NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella

4.4

61 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

c12 13 Alkyl Ethylhexanoate, Candelilla Cera (Euphorbia Cerifera Wax), Polyethylene, Cyclomethicone, Phenyltrimethicone, Silica, Dimethicone, Sucrose Acetate Isobutyate, Hydrogenated Coco Glycerides, Di Calcium Phosphate, Quaternium 18 Hectorite, Propylene Carbonate, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Aroma (Flavor), Lecithin, Tocopherol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Citric Acid, May Contain ( /-): Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, 77492, 77499), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Manganese Violet (CI 77742), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 30 (CI 73360), Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005), Red 6, Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410), Red 22 Lake (CI 45380), Carmine (CI 75470), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163)


on 4/6/2014 11:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I was in the mood to expand my Nars collection so I decided to get Nars Cruella. I am a NC 45 (Black Opal Truely Topaz), but a NC 50 (Black Opal Hazelnut) in the Summer. I'm not gonna lie, if you wear this lipstick, prepare to be noticed! Like woah! I love how this red lipstick really excuates my kissing-thick lips because it is an amazingly perfect shade of red. And it brightens everything! My eyes, my skin, my teeth, everything! And it makes me feel like a sexy, confidant, woman. I can see why this is a staple for many black women. You can wear it no matter the season or weather and it'll still look great.

By the way, it's close to Mac's Ruby Woo, but the texture is so much better. It also has a lot of staying power, clunging to your lips like a toddler does her mother's skirt. If you're thinking about getting it...get it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 12/29/2013 8:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, I am very much into red, burgandy ect and this was the BEST lip pencil I have ever used. I pair it up with MAC's lip liner in Kiss Me Quick and it lasts a good 5 hours. You do need your lips to be in good shape but other than that, the matte finish is to DIE for and it tastes like cherries! The colour is deep and very pigmented. I'm in love with this product and would definitely buy again. The packaging is alright, the only downside is that you have to sharpen it..If you look past that, it is a quality product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/29/2013 2:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Absolutely fantastic lip pencil! The colour is a neutral, darker red colour and the formula of these are amazing. Very creamy, lasts forever but they are also super matte and do not make my lips dry at all. One annoying thing about this pencil (and I assume all of the other lip pencils by NARS) is that the cap has a tendency to trap air and therefore be pushed off by the pressure and so the cap has fallen off and made an absolute mess of my purse more than once.... Really beautiful colour and formulation but I hope they fix the packaging but for now, best not to take it on the go!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/10/2013 4:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love love love cruella. Deep true red - absoloutely sexy! Easy to apply, minimal feathering and minimal transfer. Could be more moisturising but hey, its a matte lipstick. Would totally buy again.xoxo

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/29/2013 11:16:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love it! Deep build-able matte red that doesn't dry my lips out and lasts forever.


on 10/31/2013 3:10:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had Cruella for a long time but rediscovered it today. I received so many compliments on this lip color. I forgot how much I love it. I'd say Cruella is a perfect neutral red on me. The matte finish along with the beautiful rich color, it's stunning. Without looking overdone/garish. I have a lot of reds but if I had to go down to one I'd be okay with only Cruella.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NARS Cruella - where the frick have you been all my life?!

I wasn't really a lipstick girl. I was more into black eyeliner and foundation, and that was it. I liked the look of red lips but I wasn't sure then that I had the right attitude for it, yet I had a very brief stint with trying to find the perfect red for me without looking like I ate some bloody animal carcass. And so I forgot all about red lipstick and slowly added more cosmetics to my daily makeup.

Then at 21, I got fixated again on red lipstick. And I found NARS Cruella. Or rather, Cruella found me, and I was a goner.

I do color outside the lip line when I use NARS velvet matte pencils, and just shape it when I'm finished using YSL Touche Eclat. I thought it might look a bit much for daytime, but when I thought, "Who cares? I'm going to rock it." I knew that I was ready to take on red lipstick.

Oh, NARS Cruella you life-changer you.


on 6/22/2013 10:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This one is no good. Iı is extremely drying. I love the retro matte finish and I know that it is not the most comfortable lipstick formula out there but Cruella is just too challenging. I have other Velvet matte pencils and it surprised me that it doesn't live up to my expectations as the other ones did. Color is very beautiful,and it's packed with pigment.It doesn't stay on my lips for too long because it feels beyond uncomfortable and immediately settles into lip lines and gives a horrible cracked look. Two lippies for the color and softness during application.I can only wear this with a heavy balm underneath which destroys the point of wearing matte lipstick. Guerlain Rouge Automatique in shade Liu a very close color with a glossy finish. I will stick with that one when my desired result is a more glossy lip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/18/2013 11:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

Damn, baby.

I would describe this color as halfway between red and bordeaux. Maroon but not as intense. Neutral.

I wish I could pull off red lips and to be honest I kind of can. But for years I worried I wasn't the type of person who could wear it with total, scary confidence. Because there is something about a girl who can pull off red lipstick. She needs to be confident because the color is so polarizing. She needs to be effortless and shrewd enough to wear the lipstick and not have the lipstick wear her. She isn't a girl. She's a woman. And if you don't like red lipstick you can go fuck yourself because she's not wearing it for you. Cruella, for me, is just that. It's the first non-drugstore red I bought and it looks mean, sexy, dangerous and bloody. It's the first time I wore a red lipstick and didn't think about wearing it if you know what I mean. It's so sexy. It's almost XXX. It's like fishnet stockings on your mouth. However, it holds such timeless elegance. It evokes the flapper with her cropped hair and the dip in the back of her dress. Sitting at the table, a glass in her hand, her boyfriend trailing her spine with his knuckle, all while smoke curls around her head like a halo. Lawd have mercy.

The formulation is really great. I usually buy matte lipsticks but always blot them down and put a balm on them so that they look like the natural color of my lips. I really can't blot this down because it's so pigmented and light. There isn't anything to take off. And why would I want to? It's non drying and on days when I feel my lips beginning to parch I just treat them with coconut oil at night (see my review on Jack Black balm for instructions on the perfect lip balm combo.) I apply and done. I don't use a lip brush but that's only because I don't have one. I would recommend using it for perfection. I've worn this for three hours tops and it's stayed. I don't know if reapplication is necessary after that. I only wish it were a teeeeeny bit more moisturizing. It's already such fabulous products but I'm greedy and makeup is crazy competitive so they can make it work. The packaging is beautiful but I wish this came in a tube because I reallyreallyhellahate sharpening pencils of any kind, especially lip pencils.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2013 8:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I absolutely live this shade if red. It last for hours and does not feather. I have girls who will stop me and ask What lipstick am I wearing and they live how it makes my lips look. I can wear it yo wirk for meetings and nor feel like its an inappropriate shade. I feel like I've searched for the perfect red and I have finally found it!! I want to buy more as I'm worried it'll either be too popular and hard to find or it will be discontinued like the Fire Down Below shade I believe made famous by Celebrities like Selena who was Mexican like me.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Sephora VIB ROUGE/Beauty Insider Birthday Gift 2015 by Orange mint Pop

Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
image

Exhibit A

358 reviews
Back to Top