OPI Over The Taupe

4.7

73 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/4/2012 12:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This color was very flattering (NC25) and multipurpose, you can go to college, to work or party and look kind of elegant-sophisticated.i was afraid it looked granny, but it didn't .I liked the consistency and coverage, also with top coat it lasted up to 7 days, I just had to remove ir because of nail natural growth. I think it looks better on longer nails.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 7/7/2012 10:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got my nails done in this shade.. and what got to me was the transparency of it!! I'm so sure that this was not how it would normally come out.. I just thought that they diluted it maybe?? Otherwise a lovely colour when opaque! x


on 5/23/2012 12:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

One of the most universally flattering taupe colors on the market. We sell this at my work and can literally recommend it to ANYONE with ANY skin type and it flatters them all. People call in and special order bottles of this at a time. If you're in search of an awesome neutral, check this one out. I definitely recommend this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2012 4:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this simply because I read it here - and it is extremely similiar to You Don't Know Jacques! (which i own too haha). I like it! It's like a muddy, mocha-ish brown? My guy friends all disapprove (boys will be boys!) but I think it's a sophiticated, clean colour. I can wear it to work and it doesn't look offensive or loud. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/19/2012 2:30:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really like this color. I used to have You Don't Know Jacques, but for whatever reason, the color didn't agree with me at all. Such a pretty color in the bottle that didn't translate to my nails. OTT is what I wanted YDKJ to be, a slightly warmer, brownish taupe. I'm currently wearing this on my gel nails and love it. It's a nice, work friendly color that's not (no pun intended here) too over the top :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/9/2012 11:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I actually dont know what to say about this one - I have it, I wear it and it works really well for me. It's nothing to rave about, but looks good at the same time.
Easy to apply and has a lovely glossy finish. I've only had it on my toes - I dont think my finger nails are long enough to carry this off.
I am a soft and cool colouring and this polish is a perfect match to Cocoa and looks fab with my mocha birkenstocks!


on 11/3/2011 2:49:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this color. It's so sofisticated and subtle. I usually use bright colors, but this one makes my hands look even more tan. Love this brand it goes on great and lasts a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2011 7:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

My favourite OPI of all time would be You Don't Know Jacques. So you should know that I love taupey nail polishes. But I was greatly disappointed by this one. Though personal opinion on colours cannot bring down the rating, so I kept it at 4 lippies. The reason I was so let down is because this looks not very taupe on me. Taupe means grey brown, ideally it should come with maybe a hint of smoky lavender. While YDKJ is exactly that but darker, I was hunting for, technically, a lighter version of YDKJ. Over the Taupe seems like a good pick on that, but it is not. It's a simple light chocolate brown. I don't see taupe. Some people may call it a warm taupe, sine it lacks the slight smoky lavender element, but keep in mind warm taupe should still have grey in it. This one looks milk chocolate to me. The great thing about this particular nail polish is that it dries SUPER shiny, especially for OPI, and the better thing is that it stays chip free and flawless for 7 whole days nonstop. (This was all just 3 coats with no base/top coat!) If this thing had a tiny little bit coolness to it, it would immediately jump to my HG statues. It's a pity it doesn't, but it is still a great neutral.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 10/22/2011 1:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Absolutely gorgeous, goes on really well.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best chocolate colour of my nail polishes


Popular Polishes


Dorothy Who?
Dorothy Who?
33 Reviews
Oh Cabana Boy
Oh Cabana Boy
22 Reviews
Opi Red
Opi Red
71 Reviews
Miracle Gel
Miracle Gel
150 Reviews


Top Rated OPI Products

image

Koala Bear-y

77 reviews
image

Malaga Wine

154 reviews
image

Over The Taupe

73 reviews
image

Dutch Tulips

77 reviews
Back to Top