July 26, 2014 | 938 users online

Sunscreen - La Roche Posay - Anthelios SPF 30 AC Fluid Extreme



image 0

rated 3.6(38 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 3/18/2013 5:15:00 AM More reviews by chinggybaby

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I have sensitive, combination skin that becomes oily after a few hours (mainly due to my country's humid weather and the outdoor nature of my job). This product truly mattifies my face, such that I don't get the oily gleam that usual sunscreens leave after a while. The only downside is that SPF 30 is not strong enough to last a day. I personally find Kiehl's BB Cream better, if you're fine with just a little shine!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/9/2012 7:32:00 AM More reviews by Gangajee

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love it ,
love the texture , the smell - it protected my fair face in super hot india !
had to re-apply a little as i was sweating so much - but never took one sunburn just if i stayed exposed VERY long a slight shinny moisturized tan .

I have sensitive skin and often allergies and itchiness from sunscreens and this one i actually applied on my face and nothing !

so yes for me one of the best .

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/9/2012 12:05:00 AM More reviews by agnesbones

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Black

This was recommended to me by my dermatologist, so I've decided to give it a try. The only times when I use it is when I am going outdoors. This sunscreen works really well on my acne prone skin, & it doesn't cause me to outbreak after a long day out in the sun with all the dirt & sweat.
One good tip to go about applying this on your face is do not over apply it thinking that more is good = more protection. This is a major no no, over applying it will cause your face to be oilier than usual, & it will make your face look whiter & even break out. On the side note, I don't know is it me or the bottle at home is old, I find the spf 50 version more pleasant smelling.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/11/2012 12:08:00 PM More reviews by Jessabell

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

ok so i bought this because my usual chanel one was running out and i wasnt near a chanel counter plus i had been thinking that its 40 euro price tag was becoming a bit of a joke every month. So i was in the local chemist and spotted this and decided that at 17 euro it couldnt hurt and that it might not brak me out considering it is for oily or spot prone skin.

Its fantastic. It has a semi matt finish similar to chanel uv 50, it hasnt caused me one blocked pore despte the fact that i use soooo much of it every morning. Its just great. Plus it has a rather high ppd of 20 (in ireland anyway) which is a lot higher than most sunblocks especially those in the PA system.

if i had any gripes it would be that i wish its ppd was closer to 30 like it other ones in the range but its ok. its still high uva protection and one of the best you can get. The only other thing is that it has alcohol dentent near the top of the ingredient list which is why its good for oily skin, and although it doesnt in any way dry out my skin i jst wishit was so close to the top of the list.

overall its really fantastic and i will definitely repurchase. I use the spf 50 for days when its really sunny but in ireland thats not usually the case unfortunately lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/2/2012 6:53:00 AM More reviews by nomadjan

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Grey, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I don't suffer from acne but sunscreen in general tends to make me break out and I absolutely HATE the greasy, shiny look of most sunscreen products....which is what led me to buy Anthelios AC. Man, so expensive for this little bottle of white, watery liquid. I've only used it a couple of times and that required applying it in natural light with a mirror to make sure I didn't have any white streaks left on my face. I now just use it for my nose....I can't imagine putting this stuff on my entire face.Too drying and makes my look like a pale zombie. Am back on the search for new sunscreen.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 6/5/2012 4:00:00 PM More reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I dont know what to think about this... This is at least supposed to be Acne-safe... So I've tried it and here is my opinion;

Pros:

- Quite high spf
- Reliable brand
- Claims to be non-comedonic ( have only used it for a few days so can't tell anything about it yet).

Cons:

- I hate to "feel" the sunscreen - in some way it leaves a feeling of laying on top of the skin....
- Looks greasy and messy by the end of the day, with the makeup on...
- Leaves dry flakes on drier areas
- Leaves a slightly white cast ( even if my skin is white as milk, you can see it)


So, even if this in the start seemed to be the perfect sunscreen to me I won't repurchase.

Compared to avene cleanance sunscreen, this one is more whitish...and does not sink in as well! Still its quite expensive... Neutrogena Dry touch will be my next product to test! Hopefully better than this....

UPDATE: 7th october, 2012; I want to update my review. I used this during my vacation in Greece this summer, i was there for 2 weeks. I used this daily, and reapplied it often. Mostly the temperature was extremely high, around 38'C.
After 10 days I sterted to develop enormous cysts all over my face, and on places where I ususally don't get acne! I haven't had such a breakout for years, they were big and red, all over!!

SO.... I don't know if it was the heat and all the sweat...OR the sunscreen??? Or the combination of this sunscreen with all the heat?

I just wanted to warn you...

I won't give this any more chances, cause I washed my face before every reapplication, and I really tried to keep it dry and clean despite the heat.... I wore cleansing tissues with me, containing my ordinary cleanser, and I think that I shouldn't have developed the cyst cause of "dirt" or bacteria then.... I suspect the Anthelios AC..... :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/23/2012 6:22:00 AM More reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

The ingredients and formula have already been posted, so I concentrate on how this worked on my skin.
My skin is combo-acne-prone-dehydrated-sensitive.
I watch out for comedogenic ingredients in the sunscreens and thereīs a lot of ingredients to watch out for, considering the uge list of ingredients.
However, with hyperpigmentation and acne-prone skin, thereīs no use in whining, because I definitely need good protection. Unless I want ageing-spots and clogged pores allover my face.
This is meant for oily/combination skin. Dry skin might feel a little uncomfortable, because it has a mattifying effect and I have to use a good moisturizer underneath. It tends to give my skin a flaky effect, but this effect disappears after 5 minutes.
As I said, I always use moisturizer underneath my sunscreens and even with my moisturizer, this one feels like itīs slightly drying out my skin.
On the other hand, it doesnīt leave a freakish white cast on my face and disappears after a few minutes.
I wore it without make-up on top and thatīs what I would prefer with this sunscreen.
I feel, that my Kiehlīs super fluid works waaay better under foundations and generally.
Why I even consider this sunscreen, when Kiehlīs is better? Honestly, this is way cheaper here in Germany than the Kiehlīs one. A 50 ml bottle costs about 11 Euros while Kiehlīs costs 39 Euros.
So this would be a sunscreen for weekends or outdoor, when I donīt wear make-up.
I didnīt break me out and didnīt cause any allergic reactions.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/22/2012 1:16:00 PM More reviews by xxxxx2011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a great sunscreen for occasional use, but not for everyday!

This leaves a white cast that never fades. The finish is powdery which is great for minimizing pore size but it will cause peeling and flaking if you try to put liquid foundation on top. Even without putting make up on top I still see some flakes around my chin and jaw line (not pretty!). The finish is still shiny and makes my face look unnatural (no powder can fix that for me). In comparison to ISDIN fusion fluide, my skin absorves this much slower...when I tried to put powder on top, I had to wait 30 min and the puff still came a bit wet.
I also tried this sunscreen while indoors without anything underneath or on top and after 3-4h sitting in front of my computer my face looks very greasy.


The water resistant is good, did not come off when I splashed with water or when I used it to run.
I only use this product when I am working in the garden, I can (and I do) re-apply it once and I can't see any obvious tan on my face (I also use a big floppy hat and avoid midday sun).
This is one of the very few sunscreens that don't irritate my skin or break me out (a huge deal for me!).
I prefer this to the spf 50 version, which I found to be way too powdery and really hard to re-apply.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/6/2012 2:37:00 PM More reviews by osculari

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The best sunscreen I have tried for my combination/acne-prone skin. I have been using this for 2 years, and I have "strayed" to try other sunscreens but always end up going back to this one, so I don't think I will switch anymore. Don't fix what isn't broken, right? I love how easy it is to apply this sunscreen with the fluid texture. I have medium tan skin and it does not leave a ghostly white cast on my face. Depending on how much I apply, I might sometimes end up looking shiny. I use this on my bare skin i.e. without a moisturizer underneath because I found that it is less heavy on my skin that way. Most importantly, this sunscreen does not break me out. Definitely a HG!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/24/2011 5:06:00 PM More reviews by fenlady

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have great trouble finding sunscreens that work for me, as my skin is not only oily and very sensitive, I also have rosacea. Have been seeing a dermatologist for IPL rosacea treatments, and she told me I should always wear a sunscreen with spf of at least 30, every single day, even in winter. But most chemical sunscreens irritate my skin, while the physical ones are so shiny and thick I can't stand the feel of them. This sunscreen is the best I've ever tried, and I think I will stick with it. I apply it every morning on top of a very light serum, after the serum has sunk in. I don't need any other moisturizer. The sunscreen goes on slightly white, but soon dries down to a transparent finish. There is a slight shininess, and I matte it down with powder in my t-zone. Haven't had any irritation or flushing from this product, and it has excellent UVA and UVB protection. I wish there were a product that was completely unshiny, but so far there isn't, so this is the best I've found.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No