July 29, 2014 | 1940 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Colorburst Lip Butter - Candy Apple

rated 4.4(105 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2013 4:29:00 AM More reviews by GlisteningSheen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Lipstick for lipstick scary cats!

Price: About £8 from Boots (England) but often on a 3 for 2 offer. In Singapore I've bought them for about $14 SGD. Not a bad price at all for the quality and colour selection.

Packaging: Love how the lids are colour coordinated to the colour of the lipstick inside and how the top of the lid is clear so you can see the colour of the lipstick. A bit tricky to open at times as the lid is so long that there isn't much of a base to hold on to whilst pulling
the lid off!

Product: These are very moisturising like a lip balm, have a glossy sheen like a lip gloss and have the colour of a lipstick. A great combination of all 3 products in 1!!! Candy Apple is a great red for beginners or if like me you get intimidated and scared by a full on opaque red lip then this is a great alternative. The colour is sheer
but buildable so the intensity of the red can be built up so to make it more opaque without being too full on. A great red for day time wear.

Lasts a good 6 hours depending on eating/drinking habits. Whilst the gloss like sheen may fade after a couple of hours, I find that the
colour lasts for quite a few more hours and fades evenly. I only reapply this after I've eaten/drunk something otherwise I just let the colour fade naturally.

Not at all drying even when I've used it for several days in a row.
Great selection of colours and reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend especially if you're not a fan of very opaque lipsticks, like me.

GlisteningSheen xxx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/5/2013 2:55:00 PM More reviews by judiness

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I love the lip butters and this one is a gorgeous shade. I have to say it is too warm for my coloring but it would look great on a darker woman than me with warmer complexion.

As always this feels great, leaves a slight stain on the lips and has a glossy finish.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/14/2013 2:21:00 AM More reviews by makeupjunkie11786

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

If your afraid of trying red lipstick this might be a good product to try.
It feels like a balm which is nice and can be worn daily without drying out your pout.
And although it is a nice shade of red its almost more on the sheer side if that makes any sense...In other words, it's not highly pigmented to where it looks like a fashion runway or like your scary elementary art teacher, Its more like "just the right amount" of color.
Also, the light glossy like shine it leaves is a nice touch to. I like this lip butter in sweet Tart as well if you like light candy colored pinks. I just don't like how the bottom plate came loose on me which basically made it difficult to use and eventually just ended up in my trash bin:/
with that issue aside.. If you're looking for a lip color with a punch that's still a little on the sheer side that goes on creamy but doesn't feel heavy then its a good product. But if your looking for something more pigmented that lasts longer its a no go

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/14/2013 1:35:00 AM More reviews by kadytheredpanda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

I look more made up when I wear red lipstick, and this certainly does the trick. I feel it's more of a colored lip balm of sorts because of the translucent finish, the fact that it's supposed to hydrate (I detected a little bit, but not a whole lot), and because it lasted about two and a half hours on me before I had to reapply. I would say this is moreso a daytime red because of the finish. Even then, it's opaque enough to see that it's a beautiful color against my fair skin and green eyes.

I just don't like the packaging, which can make it super easy to nick the product, and that there isn't much product in the tube. It's about half what I usually see when I pull lipstick all the way up. Other than that, nice product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/31/2013 4:27:00 PM More reviews by kamberc94

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I was very very veryyy hesitant to even purchase this. The reviews are all good, but I was not sure about red on me. But let me just say I love this subtle orangey red color. It makes my blue-ish green-ish grey eyes pop really. With a nice nude eye(usually naked palette) with dark brown liner and lashes it looks wonderful. I have been complimented twice today on it all. It makes my teeth look white, but that's just me. It appears to stain my lips so the only thing that does not last is the shine.

As of right now this is my favorite item. I do love berry smoothie too though... I just love revlon lip butters!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/22/2013 3:13:00 PM More reviews by amandadee97

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

Too orange for my lips and didn't really apply evenly. Kind of pricey for drugstore even though I got it on sale. Not worth it in my opinion. So continues the hunt for a good red lip

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/21/2013 5:15:00 PM More reviews by Katelrobs3

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Love this lip butter! Candy Apple and Sweet Tart are my favorite lip butters, and Candy Apple really makes blue eyes pop! It's not an intimidating color whatsoever and is incredibly comfortable on the lips and very moisturizing which is perfect for my dry lips. Doesn't last longer than an hour or two but it's one of those products you don't even need a mirror for reapplication. Super easy to apply and doesn't sit into the cracks of your lips. All around a MUST HAVE lip product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/20/2013 10:45:00 PM More reviews by Roseblush82

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

The good points are that this is a gorgeous color and it's not drying on the lips. One bad point is that you have to drag it across your lips to get the color on. This is strange to me because it doesn't glide on your lips without resistance and yet it's not drying once it's on the lips. The reason I would not purchase the product again is because it only wears off only in the middle of your lips leaving you with only an outline on your lips. This is the case with both of my lip butters and it's a strange tacky effect.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/11/2013 6:20:00 PM More reviews by lauramb122

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favorite Revlon Lip Butters! It is a very nice red! Sometimes I want to wear a red lip but not look like "Oh wow! Look at that red lip!". This is perfect for those days when you want to take it down a notch! It is so easy to wear day to day! It's build able, comfortable, easy to use and not drying! I adore the Candy Apple Lip Butter! Highly recommend! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/11/2013 7:31:00 AM More reviews by pennypencil

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Blue

Candy Apple might very well be the first tube of lipstick I actually use up before I lose. Touch wood. Where is it now? Somewhere in the hotel room.
This has been my go-to red since the Lip Butters were launched. I love everything about this product - super non-sticky, moisturising texture; lifting colour. It's bright, but translucent enough to not make you seem too dressed up.
The swatches online of Candy Apple don't seem to do it justice. On me, it's a tomato red with a sheen.
My preference is to wear this with pale pearly eye-shadow and a flick of black liner. Retro and modern.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No