October 24, 2014 | 1458 users online

Lipstick - MAC - Patisserie

rated 4.3(88 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 3/22/2013 9:05:00 AM More reviews by lilmi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Purchased for £14.

I totally agree with the reviewer below me.

After reading rave reviews on this product I decided to purchase it online (I'd have to travel all the way into London to visit my nearest MAC counter)

I was expecting a 'my lips but better' shade, the swatches looked promising etc.

Upon application, although the color itself is quite nice the chunks of glitter ruin it for me (we're not talking about subtle shimmer here but full on sparkles)

I tried wearing a light layer and then multiple layers but the issue still remained regardless.

The lipstick itself felt very drying and I don't mean in the 'it's a matte lipstick' sense. The longer I had it on, the dryer my lips felt and I constantly had to reach for the lip-balm. Even drug-store lipsticks haven't had that effect on me.

I gave it 2 lippies because I liked the packaging and the actual color minus the glitter, was nice.

All in all, I'm quite disappointed. I definitely wont be purchasing another MAC lipstick on a whim again.

If glitter is your thing, then you'll probably love this but if you're looking for a subtle, natural look I certainly recommend you test this lipstick out before purchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/17/2013 12:10:00 PM More reviews by uglybeautiful

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

My Patisserie is the result of a back-to-MAC operation. I usually research my purchases quite a lot before I make them, especially if we talk MAC, since it is so expensive here in Spain (a lipstick would be around $25). I remember that when I looked into it, although I didn’t spend that long reading reviews and looking at pictures, everybody seemed to agree that it was quite a universal nude pink shade with the slightest bit of shimmer so after trying the product on my hand the counter, I decided to give it a go. However, I knew at the back of mind this wouldn’t be the most successful back to Mac ever.
I do agree with those who say that this is a lovely nude pink that would work fine for people of my colouring (NC20-25), paler and also for somewhat deeper shades. I have to admit though that it is quite sheer for a luster finish. Both Hug Me and Syrup are in the same category and their pigmentation is much more opaque. Patisserie feels more like a Glaze to me, balmier and see-through. Here comes the bone of contention, though: THE SHIMMER!!! If you have read any of my other reviews, you will know where I am coming from. How can anybody say this lipstick has got very subtle shimmer? It simply does not. The lights at the counter had me completely fooled and I definitely should have known better since I have been buying make up for nearly 15 years. What was I thinking? This is not subtle at all. If you pack the colour on so that you have lipstick sitting literally on top of your lips, it may get camouflaged but otherwise it shows blatantly. Why can’t MAC, in this day and age, come up with a more minuscule type of glitter for lipsticks? The shimmer they use for most of their blushes is tinier than this one. Ok, different strokes, you may think, the glitter/shimmer will not be that noticeable, we already know you are a bit of a ‘hater’ anyway but let me ask you something: if you have a job where you are talking most of the time, where you do not have time to run to the toilet to reapply your lipstick and where you are facing clients one right after the other, it does not look very professional to have your lipstick completely eaten/worn off with just glitter remaining. Your lips may not look gritty but it just does not look good. To give you a better example, try the lipstick on your cheeks. I do this with Huge Me all the time and it looks wonderful. Patisserie is a great colour but the minute you start blending the product out, you can see lots of shimmer specks.
I didn’t ‘purchase’ this product but I certainly won’t be going back for it. I am sad I will just end up wearing it around the house for the sake of another back to MAC. However, if there was another colour like this without the glitter, I would buy it with my eyes closed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/13/2013 6:07:00 AM More reviews by Asti1234

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Patisserie is one of my favourite lippies ever. It's the one I choose when I don't know what to choose, if that makes sense? It's a beautiful pinky nude, doesn't wash me out, applies like a dream. I'm a huge fan of the lustre finish. I have two of these I love it so much. I can apply it without looking in a mirror which is a good thing in my eyes. I'm NC30 for reference. X

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/17/2013 3:31:00 PM More reviews by plumblush

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

This lipstick is the exact same color as my lips. So, I like to put on a bit of carmex and wear this to the gym or out to the grocery store to even out the color of my lips some. It has very small glitters in it that will hang around even after the color has worn off. It's no unpleasant looking, but neither is it particularly attractive. If you have dry lips at all, you will need to wear a balm underneath or a gloss on top. Also, the color wears off much more quickly than any other MAC lipstick that I own. So, all in all it's a nice lipstick, but not one that I would buy again given the fact that it dries out my lips and disappears within half an hour.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/5/2013 8:01:00 PM More reviews by alextuthreefour

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Personally, my favorite MAC lipstick. I'm actually quite new to MAC (the makeup artists there intimidate me)--but this summer I mustered up the courage and went in to purchase a lippie (Patisserie) and a blush (Warm Soul). Since then, I've acquired 3 more lipsticks, but Patisserie is still my favorite! I wanted a nice warm mauvy pink that was sheer. I didn't want Creme Cup or Angel because they seemed a little too blue-toned and Barbie pink for me and I wanted it to be sheer because I personally love sheer lippies, they are comfy on my lips, don't accentuate dryness, and the color can be built up.
I love MAC packaging, simple and sleek. And the price isn't too cringe-worthy. Still about ten dollars cheaper than other high end makeup such as tarte and NARS.

All in all, a beatiful, yet wearable pink color :D!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/14/2012 5:15:00 AM More reviews by Alexandra123Y

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Very nice lipstick even though I am more of a lip gloss type of girl. The shade is universally flattering in my opinion: would suit people with both warm and cool undertones.
It's beige-mauve neutral. Smells nice as most MAC lipsticks do. What's important it is doesn't dry out your lips. The finish is somewhat flossy and not very opaque. Don't blame the pigmentation, this type of finish is not meant to be opaque.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/2/2012 4:06:00 AM More reviews by liloomiah

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is MLBB lipstick. It is a pinkish nude color that looks so beautiful on my pigmented lips and suits my skintone. Patisserie looks very natural and pretty on me. I'd definitely re-purchase it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/21/2012 8:30:00 PM More reviews by libra4

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This was probably about the 12th shade I tried, but it was patience paid off. Shopping for nudes is always a challenge for me. Firstly, I have highly pigmented lips, so it's always a crap shoot as to what any shade will turn into once applied. Many "nudes" turn freakishly mauve / pink / silver, or what I call "glowy", and others are just flat and brown or grey. Secondly, I think people have different ideas of what they want in a "nude". I am never looking for what I call "the makeup counter look" - pale to nearly blotted out color, usually worn with a smoky eye and either a super-high shine (think Kim K. / porn star), or in a pretty heavy, matte coverage. On me, this just translates as "ghoul". When I want a nude, I want something close to MLBB - there can be an MLBB look that matches the darker, reddish-brown rose of my lips, and an MLBB which picks up the pinkish-rose, making my lips look a shade more pale, and dewy. Think delicately pretty. I was looking for the latter, and this does it.

For reference: I started out trying Hug Me. It was probably too "glowy". Politely Pink was a little too glowy / frosty, as were several more in that paler nude family. Twig was too reddish brown. Several of the darker shades read as too brown or grey. "Modesty" was nice - a little rosier and less dewey - and VGV was a very nice MLBB to go in the other direction and match up my reddish rose coloring. "Patisserie" is the perfect what I call "nude". It pretties my face up. I can see wearing it on a no-makeup day to just brighten my face up, for a subtle look for daytime (though not too built up, or it could go too frosty), and I think it's great for a date, for that naturally pretty, not too made up, appealing, *kissable* look (some guys can appreciate the *look* of stronger color or coverage, or a high shine, but few usually want to kiss it.) This lets a little of the natural lip texture show through, and adds some shimmer. It goes on with a nice, sheer feel. I could see it not lasting long, but I don't care. I'm happy to re-apply, and at 43, longer-lasting formulas are just too matte and drying for me. Your lips *would* have to be in good shape (chap-free) to wear this.

Conclusion: don't let highly-pigmented lips prevent you from trying this shade. Whether or not it will work will depend on the particular color of your lips - highly-pigmented will vary in color from one person to the next. It works beautifully for me. I am an NC 20/30, btw, with brown hair and hazel eyes.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/6/2012 6:00:00 PM More reviews by maypanda

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favourite Mac lipsticks, and on me, it looks a nice creamy pink, nothing too out there but it definitely adds to any look in my opinion. Like another reviewer(s) said, it is best to condition your lips because this lipstick does show the cracks and imperfections. Though other than that, it has your standard Mac Vanilla-ish scent, Black Bullet packaging, and price is £14.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/2/2012 7:24:00 PM More reviews by Menolikepolos

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Blue

About me: NW10-15 (neutral-cool toned, very fair), blue eyes, Color season is True Summer, Baumann Skin Type is OSPW.

Patisserie is my HG lipstick, it is a soft peachy pink. Looks great, just wish the wear was longer.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No