August 28, 2014 | 1519 users online

Eye Shadow - MAC - Paint Pot - All



image 0image 1

rated 4.5(51 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 7/24/2011 9:05:00 AM More reviews by nordavind

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have the paint pot in Fresco rose, which is a versatile, soft, slightly shimmery, pink. I like the concept and the shade range, but I think MAC could improve the formula of this product. I find it quite difficult to work with because it dries instantly on the lid (I don't have oily lids), so it is always a struggle to get a smooth result.
Unlike a lot of people, I wouldn't recommend this product as an eye primer, I find it totally useless at that task.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/28/2011 5:21:00 PM More reviews by mgfer

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been seeking an eye shadow that does not melt in my eyelids for years and finally I have found it!. I love paint pots! It is important to apply them with a good brush (I also use Macīs). Colours are great and they last all day, even on the beach. A big YES.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/27/2011 3:06:00 PM More reviews by thisfreakisalive

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

Now i got this in a sale so i was able to get it at a more affordable price, if you can look for it in a sale, 5g for the price is well worth it you get lots, i only have one paint pot but I'm in love i have other cream eyeshadow from benefit and Bobbi brown, I'm replacing all my powdered shadows with cream just because it is less mes, they last ages on the skin, I'm defiantly one of those women who have all there makeup in the long wear/waterproof category just because i don't want to have to worry about makeup or touch ups i want to be able to get on with my day,despite the fact thats its quiet expensive when ever i treat myself which is rare i will buy one or two depending on if there is a sale. her are no cons for me it last all day , no creasing its stays put until i take it off and the pigments and the shades are amazing, and you ca build depending on intensity and please if you use cream shadows start of with a little on the lid so it looks sheer and let it dry until you apply a second layer, do this and you should be fine i don't own eye primers because i have never had problems with cream shadows definatly would buy again i got mine in bare study

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/22/2011 4:53:00 AM More reviews by isina91

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I've had pain pots for more than a year now and, let me tell you, they're just amazing! i have 5 of them cause i use them as my everyday eye base or alone for ahint of colour on my eyelid! they do not crease at all! you can wear them for the whole entire day and the stay perfectly on your eyes! i love all the colours that mac made for these paint pots! i'm gonna buy Blackground as soon as i can!! They're buildable as well!! and last but not least they will last you forever!!! I'm gonna buy this product again for sure!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/20/2011 9:06:00 PM More reviews by debbrumb

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I have had mine for a few months and love it! I think the color is bare study and it is a light beige. It does take a few mins to dry so I put mine on before I get dressed and by the time it is dry I am ready for my darker shadow on the corner of my eyes. This definitely does brighten up my eyes. It is alot like the Rimmel one I got in Spain.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2011 7:05:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Paint pots were the first thing I purchased from MAC, specifically Rubenesque. There are a lot of cream eyeshadows in the market, but I have found MAC paint pots the best option. There's a variety of colors, with limited edition ones released as well. There are different finishes also. I have Rubenesque[peachy gold], Coral Crepe[coral-pink] and Indianwood[bronzey-brown] paint pot. I use these all on a regular basis and each color is unique. The pigmentation and quality of these creams blows every cream shadow I've tried out of the water. They don't crease as long as you don't over-apply. I even use Rubenesque as a face highlight in the summer and Coral Crepe as a blush. On a day when I need a quick makeup look I throw one of these on, mascara, concealer and I'm out the door. If you wanna buy something multi-use product, go for a paint pot. You can't go wrong with these.

Quick tip:
To prevent drying up make sure you close the cap tight and store the paint pot with the name of the color facing up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/13/2011 6:54:00 PM More reviews by EssBeeMe

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I love love love paint pots! I use Indianwood and Fresco Rose (now discontinued). Indianwood goes well with my skin tone and I can wear it alone all over my entire eyelid for an anytime shimmer or I can use it as a primer OR as the middle color for a dark-medium-light color trio. The Fresco Rose is a great pretty pinky-purple shade that goes well with daytime looks. As far as application, I just use my middle finger to warm the "paint" and take it out of the jar and i use my finger to apply it. LOVE IT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/15/2011 2:09:00 PM More reviews by findingeva

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I L.O.V.E paint pots, I've got 3 of them and they are amazing whether you use them on their own or as a base.
When you use them as a base however, make sure you add a bit of powder on your eye lids, which will soak up the oil and then apply the paint pot with a brush ( I use the EcoTools eye shadow brush, it's great and just the right size, also MAC 242 and 252 brush work well, but i prefer the EcoTool one) and then on top add your normal eye shadow powder, this technique will help your eye shadow last the whole day and night!!
I do find that if i don't apply the powder under the paint pot, then it tends to crease quite quickly.
I'll be a paint pot girl for life, and they last for a very very very long time which makes them well worth the money!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/1/2011 11:00:00 PM More reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

PROS: How fun is this? I like to be able to play with a different type of product. I get to bring out my nonexistant make up artist side when using this. This was okay as a base for my oily lids. Helped my eye shadow powder last a little bit longer.


CONS: It definitely takes practice in application and is not something I could just quickly slap on. I hear from many on here that it dries up quick in the pot and then you have to add visine or something. ? I've had mine for about a year and a half, and it's just barely starting to pull away from the sides of the jar, but it does not feel any different, consistency-wise.


APPLICATION TIPS: I took the advice of others about dabbing it when it started to move later on in the day, and it did help reset the lasting power for a while. For my N15 (leaning to NC) skin, the soft ochre was nice with a brightening, popping effect for my blue eyes. (Painterly was way too cool/pink on me.) I actually love to use this VERY lightly right under my lower lash line, on top of my concealer. It makes my concealer last forever. (I know. I know. It's odd. But it works so great for me.)


ALTERNATES: Maybelline Color Tattoo eyeshadows are similar and cheaper.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/23/2010 8:43:00 PM More reviews by VenessaG

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

Mac paint pots are really nice, a large variety of colors, blend-able, but I don't recommend them for oily eyelids. Since it creases so soon. The price is good, comes in a glass pot that I love. I also recommend you storing the paint pots from MAC upside down to prevent it drying from the corners. Overall great eye base. It just dries from the corners within time, something I don't like. Try samples before deciding to buy a full size one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No