October 22, 2014 | 1042 users online

Eye Shadow - E.L.F. - Mineral Eyeshadow in Socialite

rated 4.5(24 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 91% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 10/28/2010 2:34:00 PM More reviews by aweyhrauch

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I agree that all there elf loose mineral eye shadows are in gorgeous colors. But has anyone else found that they don't stay on and are a trouble to work with? My shadow is all over the place inside the holder, but I guess with the price that's what you get. I love the colors, but just found that they don't stay on well, are very messy, and not very pigmented. If you are looking for something that is pigmented, don't go with the loose mineral eyeshadow. I haven't found any shadow from them that is pigmented. But if you like the very light/sheer coverage on your eyes, this is for you!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/11/2010 4:55:00 AM More reviews by OCbarbie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Im in love with the color! I cant get myself to use my other eye shadows because socialite is so gorgeous. I have dark green eyes with specs of very light brown/golden/amber in it so this amazing taupe gunmetal/dark liac looks great on them! I paired this with the elf primer and it lasts pretty long and doesnt crease! Its super pigmented and crazy shimmery so yes i would say this is a evening/night time look. Its soo weird that this only costs $3 and its ingredients include vitamins A, B, C & E ( which hydrate and minimize the appearance of fine lines) and its 100% mineral based with no parabens, no preservatives and no chemical dyes. If your ordering from E.L.F you HAVE to get this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/24/2010 11:02:00 PM More reviews by huwanjun

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Very beautyfull eyeshadow and so cheap~~~~~~hoho

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/24/2010 5:39:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Ahh pure loveliness. I'm a huge fan of taupes and this one is a favorite of mine. Socialite is a beautiful gunmetal, taupe color. It's shimmery and beautiful for a smoky eye. It's smooth, applies well but can be messy because its a mineral shadow. Plus there is tons of product in this little jar so you really do get your money's worth. With no fallout, I must say I've found my taupe soul mate :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/21/2010 1:13:00 PM More reviews by SourberryLily

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Very shimmery warm gray color. Difficult to explain since there are shimmery pigments of golden and purple etc... But essentially it is a medium gray.

The beauty of this is that because of the different shimmers, it really goes with anything!

As all other mineral shadows, the packaging is good with a "salt shaker" cap under the real lid, to help control the product. They apply true to their color.

I accidentally ordered this one twice. If i could write a review on their website usability i would but oh well!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/5/2010 2:01:00 PM More reviews by gorbe

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This is a great color, a reviewer below said that it is taupe with a green sheer to it. This seems pretty accurate. These eyeshadows are highly pigmented and long-lasting, the only downside (for me, not an expert eyeshadow applier) is that the dust tends to fall on my face, which messes up the rest of my makeup when I clean it off.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/4/2010 3:56:00 AM More reviews by cksa

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I LOVE the Confident shade from this line. So that is probably why I'm not too crazy about Socialite, color-wise--it pretty much is Confident, except grayer, cooler, a touch darker, and perhaps more silvery, with an overall polished gunmetal taupe appearance. I think Confident is gorgeous, and Socialite is similar enough that I look at it and wonder why I used one of my 10-for-free eyeshadows on it....oh yeah...I love taupes, that's why! :-) Socialite is a gorgeous nighttime color, whether for clubbing or a more sophisticated evening look. It's Confident's darker sibling, and makes a beautiful smokey eye. If you get it, foil it!! Liquid gunmetal! Like most of the eyeshadows in the mineral line, Socialite is also shimmery and probably a bit too much for conservative workplaces. But I like it a lot, although I don't really see myself using it as frequently as I use Confident, so if I do buy it again it'll be a long time from now. Again, the E.L.F. eyeshadows are not the cheapest in the world, but they're competitively priced. Wait for a sale and haul your heart out! continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2010 4:14:00 AM More reviews by pjw1209

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Socialite is absolutely gorgeous. Every time I looked at this color on the e.l.f. website it always looked like a dirty lilac shade. I took a chance and when this product arrived, I was so impressed. This is a true taupe with shimmer. To tone this down during the day, I use this as an all-over color wash. In the evening, I can really glam this up and it makes a perfect smokey eye. I have all of the e.l.f. mineral eye shadows and only a few have ever disappointed. I will buy Socialite again...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/18/2009 10:51:00 AM More reviews by prozacnation88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

E.L.F. Mineral Eyeshadow in Socialite: it's easy to blend and you get 0.9 grams per pot. I used TheBodyShop eyeshadow brush to apply it. It's also quite shimmery, which is not really what I was expecting, it's quite hard to see from the website photos whether the shadows are shimmery or not, and I have ordered it thinking it wasn't but nevertheless the festive season is coming up and maybe I will find an occasion to wear it. I think the colour is quite good for an understated smokey eye as it's not too dark.

Applied after an eye primer makes one hellova difference. The color is more intense, and the product lasts longer.

some photos on http://whateverygirlneedstoknow.blogspot.com/

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2009 11:12:00 AM More reviews by arlentx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Can I just say that I LOVE this shade?!!!! I recently discovered the e.l.f. line of products thanks to a youtube video and I am so glad. I have about 8 or 9 BareMinerals shadows that I bought at $18 or so a piece. I wish I had known about e.l.f. before I bought them. At $3 a pop full price, you can't beat it. On top of that, the BE shadows have 0.2 or 0.25 oz of product while e.l.f. has 0.3. More for less!

Socialite is a deep, shimmery gray color with slightly smoky lilac undertones. It is a bit cool and silvery but it's not harsh ... you won't look like you've brushed melted nickels on your lids!

I wear Mysterious (fair, slightly shimmery lavender/lilac) from lashline to browbone, Socialite in the crease, and Seductive (a deep, smoky charcoal) at the outer corners. Wow! What an effect!

I would DEFINITELY buy this color again. As a matter of fact, I may try ALL of the e.l.f. mineral shadow colors!

Is this review helpful? Yes No