April 20, 2014 | 1709 users online

Lip Gloss - Urban Decay - Lip Junkie



image 0

rated 4.4(77 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/15/2013 6:33:00 PM More reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I got the shade "Runaway" (a nice, bright, shimmering coral) for $6 on sale on the UD website. While I would never pay the full price ($20) for a none opaque gloss, this is still a nice lip product. Runaway is not totally sheer. It gives a nice tint to lips with lots of shine. It's very cushiony, and the minty tingle feels great and refreshing on the lips. It's thick, and in turn, long lasting. My lips still felt moisturized even after the gloss wore off, about 3 hours later (and this lasted through some drinking and a kiss). The package is gorgeous, although the lacey cap overlay pops off of the actual purple plastic cap. I don't know if this is a product defect, or if this is how all of the glosses are.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/9/2013 12:20:00 AM More reviews by MorganSamborsky

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

I LOVE this lip gloss, I see a lot of people complaining that it doesn't have a lip plumping affect, with this lip gloss they called it "Lip Junkie" because you have to be a junkie and apply it at least 3-4 times a day to keep up the "treatment" and I actually did notice a difference in my lips, the fine lines are noticeably diminished and just look healthier all around, when you first apply it, it is a little tacky but it goes away after a few minutes, I'm happy with the staying power and the tingling sensation is really refreshing, I love how glossy it is, I have fuller lips so I can't get away with wearing shiny lip products without looking overdone but these for some reason make my lips look amazing. I don't know how or why... My only real issue is the price, I paid $23.00 CND so it's a bit much especially because you have to constantly apply, I won't go as far as saying it's worth the extra bit of money but I do think it's a nice little splurge now and then and if it's something you like you stick with it...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/8/2013 8:58:00 PM More reviews by LegalViolet

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Very nice Minty lipgloss that lasts for hours. Great colour choices too!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/25/2013 10:17:00 AM More reviews by cleo1975

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Too sticky. Would not buy again

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2013 10:12:00 PM More reviews by MonicaRockvilleMD

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Black, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought it in Runaway! Beautiful bright orange/pink/peach sparkly color! Squeezable tube with a slanted tip. Buildable. Super glossy without being sticky. What makes this color truly awesome is it can warm up darker colors, especially browns and really make them pop! Normally $19, but I got it on sale on the UD website for $9. .

A much less expensive alternative is Essence XXXL Shine in "Sparkling Papaya" 18 for $2.50 at Ulta.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2013 4:39:00 PM More reviews by LovelyThistle

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I love this gloss. It helps so much in my fight with dry lips. I have 4 different shades and I love them all.

The texture of this gloss is sticky and thick. It has a really great high shine and the ones that have shimmer do not have that thick chunky glitter that some glosses have. It is just a nice shimmer or Iridescence depending on the shade you choose.

All the shades are sheer. This is not a gloss that can replace lipstick if you want high pigmentation. But it does give the lips a nice noticeable color, just not a lot of pigment.

This wears very well, I get 3 or 4 hours even with drinking a lot of water or soda. It won't hold up through eating anything greasy but most lip products do not anyway. It applies very nicely over lipstick since it is a squeeze tube and not a doe foot applicator.

All in all I would say this is a great lip gloss as long as you do not mind the thick texture.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/30/2013 9:43:00 PM More reviews by KandyKisses

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I definitely thought I wouldn't really care for this gloss but I was SO wrong! I have this in Peroxide which is a baby pink-y color. It doesn't really have any color payoff but it's very slick and feels sooo nice on the lips. Lasts a decently long time and it has a tingly menthol feeling to it! It smells nice too. The packaging is so adorable, and the tip of the squeeze tube is SMALL so you don't accidentally squeeze out a butt load of the product onto your lips. Packaging is most definitely an A+. The product itself is an A+! Love!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/28/2013 9:22:00 PM More reviews by iheartowls55

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this in "Runaway," because it was on sale on Urban Decay's website, and I LOVE it. It is super glossy with great pigmentation, but it's not sticky at all. Plus, it lasts forever, even after drinking and eating. It also has a very pleasant minty kind of taste when you apply it, but the taste doesn't stick around, so it's not annoying. I will be trying a few more of these in different colors. They're way worth the investment. Plus, the packaging is uber cute, and that never hurts!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/19/2013 4:07:00 PM More reviews by ChristiAnne1974

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Tan, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have three of these.....I have "Red Light" which is shimmery red, I have "Love Junkie" which on me is a sheer darkish plummy red, and I have "Strip" which is a medium mauve nude (and my favorite of the three!).
Red Light was the very first red lip product I have ever bought and I'm quite pleased. It doesn't make my teeth yellow and it has a beautiful shimmery shine. It's on the sheerer side....which is exactly what I was looking for.
Love Junkie is a beautiful sheer plum color....on me at least. It is a couple shades darker than my natural lip color and has no glitter or shimmer. It's similar to Bobbi Brown's Ultra Violet gloss but a bit deeper and more red. It's also a bit cheaper.
Strip is absolutely amazing! I love (and own many!) mauvey/nude colors and this one is at the top of my list It looks muddy and dark in tube but on me it's slighty darker than my own lips and makes me look polished. Looks amazing with plummy eyeshadow and cheeks. I have backups of this one.
My only issues with these are the packaging and the staying power. I don't care much for the plastic tube thing....it gets kind of gross around the cap and the tube itself makes it harder to apply but it's not a deal breaker for me.
The gloss isn't sticky and I think that's why the staying power isn't as great as other brands...like Bobbi Brown. But the tingly minty flavor is definitely a plus. I would repurchase for the colors alone....especially Strip. If you're a fan of mauve/nude colors definitely check it out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/3/2013 5:11:00 PM More reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Urban Decay wants to know if you "want a super shiny gloss, but can't stand the sticky texture? Wait til you feel the soft, cushiony texture of this gloss! Lip Junkie stays put longer than other glosses, but never feels gummy or gooey. It comes in a range of pretty amazing shades and the color payout is amazing. Take your pick from sheer, pretty neutrals; kick ass brights, or glimmering near black." Urban Decay offers 17 shades, I have Naked, which was included with my Naked2 palette. This little baby sized gloss contains 3.7ml (.13 oz). The full size contains 10ml (.34oz) and retails for $19. Urban Decay does not test on animals, but the brand was recently acquired by L'Oreal, so whether or not you consider them cruelty free is kinda your call, depending on your own personal ethical code. This lip gloss was made in America. Urban Decay products can be purchased through the brand's website, Sephora, Ulta, and select department stores.
Packaging is unique and kinda stylin'. The slender squeeze tube is squared off at the bottom, giving it a really different shape from your traditional lip gloss tube. The tube is also made of a thicker type of plastic than usual, which is helpful because it prevents you from squeezing out too much product. Twisting off the purple plastic cap, which has a grey overlay with a filigree cutout design, reveals a soft and flexible slate tip applicator. The product name and Urban Decay logo can be found on the front of the tube; the shade name and some company info can be found on the back. My only complaint about this gloss's packaging is that the mini version is just so tiny! I'm always afraid of losing it.
The formula of Urban Decay's Lip Junkie is kinda great. It really isn't sticky at all. The consistency is on the thinner side and very smooth, making it one of the most comfortable glosses I've ever used. This gloss is pretty long lasting, I can get about two hours of wear from it, even through eat, drinking, and of course, a lot of talking. Urban Decay's Lip Junkie has a light tingly feel to it, it's almost cooling. Pretty pleasant, in my opinion. Urban Decay describes this product as "wedding mint", but to me it's almost like a mint chocolate taste, which I really like. If you like minty lip products, that'll sell you on Lip Junkie alone.
Naked is a nice color, definitely a "my lips but better" shade for me. Urban Decay calls Naked a "pinky neutral". Yeah, that's true. this shade is on the warmer side but only slightly. Naked has a kinda tan-beige under tone to it that keeps it more in the nude category, as opposed to pink. The color payoff for Naked is on the sheerer side. Naked is great for accenting my natural lip color, as opposed to giving them a whole new hue.
Overall I really like Urban Decay's Lip Junkie in Naked! This isn't a product that I would've tried had it not been included with my beloved Naked2 palette. I really can't get find any true faults in this gloss. Packaging is cute and functional, it wears well and has a great formula. Some may prefer a more opaque gloss, but I find Naked's sheer nature to be very complimentary. Yinz know that I'm a drugstore makeup kind of girl, but I've really been falling for these high end lip glosses lately! I'm unsure if I would purchase Urban Decay's Naked Lip Junkie in a full size, but I'm certainly not opposed to it. If you're looking to try out a high end lip gloss, or are just delving in to Urban Decay products, or even a long term fan of the brand that hasn't bought the Naked2, you should definitely consider this excellent gloss!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No