August 1, 2014 | 1772 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Matte lipstick in Mauve It Over

rated 4.3(217 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 1/26/2014 2:23:00 AM More reviews by may93

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

On me this pulls way too orange and doesn't look flattering at all. Not repurchasing.

EDIT: So I gave it a couple weeks and Mauve It Over has officially reached HG status in my book. Note to all you ladies with olive skin and/or yellow undertones, and pigmented lips: this is your nude/mlbb lippie! Mauve It Over is a great nude on me because lightens my lips slightly, yet brightens up my face; I'm NC40 for reference. Most nude pink shades tend to look washed out against my warm complexion and very pigmented lips, but I also find that warmer pinks end up looking darker than I want. Mauve It Over is a great balance between the two. Also, the staying power is awesome. I'll be repurchasing!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2014 12:08:00 AM More reviews by CG1981

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Green

Heard this was a dupe for MAC's Kinda Sexy which is one of my most used and loved everyday lipsticks. I couldn't find Mauve it Over it in any drug store and finally found it at Ulta. I really dont think its a Dupe for Kinda Sexy at all so my review is based on that. It was more matte, more drying, which i could have put up with if the color was the same--it wasnt. This was more taupy not a pinky brown nude like Kinda Sexy.It settled in my dry winter lips too much and looked "off" unless i wore lip liner. I ended up returning it. Wish it worked, would have saved me $$ .I am nc30-35 for reference

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/21/2013 10:10:00 PM More reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This is a gorgeous shade - very similar to MAC kinda sexy and velvet teddy - sort a combination of the two. Most definitely not a 'mauve' more of a neutral terracotta rose nude - looks lovely with or without a liner but requires some lip preparation before application as it can be drying due to the matte texture - but a good exfoliator and some balm will fix this. Wonderful shade.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/19/2013 12:20:00 AM More reviews by Jacklynne

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

MY FAVORITE LIPSTICK FOREVER!!! I only have 1 Revlon lipstick and the rest are MAC. But nothing compares to this. I don't know why this isn't available in the Philippines. I got it on eBay and I'm running out of this already. Hoard-worthy!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/5/2013 12:29:00 AM More reviews by madscientist01

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For the most part I'm not a lipstick girl. I like a more made-up eye and everything else clean and natural. So, whenever I do wear lip colour, i like it to be a nude colour. This is about as pink of a colour as I can confidently wear.

I LOVE this colour. It's not mauve at all, so I don't know why they would call it that. But, the colour is gorgeous! It's literally the colour of my lips.

Even though it's a matte lipstick, it's slightly creamy. I know some people aren't a fan of matte lipsticks because they tend to be a bit drying, but I like that a matte lipstick gives you options. I can wear this colour matte, or I can add a bit of gloss and make it creamier.

The packaging is also really nice. Clean, simple, and classy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/5/2013 12:08:00 PM More reviews by lac66

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love this! The colour is great and so wearable, It lasts long and it isn't a very drying matte lipstick like a lot of them are. The packing is no problem at all. The only thing that annoys me about this is that when it has come off of my lips it leaves white stuff on the drier patches of my lips which I can't get rid of xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/30/2013 10:53:00 AM More reviews by youwillneverfindme

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

*EDIT* I'm sorry to stay that I can no longer wear Mauve It Over as it has begun to goop up on my lips. I'm really bummed about this because I absolutely love it otherwise :( I've dropped the score from a perfect 5 down to 3.

Mauve it Over has replaced MAC's Velvet Teddy as my most amazing lipstick...I didn't think this was possible...when I wear Velvet Teddy get complements from women AND men about how great my lips are (and my lips really aren't anything special, it's the lipstick that makes them look amazing)...what woman doesn't love that? But Mauve it Over gets the complements, it flatters my complexion more and the formula is better (doesn't dry out my lips, wears wonderfully and I can sheer it out), it goes with everything, no scent or taste...oh, and it's less expensive, what's not to love? I've got several tubes and plan on repurchasing forever.


Compared to MAC's Velvet Teddy:
Not the same color although very similar (Velvet Teddy is touch more brown), different enough that I'll keep a tube of Velvet Teddy even though Mauve it Over will get more wear. Mauve it Over seems to pick up a little peach and hence, work with the ruddy parts of my super pale skin better, like another reviewer said, seems to brighten my face (Velvet Teddy doesn't do that). I also agree that I don't quite know where Revlon gets "mauve" from...it's more of a browned-peach-nude on me. continued >>

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/24/2013 10:24:00 PM More reviews by catpopulation

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have 2 favorites from revlon first one is this beautiful mauve color (nude with a little hint of orange) and the other one is into the red (gorgeous dark red color)
mauve is a match made in heaven for my skin tone, this seems to brighten up my complexion, and at the same time looks very natural, LOVE THIS

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/24/2013 6:20:00 PM More reviews by christialle

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

In the tube, Mauve it Over looks quite brown, but on a swatch, you can see the orange/peach undertone more clearly. This works on me ONLY if I cover up all redness and pink undertones in my skin, then it is okay, perhaps not the most flattering, but a wearable darker nude.

If you have a warmer skin tone (neutral/yellow), I think this would be fabulous. The formulation is good, though I like my mattes with a bit more staying power, but if you like sheer, moisturizing lipstick but with a matte texture, you will love this.

I wish Revlon expanded their color line in matte, and made it more widely available. It is so hard to find this line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2013 10:05:00 AM More reviews by Walko

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely lipstick, but where Revlon gets "mauve" from is anybody's guess. It's more of a pink with a slight brown tinge to it. I didn't even realise it was called mauve until I looked at the name when I came home as the tester looked pink.It's matte but not drying, It has a very slight gloss to it which makes it glide on easily.I also have this in pink pout which reminds me of my Mac creme cup lipstick. The mac one is more glossy as it is a cremesheen. Lovely lipsticks , great price ,as good as the high end ones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No