September 30, 2014 | 1834 users online

Foundations - Meow Cosmetics - Pampered Puss Mineral Foundation



image 0

rated 4.1(110 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 77% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 8/13/2013 7:11:00 AM More reviews by FeralCreature

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

This is only a preliminary review since I just got my jar of Pampered Puss and have only used it for two days - but so far I am really pleased.

Firstly, about me: I have combination skin that is equally likely to be perfectly balanced, greasier than a deep fryer, or extremely parched and dull. I am often, but not always, able to keep this under control with my skin care routine but I like a foundation that can adapt. For the past 3 years I have been using Alima Satin Matte foundation - Neutral 1 was my best match - it is a bit too neutral for me BUT that helped it hide my red cheeks really well. As of my recent review of Alima, I was considering that my HG.

Now to Meow. What a HUGE selection of shades. It was overwhelming, truth be told, but I actually pulled the trigger without sampling foundatons - I had tried the Skinny Dippers and Sunplashers in a number of shades and used those plus the product descriptions to choose Sleek Bengal (cool beige, level 2). I risked getting the (GIANT) 30 gram jar because, well, they were having a really good sale. I swatched as soon as I it got home and knew I had a match as long as this wasn't one of those powders that oxidizes to a darker, or otherwise different, shade. So far, it stays the same from application to removal.

Application: I had to experiment a little on day 1. I found that by applying this dry I could achieve very light to moderate coverage, but anything beyong "light" took a lot of building and the dry application looks more matte than I would like. I also tried this "wet" (spritzed my foundation brush with witch hazel hydrosol before picking up the minerals) and found that it was still easily buildable and I could go as light or as heavy on the coverage as I want. So far, my preference is to apply wet until I get my desired coverage, then brush a little on dry as a finishing powder if I feel I need it. Making sure I moisturize well and doing at least one layer of the wet application I can get the dewy look I like with minimal effort.

For the two days I've worn this so far, it has stayed put through my work shift and looked *almost* freshly applied when I went to remove it - so with no primer and no finishing powder (just a spritz of hydrosol to set) that's about... 10 - 11 hours, though if I were going somewhere besides home after work there were a few spots I felt needed a slight touch up. I did blot about 2/3 of the way through work tonight even though I didn't really need it and about half of the usual amount of oil came off my face - BUT that could be my skin acting balanced and not the m/u.

So far, loving it, but too soon to tell if it will replace Alima as my HG. I'll be back to update!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/25/2013 4:03:00 AM More reviews by Ohsoohla

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Pampered puss is my favourite foundation. I've tried Flawless Feline also but it's a little too heavy.
PP is never cakey, no matter how much I apply. It works great with my oily skin, it's not completely matte and gives a very subtle dewy look which I really like.
I prefer to apply it with my TBS kabuki brush, 1-2 thin layers wet and 1 top layer dry cause applied this way it minimize my pores and last longer.
Lasting power is very good, up to 8 hours.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/21/2013 6:57:00 PM More reviews by Sk1nW0es

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I use this as a cover up for blemishes or scars. It's the only foundation that doesn't break me out. It has minimal and natural ingredients. The drawback is that it's sheer, so it's not going to make your skin look flawless if you have imperfections. It's also very matte so it may dry out your skin if you have already dry skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/8/2013 5:15:00 PM More reviews by jwhisper

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have only been wearing foundation since I turned 30 but I've made a lot of mistakes and have been walking around town with orange face or white face and everything in between, but I finally found out what it means to find a matching shade. I got a bunch of samples from Meow and one of their colors literally disappeared into my skin. I thought something was wrong because there was no visible streak of color, but it turned out it was the perfect shade. I don't think that has ever happened before. Mind blown.

I have very sensitive greasy skin, and I haven't had any breakouts. Pampered Puss is supposed to be medium coverage and I think I could use a little more but it's layerable. I like that it doesn't feel heavy, or like I'm wearing anything at all. I use the matching concealer to cover up the persistent dark spots and I feel natural and even toned. Not flawless, but I have bumpy textured skin and this is not a magic potion, so I don't expect miracles. I am really happy with my purchase and the little Munchkin jar should last me a long time, even with daily wear. I highly recommend it.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/24/2013 2:28:00 PM More reviews by TranquilTurtle

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I really like this stuff, this is the only mineral makeup I've tried and I don't plan on buying any others. it has layer able coverage and works well with the concealer to hide any blemishes or redness if needed. it looks very natural and is light weight, can't even feel it on my skin like when I was using liquid foundations. They have a shade that will match any skin tone, though it does take some trial and error to find the perfect one. One of the main reasons I tried this is because it's a lot cheaper then getting mineral makeup from MAC or Micabella, definitely recommend this if you are looking for a natural look with light to medium coverage.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/10/2013 1:29:00 PM More reviews by Mom2Free

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I absolutely love this stuff! I have tried Bare Minerals, Everyday Minerals, Signature Minerals, Lucy Minerals, and Lumiere. This is my favorite by far.

Pros - does not break me out, looks very natural, feels like you're not wearing anything, LOTS of shade options, they sell samples, it does not settle in fine lines, lasts throughout the day

Cons - shipping takes forever, products have cutesy cat names which is just annoying, no locking feature on foundation jars so not travel friendly, so many color options it may be overwhelming at first

If you want full coverage, this is probably not the one for you.
Personally, I prefer light to medium coverage and this fits the bill. I have and will continue to repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/17/2013 9:00:00 PM More reviews by bixbailey

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

After having used full coverage loose mineral for years, I accidentally purchased the Pampered formulation–but am glad I did. This really does not offer great coverage and I end up using a lot of product to build it up...that said, it has a much more natural appearance than the Flawless and wears better throughout the day. It can be a bit chalky in texture–would be nice if it was smoother–but the color selection is excellent and I've never had any problems with breakouts from Meow products. Docking points for the super slow shipping, coverage (should be a taaaad better), and texture. Otherwise, I've repurchased and will use until I find something better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/4/2013 2:23:00 PM More reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'm looking for a mattifying full coverage loose foundation for my acne-prone skin that also has a lot of hyperpigmentation and redness along with scars...


My shades are; NC/NW 15, in Everyday minerals I wear Linen and Fairly light neutral, in Lily Lolo I wear Blondie. Mad minerals: Fairly light. In meow's I think that Frisky Abyssinian and Frisky Siamese seemed to be good matches (but I can also wear the sleek shades on some areas).



Coverage is really, really poor and hard to build up! This ( and the flawless feline) also contains small GLITTERY particles - you can't see them with the eye on the face, but they make the whole impression less matte!! And my extremely oily acne skin...glitter is the last thing I need... So when it comes to foundations with very, very light coverage I'd rather go for Lily Lolo instead of this, cause it's completely matte and makes the pores look smaller. (Unless you have normal or dry skin of course).



No, I really need much, much more full coverage and to be able to put it on quite quick in the morning... Until now Mad minerals have the heaviest coverage and the most matte result for my skin (along with my old EDM).

But really good shade options and really, really nice costumer service!! I still like this company... Next to review is the flawless feline. :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/23/2013 8:40:00 PM More reviews by exxxotic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My skin is combination, and I am prone to breakouts....All of my facial cleansing products, moisturizers, etc. were switched to Organic, and BOOM, clear skin! Literally within a week! I haven't had any breakouts in months, just minor clogging. The only part of my beauty regimen that I knew needed changing was my makeup. The one I was using previously was not working, it was store bought, and let's face it, everything is loaded with chemicals, and fillers. I seem to be allergic to EVERYTHING!!! Most mineral powder foundations give me hives, and liquid, or cream break me out. Also, I can NEVER find a color to match my complexion. So I went on a search for something that would work on my reactive skin, cover my scars from previous breakouts, and not break me out with pimples, or give me hives! I'm obsessed, OBSESSED, with this foundation! At first I ordered samples, but I was still hesitant on the coverage, and wondering if it would be worth it. My skin reacted well to the samples (hence didn't react! ahah), so I figured, why not. The color that matched me was Naughty Korat, so I ordered the full size, along with the Naughty Korat concealer. Together they are perfect!!! Once my unsightly scars go away...(probably another three months...it literally takes half a year!) I wont even need the concealer. I'm impressed to the point I want to cry. Finally I can feel beautiful again! Thank you Meow Cosmetics <3 Some people might think it's a pain to go through ordering samples and finding your perfect match, but to me it was worth it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/15/2013 11:02:00 PM More reviews by luverchick

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Hazel

at last a make up that doesnt irritate or clog my pores! i have searched and wasted so much time and money with other make up brands and finally my search is over! I do have to admit that it is quite a journey finding the right shade for yourself because there are so many choices.....all my live i thought i was a yellow skin type because it was always pink or yellow undertones....with this foundation i was able to find out i am a yellow neutral peachy kind of tone....haha! it took some mixing and matching and i finally found the combination for me is frisky siamese and naughty manx or ambyssian! the cat named foundation colors does get overwhelming at first but it is all worth it for clear skin! the only negative i would say is that if you apply this all crazy a huge powder cloud will have you all choked up....be careful not to constantly inhale this stuff...anyways...i wuld suggest for a mixture between the flawless feline and pampered puss for the perfect consistancy because the flawless feline alone might get a bit too powdery if not applyed just right.....and let me jsut say that all mineral make up is not the same!!! this was the only one that didnt break me out one bit....Everyday Minerals broke me out like crazy! All in all i really like this company and i hope they never go out of business because i dont want to ever have to look for make up good enough for my skin ever again

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No