July 30, 2014 | 2135 users online

Eye Shadow - Maybelline - Stylish Smokes in Natural Smokes

rated 4.0(223 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/21/2012 7:35:00 AM More reviews by goldenrosegold

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

All the colors are wearable, the base color and liner color are matte and the crease and lid color have a sheen to them but still natural enough for work. This quad is really good for all skin tones, the intensity is fine alone but when used wet it is like no other- super pigmented and long lasting

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/14/2012 12:23:00 AM More reviews by summertacks

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Overall, I really like the colours in this quad. I get the most use out of the shimmery taupe lid colour and the dark brown liner colour, which I use on my lower lash line. I unfortunately have the new design for the quad, where the lid and crease colour are puny, which is annoying because the white colour is so big and its useless. It's chalky with no pigmentation.

Overall I love the colours, but I'll be on the look out for more quality colours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/11/2012 3:13:00 PM More reviews by girrlbot

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have used this quad almost daily because I love the colors but they aren't very pigmented :( I have to layer them quite a bit to get the colors to show. The consistency is great though and I love the price and how it makes my dark grey/blue eyes pop!! I'll probably continue to use and buy this product because I haven't found another affordable quad with these colors.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/25/2012 7:43:00 PM More reviews by anela07

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I only really use neutrals on my eyes, and this is so far the best I've tried! I use the darkest shade as liner for my eyes and brows, and the shimmery taupe for my lids. I don't use the lightest shade or the crease shade as often, only when I'm going for a more dramatic look.

I recently ran out of the lid colour, and instead of re-purchasing I bought the single-colour Chic Naturals 250S Tastefully Taupe. I actually like this much better, it doesn't have as much shimmer and the colour suits me better.

I would purchase this quad again though, it's really handy for the darker colour and when traveling... but they changed the packaging and now you don't get an even amount of each colour, so I might be looking for something new.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/18/2012 5:51:00 PM More reviews by Sassy_Pants77

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I read great reviews of this trio, but for me it was a little "eh." I like it for daily use - it's very light and flattering. A little too light at times. The base white colour is way too light - it doesn't really show up on my fair skin. However I love the light taupey slightly glittery eyelid colour - unfortunately the base one takes up double the space in the trio, as does the liner which I don't even use. The darker brown for the crease is okay too. I would repurchase the taupe colour, but not the whole trio. In addition to the unbalanced distribution of colours, the lid broke within a month of buying it, which is annoying. Not terrible, but not good enough to repurchase for me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2012 4:00:00 PM More reviews by zomgblah

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Like what Blair said to Chuck (just finished watching an episode of Gossip Girl lolz), I love this quad but am not IN love with it. I definitely see it as a staple for everyone's mu bag simply because it is such a steal for the price, but if you're looking for a natural smokey eye to wear out during the day I think you're better off getting something else. This quad has a matte vanilla highlighter shade, a silvery taupe, a copperish orange crease color, and a dark matte brown-black liner shade. Hands down the most unique shade of the four is the copper crease shade.. it's such a lovely color! The matte vanilla shade is chalky and the silver taupe is very sheer. Some say that the taupe lid shade is a dupe of Satin Taupe, but I have to disagree. I have Satin Taupe, and it is far superior in terms of color and quality. The texture of the taupe in this quad is very gritty, and it has a cool undertone whereas Satin Taupe is more plumy. The brown-black shade is a bit too dark for the crease, but is lovely as a liner! I love applying it wet. Overall, I would repurchase this quad because I loveee the darkest shade and it's nice to have if you're traveling. Go get it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/18/2012 3:46:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is definitely my favorite drugstore eye shadow quad of all time. Its my standard day-to-day smokey look. I use it for day time and amp it up for a sexy night time look. I adore this colors and think they work so well together. I've hit pan and that says a lot considering I have a ton of other quads. I'll get into each color and what I like about them.

Matte Cream White(Highlight)- A little sheer, least pigmented color of them all, but make a nice matte highlight or to put over blended color to tone it out.

Shimmery Taupe(Lid)- A beautiful taupe color with shimmer, some sparkle. Very pigmented.

Medium Brown(Crease)- This color is a satin finish and perfect for the crease. Its a deep brown.

Black-Brown- This shade is a combination of black and brown in a matte finish. The color is perfect for taking your eyes into a night look.

Every girl should have this whether they like neutrals or simply if they're beginning in makeup. One thing I do suggest is that you use a base underneath, preferably with color to it. Maybe a taupe or a champagne color to enhance the lid color.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/29/2012 8:35:00 PM More reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Grey

In my opinion, drugstore eyeshadows are very hit and miss. However, I think this one is a hit. The colors here are gorgeous. The one is actually a dupe for MAC's satin taupe.. and I believe a couple of the other colors are MAC dupe's as well, if not all of them. The only color out of these I don't much care for is the "brow" color. I can't tell that it's even there but I don't mind much because you can use it as a blending color and the rest of the colors are so excellent, it's still a great deal.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/29/2012 2:28:00 PM More reviews by MSFIT75

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love eyeshadows with the steps on the package & this had some decent reviews so I wanted to try it. The colors didn't really impress me once applied. The two darker shades are too similar in my opinion and don't really pop. It looked more blah than smokey + the vanilla shade was a little to white against my skintone. The textures of all three colors were chalkier than smooth. I won't repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/17/2012 6:40:00 PM More reviews by ShelbyKnighttt

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

The colors complement each other very nicely but are not very pigmented. Would probably buy again

Is this review helpful? Yes No