December 19, 2014 | 1731 users online

Lips - NARS - Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Cruella



image 0image 1

rated 4.4(54 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 6/22/2013 10:47:00 AM More reviews by nekroze

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This one is no good. I─▒ is extremely drying. I love the retro matte finish and I know that it is not the most comfortable lipstick formula out there but Cruella is just too challenging. I have other Velvet matte pencils and it surprised me that it doesn't live up to my expectations as the other ones did. Color is very beautiful,and it's packed with pigment.It doesn't stay on my lips for too long because it feels beyond uncomfortable and immediately settles into lip lines and gives a horrible cracked look. Two lippies for the color and softness during application.I can only wear this with a heavy balm underneath which destroys the point of wearing matte lipstick. Guerlain Rouge Automatique in shade Liu a very close color with a glossy finish. I will stick with that one when my desired result is a more glossy lip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/18/2013 11:50:00 AM More reviews by Rumrumrum

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Black

Damn, baby.

I would describe this color as halfway between red and bordeaux. Maroon but not as intense. Neutral.

I wish I could pull off red lips and to be honest I kind of can. But for years I worried I wasn't the type of person who could wear it with total, scary confidence. Because there is something about a girl who can pull off red lipstick. She needs to be confident because the color is so polarizing. She needs to be effortless and shrewd enough to wear the lipstick and not have the lipstick wear her. She isn't a girl. She's a woman. And if you don't like red lipstick you can go fuck yourself because she's not wearing it for you. Cruella, for me, is just that. It's the first non-drugstore red I bought and it looks mean, sexy, dangerous and bloody. It's the first time I wore a red lipstick and didn't think about wearing it if you know what I mean. It's so sexy. It's almost XXX. It's like fishnet stockings on your mouth. However, it holds such timeless elegance. It evokes the flapper with her cropped hair and the dip in the back of her dress. Sitting at the table, a glass in her hand, her boyfriend trailing her spine with his knuckle, all while smoke curls around her head like a halo. Lawd have mercy.

The formulation is really great. I usually buy matte lipsticks but always blot them down and put a balm on them so that they look like the natural color of my lips. I really can't blot this down because it's so pigmented and light. There isn't anything to take off. And why would I want to? It's non drying and on days when I feel my lips beginning to parch I just treat them with coconut oil at night (see my review on Jack Black balm for instructions on the perfect lip balm combo.) I apply and done. I don't use a lip brush but that's only because I don't have one. I would recommend using it for perfection. I've worn this for three hours tops and it's stayed. I don't know if reapplication is necessary after that. I only wish it were a teeeeeny bit more moisturizing. It's already such fabulous products but I'm greedy and makeup is crazy competitive so they can make it work. The packaging is beautiful but I wish this came in a tube because I reallyreallyhellahate sharpening pencils of any kind, especially lip pencils.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/12/2013 8:54:00 PM More reviews by Yolamed

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I absolutely live this shade if red. It last for hours and does not feather. I have girls who will stop me and ask What lipstick am I wearing and they live how it makes my lips look. I can wear it yo wirk for meetings and nor feel like its an inappropriate shade. I feel like I've searched for the perfect red and I have finally found it!! I want to buy more as I'm worried it'll either be too popular and hard to find or it will be discontinued like the Fire Down Below shade I believe made famous by Celebrities like Selena who was Mexican like me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/15/2013 10:05:00 PM More reviews by snowglow

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

The truest of true blood reds. Doesn't pull too cool or too warm, and it will not turn fuchsia on cool toned ladies. For such an intense color, application is a breeze and the color stays true and stays put. Unlike virtually every MAC red, Cruella does not require a lipliner underneath. It remains my favorite color to pair with a high bun, flawless dewy skin, simple eyes, and sunglasses for easy weekend glamor. I am so grateful to Franšois Nars for creating this masterpiece.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/22/2013 9:42:00 PM More reviews by NKS

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have very little confidence wearing red lipstick - I think it looks fabulous on other people and have always felt a little envious of their confidence to carry off such a vibrant colour. But I'm also a closet red lipstick/gloss junkie and have bought so many variations from so many places including YSL, Tom Ford, Bobbi Brown's Red Carpet, MAC's Ruby Woo and Lady Bug, and goodness knows how many lip glosses from Mary Kay, Armani, Laura Mercier, Dior and Chanel. When I'm experimenting with looks before a night out or upcoming events, I quite often settle on a red lipstick look the night before and chicken out minutes before stepping out. I thought I'd found the solution when I discovered the Clinique Chubby Sticks - both the original and intense variety - and although great, are very much like coloured lip balm with the texture and finish that goes with it.

My main problem has been applying it neatly to the corners of my lips and v bit of my upper lip - on me, red lipsticks leave no room for error otherwise it spoils the entire look. I've tried lip liners (including a clear one), applying them with lip brushes of various types, finishing by going round the outsides of my lips with concealer, etc,etc,etc but I can't get a neat outline without several attempts. My other worry is the amount of transfer from red lipsticks and the unsightly red smudges it can leave if I accidentally brush my mouth with my hand and also the dreaded worry of getting it on my teeth. I've seen it happen on other people and it makes me apprehensive.

Cruella solves a multitude of problems. It has a more solid consistency on application - like the ideal balance between lipstick and lip liner giving more control over how it's applied. It's soft enough that it doesn't drag over lips like lip liners do though. The chunky pencil makes for easier handling. I though it would be tricky in the corners because the tip was too thick but it's absolutely fine. I find it easier to 'draw' rather than apply with a lip brush or straight out the tube (because once the tip of a new lipstick has worn down, it gets trickier to apply with a shapeless end without a brush).

The colour is phenomenal and so flattering. I bought it because the MUA was wearing it and she was ivory fair with bright blue eyes and dark hair but convinced me it would suit me with my asian skin tones, black hair and brown eyes. I have a darker natural hue to my lips so on me it comes out a deep scarlet and the extremely matte tone gives it a professional and sexy edgy. There is very little transfer after applying - there were no deeply coloured lip marks left on glasses. The staying power is something that needs to be tried to be believed - I went for a meal after work having touched it up once after lunch whilst there, and during dinner I dabbed my lips a few times and saw colour on the napkin - when I went to the bathroom, I expected the colour to be gone but it wasn't!. Perhaps slightly faded but still completely even.

Teamed with black liquid or gel eyeliner and retro flicks, this gives an instant glamorous look that is definitely good enough for a night out and I'm even brave enough to start wearing to work. I've had lots of compliments on it and it's made me so much braver to try out other red colours. Now the other ladies at work have started asking about 'that matte lipstick' and I've been spreading the word.

I appreciate the gripe about sharpening the pencil and losing product but I personally find having a point easier to work with in terms of application so I'll run with it. The lid definitely becomes a little loose over time and I wish the had a cap that clicks on like Dior eyeliners do. The one other thing I noticed and it goes for all the matte lip pencils by NARS - they can be a little drying and after removing it along with the rest of my makeup, I find that my lips are a little tingly - nothing that smudge of lip balm doesn't fix.

I am so glad I found this product and it will remain a staple in my makeup collection for a good while. At the moment, I don't think many other lip colours can rival its shade, texture, finish and staying power.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/8/2013 6:44:00 PM More reviews by vgirlygirl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

Love this red. Blue-based, creamy, doesn't require a lipliner, and has good staying power. I love the pencil consistency because it's more like a moisturizing lipstick rather than a drying pencil. Looks great when I'm anywhere between NC25-NC35.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/17/2012 9:11:00 AM More reviews by OMGURTEEF

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I probably would repurchase this because a. it's a gorgeous color, b. it's a great matte red shade, and c. it doesn't feather, bleed, or fade in any bizarre way.
The packaging leaves a lot to be desired. In a world where those dreadful Tarte Lipsurgence crayons can have a twist-up design, one might imagine that another lip crayon at the same price point with far superior quality would follow suit. I can deal with having to sharpen a less expensive product, but when I drop $25 on any product, I don't any of it to be wasted. At all. This would be my only road block in terms of repurchasing this lip color.
The color itself is so wonderfully glamorous and chic. I love the true matte finish (not like the Bite pencils which are more of a satin finish than matte) and it works so well against my skin tone. I feel like a classic film star when I'm wearing this.
The staying power is superb. I didn't think it would be because the Train Blue (or however it's spelled) color faded and bled horribly within a couple hours of trying it on. This one doesn't do that at all. It stays beautifully within my lip line, leaving a gorgeous sharp border and perfect definition. I don't need liner or lip primer underneath. I just swipe this beauty on and I'm good to go.
It can be a tad drying, but I always prep my lips with plenty of moisture before applying. I rub in coconut oil until it absorbs, then a lot of lip balm, let it seep in, then blot the balm off and apply the color. Perfect!
All in all, I'd say the product itself is fantastic. I just hope they give the packaging a makeover so less product is wasted.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/8/2012 9:28:00 PM More reviews by sarahmascara

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I have been admiring "Cruella" on a friend of mine and, put off by the price tag, I went in search of a drug store dupe that was cheaper. However, I failed to find one that had the staying power of NARS. This stuff STAYS PUT on my lips, which is a huge deal, because I am not exceptionally careful when wearing lipstick and I am always smudging it. This stuff is magnificent. Great color, great application, even the fact that it is matte and therefore "dry" doesn't bother my prone-to-chapping-lips.

I will probably buy this again, but will need to start saving up... At twenty-four bucks a pop, these are not cheap!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/2/2012 4:34:00 AM More reviews by fictionalize

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

As other reviewers have noted, the shade is very flattering on my fair-medium, roughy NC30 skin. I find it very similar to MAC's Russian Red, my first proper red lipstick and a color I truly love. The formula is definitely better than MAC's--it's still matte, and therefore drying and a little difficult to apply, but it emphasizes flakes much less than Russian Red IMO. It doesn't bleed and really lasts ages, and survives snacking/tea drinking on me but not a full meal. I'm not a huge fan of the pencil-like packaging. Though it does make application a bit easier on the go, I tend to use a lip brush for greater precision anyway. What I don't like about it is having to sharpen it quite often, which wastes a lot of the product :(

I like this a lot, but because of the high price for a small amount of product, of which a lot is wasted, I don't think I would repurchase. It's a gorgeous, glamorous shade, but undoubtedly dupe-able and I think I'll explore other options once I'm done with this.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/21/2012 4:10:00 PM More reviews by EternityintheRain

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Just like it's namesake, this lip color is the perfect balance of modern and classic, elegant and fun, and vibrant yet subdued. I'm fairly new to red lipstick and as much as I love a bright lip, on me red can make me feel self conscious and awkward as I feel it shows off negatively my wide mouth and full lips. I was looking for a color to wear on special occasions, "low maintenance", and most of all, flatters my skin tone. I tried this out at Sephora and loved it. It filled all the tabs.

When swatched it looks like a perfectly neutral red but on me it looks exactly like the color of red delicious apples. It shows off my mouth area in the best way possible, makes my teeth look even more gorgeous, and makes my drowsy eye area look sharp and bright. It makes me look and feel sexy. I'm told I usually have a sweet, gullible look to my expression. People have stopped to gawk, point, awe, and compliment when I wear it. I feel amazing when I wear it. I really felt like I'd imagined Cruella felt in the 101 Dalmantions series and movies...just plain unstoppable, glamorous, and fabulously fabulous. I'm a MAC NC42 and NC 45 in the Summer (right now) and it looks great. You cannot do wrong with this product. In fact, if you're a makeup newbie (maybe even a progressive makeup dummy like me) you will not, cannot fail. I sometimes abhor the packaging, as you have to sharpen it, but I also think that helps to have a better control of the color and apply the color beautifully. You don't need a lip brush, a lip liner, maybe a sealer or anything like that. A sharpener and some lip gloss and you will be in the bridge to gorgeous yet simple perfection. For me it is my staple when I want to glam up with no effort.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No