April 19, 2014 | 1335 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Patisserie

rated 4.3(84 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/5/2013 8:01:00 PM More reviews by alextuthreefour

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Personally, my favorite MAC lipstick. I'm actually quite new to MAC (the makeup artists there intimidate me)--but this summer I mustered up the courage and went in to purchase a lippie (Patisserie) and a blush (Warm Soul). Since then, I've acquired 3 more lipsticks, but Patisserie is still my favorite! I wanted a nice warm mauvy pink that was sheer. I didn't want Creme Cup or Angel because they seemed a little too blue-toned and Barbie pink for me and I wanted it to be sheer because I personally love sheer lippies, they are comfy on my lips, don't accentuate dryness, and the color can be built up.
I love MAC packaging, simple and sleek. And the price isn't too cringe-worthy. Still about ten dollars cheaper than other high end makeup such as tarte and NARS.

All in all, a beatiful, yet wearable pink color :D!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/14/2012 5:15:00 AM More reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Very nice lipstick even though I am more of a lip gloss type of girl. The shade is universally flattering in my opinion: would suit people with both warm and cool undertones.
It's beige-mauve neutral. Smells nice as most MAC lipsticks do. What's important it is doesn't dry out your lips. The finish is somewhat flossy and not very opaque. Don't blame the pigmentation, this type of finish is not meant to be opaque.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/2/2012 4:06:00 AM More reviews by liloomiah

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is MLBB lipstick. It is a pinkish nude color that looks so beautiful on my pigmented lips and suits my skintone. Patisserie looks very natural and pretty on me. I'd definitely re-purchase it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/21/2012 8:30:00 PM More reviews by libra4

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This was probably about the 12th shade I tried, but it was patience paid off. Shopping for nudes is always a challenge for me. Firstly, I have highly pigmented lips, so it's always a crap shoot as to what any shade will turn into once applied. Many "nudes" turn freakishly mauve / pink / silver, or what I call "glowy", and others are just flat and brown or grey. Secondly, I think people have different ideas of what they want in a "nude". I am never looking for what I call "the makeup counter look" - pale to nearly blotted out color, usually worn with a smoky eye and either a super-high shine (think Kim K. / porn star), or in a pretty heavy, matte coverage. On me, this just translates as "ghoul". When I want a nude, I want something close to MLBB - there can be an MLBB look that matches the darker, reddish-brown rose of my lips, and an MLBB which picks up the pinkish-rose, making my lips look a shade more pale, and dewy. Think delicately pretty. I was looking for the latter, and this does it.

For reference: I started out trying Hug Me. It was probably too "glowy". Politely Pink was a little too glowy / frosty, as were several more in that paler nude family. Twig was too reddish brown. Several of the darker shades read as too brown or grey. "Modesty" was nice - a little rosier and less dewey - and VGV was a very nice MLBB to go in the other direction and match up my reddish rose coloring. "Patisserie" is the perfect what I call "nude". It pretties my face up. I can see wearing it on a no-makeup day to just brighten my face up, for a subtle look for daytime (though not too built up, or it could go too frosty), and I think it's great for a date, for that naturally pretty, not too made up, appealing, *kissable* look (some guys can appreciate the *look* of stronger color or coverage, or a high shine, but few usually want to kiss it.) This lets a little of the natural lip texture show through, and adds some shimmer. It goes on with a nice, sheer feel. I could see it not lasting long, but I don't care. I'm happy to re-apply, and at 43, longer-lasting formulas are just too matte and drying for me. Your lips *would* have to be in good shape (chap-free) to wear this.

Conclusion: don't let highly-pigmented lips prevent you from trying this shade. Whether or not it will work will depend on the particular color of your lips - highly-pigmented will vary in color from one person to the next. It works beautifully for me. I am an NC 20/30, btw, with brown hair and hazel eyes.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/6/2012 6:00:00 PM More reviews by maypanda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favourite Mac lipsticks, and on me, it looks a nice creamy pink, nothing too out there but it definitely adds to any look in my opinion. Like another reviewer(s) said, it is best to condition your lips because this lipstick does show the cracks and imperfections. Though other than that, it has your standard Mac Vanilla-ish scent, Black Bullet packaging, and price is 14.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/2/2012 7:24:00 PM More reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

About me: NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

Patisserie is my HG lipstick, it is a soft peachy pink. Looks great, just wish the wear was longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/17/2012 4:25:00 PM More reviews by so12

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Bought this on a bit of an impulse after having my eye on it for a while. It is very similar to a lot of nude lipsticks I already own....... but it its my current favourite! I like the tiny shimmer particles that are actually really flattering and not too 'in your face' at all. The colour is a really nice peachy nude, but I do think you need to have really well conditioned lips to be able to pull this off. The colour does emphasis any cracks or dry patches. Great every day lippy that you can throw on and not worry about and a great combo with dark smokey eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/22/2012 2:58:00 PM More reviews by luna2012

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

im nw 15 -nw 20 (for reference) and on me its a beige nude, kind of MLBB. its pretty subtle and great for day time, i wish it was slightly more pinkish though. i was gonna buy both patisserie and high tea and the MUA at mac store talked me out of it, because she said they are pretty close so i dont need both of them. so, i guess high tea can be a close dupe of patisserie..

i have mixed feeling about it, although its a "practical" color its kinda blah for me so i dont know if i would repurchase it, maybe i would get it from B2M program for free.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/22/2012 12:28:00 PM More reviews by Indigo1707

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to like this lipstick more than I did. Despite being a very fair NW10 or lighter, my lips are quite pigmented, so unfortunately this didn't look quite right on me, a tad bit too pale on my lips. The tone was perfect, I just wish it was a bit darker. Also, the lustre finish wore off quite quickly and somehow emphasized any imperfections/dry patches on my lips. I will continue to use it as an occasional pale-lip effect as an addition to a dramatic smokey eye look, but I don't think I would repurchase. Shame!
EDIT: For some reason I seem to be getting a lot of compliments on this lipstick despite not liking it much myself. Maybe I'm just not personally into pale lips?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/13/2012 5:05:00 PM More reviews by mmherman

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I absolutely adore this lipstick! It is one of my favourite MAC lipsticks.

I was looking for a lipstick that was comparable in color to Nars Chihuahua lipgloss. I adore the color of that particular lipgloss, but it has little staying power and I HATE the stickiness of lipgloss (especially when my hair gets glued to my mouth lol).

I had a bunch of empty MAC containers and used them to get this and a few other lipsticks free through MAC recycling program. I just adore that program! This lipstick was a very good alternative. I also picked up MAC's Bare Again, as it was also a good color dupe. Neither are spot on, but they looked great. I think even better than the Nars lipgloss.

Right now I have the smallest little nub left on this lipstick. I am definitely looking forward to buying this again and again! :) I love MAC and I love this lipstick! :D

Is this review helpful? Yes No