December 20, 2014 | 1669 users online

Lipstick - Revlon - Matte lipstick in Mauve It Over [DISCONTINUED]

rated 4.3(221 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 82% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

This product has been discontinued

rated 4 of 5 on 4/21/2014 4:19:00 AM More reviews by tjh246

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Nude lipsticks make me look pale because of my Asian skin tone, but the darker colour of this one gives a really classy nude look that doesn't make me look sick. It goes on creamy and smooth but sets matte without drying out my lips too much. Every time I wear it I find something else I like about it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/19/2014 12:26:00 AM More reviews by ikraa94

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this lipstick! HG! this is my go-to lipstick no matter what makeup im wearing that day. Will repurchase, I'm a MAC nc40 for reference.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/6/2014 11:55:00 AM More reviews by nandavinesya

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really love with the color of this Mauve It Over. If you want to look natural but don't want to look pale, you can certainly use this color. It has a natural soft coral pinkish. It's just look like your natural lip color.

However, if you use this color and you take a picture maybe the color looks a little pale in the camera. But this one is really recommended for daily use and natural look!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/17/2014 4:56:00 PM More reviews by salzhu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Black

I read all the positive reviews on this product and colour so when i saw it on sale i decided to snap it up.

First of all I do like this product, but it kind of disappointed me in a way. It was smooth and easy to apply onto the lips, but for some reason it accentuated and detailed all the fine lines on my lips that wouldnt be seen if i did not wear this lipstick. I would not dare to wear it out by itself due to that, so i feel it would be necessary to wear a lip gloss on top of it. I tried wearing a lipbalm underneath the lipstick too, but it just caused the lipstick to build up around my lips. Not good.

As for the colour, i think it looks alright on my medium/yellow skin (im asian) but it kind of washes me out. It makes me look like theres no colour on my face, so i also feel the need to put a little bit of blush on too.

Overall, this lipstick is a little bit of a hassle for me but i can understand why it received so many glowing reviews from other people. The product is alright and the colour is nice, just not as nice on me as it is on other people. So based on that, i would not be repurchasing this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/15/2014 6:12:00 PM More reviews by sylveirettes

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

After tons of trials and errors, my search for the perfect nude is finally over! NYX SMLC in Stockholm used to be one but it dries out my lips and settles into fine lines so I tried to search for a similar color in lipstick form that has nicer quality. After researching, I bought Mauve it Over and fell in love at the first sight!

This lipstick is the most perfect MLBB for me (I'm around NC25-30 with strong yellow undertone for reference). The pinky nude color is so pretty and versatile; most nudes wash me out but never this one. It also glides on smoothly without tugging. The finish is not matte, like dry dry matte but more like velvety-satiny matte. It is so lightweight on the lips it almost feels like I don't wear anything at all. Best of all, the price is a winner.

Pros:
- Very pretty MLBB color for me
- Lightweight
- Velvety finish
- Doesn't dry out my lips
- Doesn't settle into fine lines
- No scent
- Great price
- Good staying power

Cons:
- Nothing!

Revlon tends to discontinue their nicest products but please please not this one. This lipstick is just perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2014 12:08:00 AM More reviews by CG1981

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Green

Heard this was a dupe for MAC's Kinda Sexy which is one of my most used and loved everyday lipsticks. I couldn't find Mauve it Over it in any drug store and finally found it at Ulta. I really dont think its a Dupe for Kinda Sexy at all so my review is based on that. It was more matte, more drying, which i could have put up with if the color was the same--it wasnt. This was more taupy not a pinky brown nude like Kinda Sexy.It settled in my dry winter lips too much and looked "off" unless i wore lip liner. I ended up returning it. Wish it worked, would have saved me $$ .I am nc30-35 for reference

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/21/2013 10:10:00 PM More reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This is a gorgeous shade - very similar to MAC kinda sexy and velvet teddy - sort a combination of the two. Most definitely not a 'mauve' more of a neutral terracotta rose nude - looks lovely with or without a liner but requires some lip preparation before application as it can be drying due to the matte texture - but a good exfoliator and some balm will fix this. Wonderful shade.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/19/2013 12:20:00 AM More reviews by Jacklynne

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

MY FAVORITE LIPSTICK FOREVER!!! I only have 1 Revlon lipstick and the rest are MAC. But nothing compares to this. I don't know why this isn't available in the Philippines. I got it on eBay and I'm running out of this already. Hoard-worthy!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/5/2013 12:29:00 AM More reviews by madscientist01

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For the most part I'm not a lipstick girl. I like a more made-up eye and everything else clean and natural. So, whenever I do wear lip colour, i like it to be a nude colour. This is about as pink of a colour as I can confidently wear.

I LOVE this colour. It's not mauve at all, so I don't know why they would call it that. But, the colour is gorgeous! It's literally the colour of my lips.

Even though it's a matte lipstick, it's slightly creamy. I know some people aren't a fan of matte lipsticks because they tend to be a bit drying, but I like that a matte lipstick gives you options. I can wear this colour matte, or I can add a bit of gloss and make it creamier.

The packaging is also really nice. Clean, simple, and classy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/5/2013 12:08:00 PM More reviews by lac66

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love this! The colour is great and so wearable, It lasts long and it isn't a very drying matte lipstick like a lot of them are. The packing is no problem at all. The only thing that annoys me about this is that when it has come off of my lips it leaves white stuff on the drier patches of my lips which I can't get rid of xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No