July 24, 2014 | 1983 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Saint Germain (amplified creme)

rated 4.1(195 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/28/2014 9:58:00 PM More reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have been wanting this forever and was left so disappointed I can't even describe my letdown. I am very cool-toned and light. NW20 at my darkest and very dark hair. You'd think this would be perfect...no. It's so pale and so pastel it just looks weird. I can't imagine who this looks good on. It's supposed to be for fair girls who are cool-toned...so I don't know.

Not only did the color just not work but its very VERY streaky and takes a while to get it even. I guess it's because its so pastel? I have never been letdown by a MAC lipstick but this is a first. The rep thought it would look good considering my tone etc., and even she was surprised. She immediately said, "no...it's just too white-pink." Not flattering or anything. The color is so pretty so I wonder who does have luck with this.

She suggested Snob instead, which I have and LOVE. I really hope this helps because I had wanted this for so long and was so upset. The other rep said she sees it on darker ladies and it looks great, so maybe it IS geared for you darker ladies and not us fair ones. Good luck and hope this suits others instead.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/22/2014 8:08:00 PM More reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

As always I love MAC lipsticks, but this one didn't work for me. I really love the Amplified Creme formula, it's semi-creamy, opaque, pigmented, and applies really smoothly. I have mostly neutral undertones, but I can look pretty warm toned on some occasions. This lipstick is a very cool toned pink, and that is the ONLY reason I don't like this shade. It doesn't look the best on me. If you like the idea of this lipstick, but you want a more wearable shade, try Snob instead. Saint Germain is a good lipstick for the right skin tone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/20/2014 10:22:00 PM More reviews by megsti

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

There are a lot of reviews on here calling this a porn star pink... No. When I picture a porn star pink I think of a more baby, pastel, chalky pink. Is this color bright? Yes. Is this color trashy? No. Is this color wearable? Yes. Because this color is an amplified cream it has very buildable coverage meaning you can layer more lipstick on for a brighter finish. There are blue undertones to this lipstick and it doesn't make my teeth look yellow. To wear this on a daily basis I layer it lightly over my lip balm. The color does last on me but with eating and drinking it does fade faster but not in a gross way. I love this color and will repurchase when I run out of it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/17/2013 5:36:00 PM More reviews by CMarie92

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This has almost as much pigment as lip tars but without the stickiness. Overall easier to use and very good quality. The color is very bright and to be honest sometimes I think it looks like a "pornstar pink" color. I think it's just one of those colors that you need to have the perfect skin tone to pull off.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/26/2013 9:16:00 AM More reviews by sarahmedeiros

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

It was so beautiful in the package, I didn't even try it and just bought it. It made my teeth look so horribly yellow, even though they're professionally whitened! For reference, I'm brown hair, hazel eyes, and porcelain skin tone with what I would think are good quality whitened teeth lol, but this lipstick disagrees with that. Oh well, it still looks pretty in my makeup collection, but I'm still sad about it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/26/2013 8:48:00 AM More reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Talk about WOW, the lipstick is not for the faint of heart! It is almost like a barbie gum pink but more on the paler pink color spectrum. I actually got this color initially for my birthday, but I also purchased "Candy Yum Yum" so I could mix them together to create the perfect punch of color. I never thought I'd love this alone! I was sort of afraid this made my teeth look yellow, but there is a slight blue undertone to it that let's me get away with it. :) This stuff is VERY pigmented and lasts a long time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2013 3:17:00 PM More reviews by Hollywoodblush

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this color with my skin tone. After seeing so many great review on this color by WOC I had to have it. I get a lot of compliments on this lipstick

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2013 9:40:00 AM More reviews by MacLips123

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Tan, Cool Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Green

I loved this lipstick when I first got it the color was perfect!!! I think as I further used it the color changed and I didn't like it that much and I think it's kind of to shiny almost like a lip-gloss I like the bold matte lip...I wear this color from time to time but I wouldn't purchase it again!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/6/2013 1:22:00 PM More reviews by Rosahelen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I really like the colour of this lipstick however it does not suit my skin tone very well, i feel like the tone of the product flushes me out a little however I think with a tan it would look nice against my colour. the packaging is MACs typical packaging nothing special. I feel like it is over priced but aren't all of MACs lispticks. I am not a fan of the formula I prefer satin and matte finishes. when applying this lipstick I found that it does not sit well on the lips it kind of covers some sections of the lip but not others if that makes sense. for that reason I will not be repurchasing this item.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/4/2013 1:51:00 PM More reviews by antoniaaddict

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

I like this colour on me.
I tend to go for bright pinks like this.Does not last though.

Is this review helpful? Yes No