 3:41:00 PM More reviews by Nekura

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is quite an unusual color thats worth the $8-9 price tag. It's a muted slate- blue with gold and silver fine shimmer. The shimmer shows up quite subtle giving the nails a nice glassy effect rather than chunky glitter.


It somewhat does remind me of Essie Smooth Sailing as one reviewer stated however.. I would say, think of this as Smooth Sailing on an overcast day because it's definitely not as vibrant or as "happy". It's quite a moody soft kind of color. I think if you're a fan of understated blues and grey nail polish then this is worth an add to your collection. I find this to be the "spring" color for girls who love vampy shades. I usually stick with really dark polishes but tend to not be too comfortable with brights or pastels.. while this is nothing close to black, it's not an in-your-face type of blue nor will it come off too "old lady" either.


Otherwise the color takes about 2 coats minimum for full opacity. Typical decent OPI wear.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No