October 21, 2014 | 2006 users online

Treatments (Face) - Polysporin



image 0

rated 4.5(61 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 90% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 11/29/2011 7:53:00 PM More reviews by meaghanrichards

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I love love love this stuff. It's a staple in my medicine cabinet. Even though I know it's horrible to do I still find myself picking pimples occasionally, and when I do this is the only thing that helps them heal fast and without scarring.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 11/26/2011 4:31:00 PM More reviews by JamaicanWhitie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I bought this after reading the reviews about this working as a spot treatment for pimples. Well I just recently got THE worst pimple EVER and I needed something to get rid of it and FAST. Used this for three days and NOTHING. Not only that but it made the pimple more red and all flaky and dried up.. I'm not sure about healing pimples so it might work for you if you use it for that reason.... but for me it sucks!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/22/2011 8:18:00 PM More reviews by Caydrey

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Polysporin does work in my case, i've tried SO MANY products and remedies for my skin, but none of them seem to work.. But i came across Polysporin in a desperate need to clean up my skin, and it's definately working. I dont have much anymore, nothing my makeup won't cover. It's wway mooore appealing and i dont look at myself & think Bleh!

There's two positives to this product,
ONE. it does help an active pimple and prevent scarring. That's a plus.
TWO. Before applying makeup I put on polysporin and it evens out the look basically. so it's not so cakey, and more smooth. it works. you'd have to try it to see if it works best for your skin too! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/23/2011 2:49:00 AM More reviews by hahalalawheee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

HG product! Best used when you've just popped a pimple, leaving a bloody mess on your skin. And when you've just torn through your skin as you squeezed out a blackhead. First wash the wounds with only water, or use a minimum-ingredient cleanser like Vichy Calming Cleansing Solution. Massage this in for a few minutes. Leave it alone. It does feel oily for several hours, but it's all worth it when it leaves your skin healed. Squeezing blackheads and popping a pimple can lead to pits/depressions/holes in your skin. They may turn out to be permanent. Polysporin, when used immediately, pretty much will prevent that scarring since it provides a ton of moisturization (it contains white petrolatum) and infection-fighting ingredients.


I've used Polysporin on this squeezed out blackhead that was MASSIVE. There was some blood, since I've basically torn apart some of my epidermis. There used to be a hole. I massaged in a huge amount of Polysporin, and there's no permanent hole. In a few days, it will look like nothing's happened there.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/20/2010 4:12:00 AM More reviews by alixxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I have generally good skin, but products and hormones cause the odd breakout. I use Saje products as a daily (Zit Zapper) and when I have a few zits, I after the initial breakout I alternate with polysporin and sudocrem as a spot treatment.

After I shower I simply rub some of this on leave it on for a couple hours, wipe it off and moisturize.
I swear by polysporin and sudocrem, which is great because they're both common household items and are great for other purposes (cuts, burns, rashes, ect.) and are totally within my college student budget. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/27/2010 11:06:00 PM More reviews by poivre27

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Besides its use for cuts and small burns, like others have mentioned, this is great for pimples. I use the Polysporin triple antibiotic which has polymycin B sulfate 0.13%, bacitracin zinc 0.79% and gramicidin 0.03%.

I have just a few active (but healing) acne blemishes due to makeup that broke me out. I used this on the pimples and they healed much quicker than they would without polysporin. One thing I really hate is that dry ring that forms around a pimple when you wear makeup just to cover up that pimple (especially if you've used a drying agent such as benzoyl peroxide). When you use polysporin over the pimple it minimizes and pretty much makes that dryness disappear under the makeup. This should only be used as a spot treatment 1-3 times a day or a couple of times only if your entire face is red and dried out.

I am also taking a topical antibiotic for acne (clindamycin) so I use polysporin under the antibiotic, but use it over top of the antibiotic cream for the 2nd or 3rd daily spot treatmenet.

It cost me about $10 at wal-mart.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/4/2010 10:12:00 PM More reviews by dorilob

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The absolute best at healing breakouts. It diminshes redness and heals. It can't be beat!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/19/2010 1:13:00 PM More reviews by sunshowers

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This really does heal cuts and abrasions, any sort of break in the skin, much faster and with less scarring. In the last year the skin on my cheeks started breaking out with small hard, inflamed bumps. They were itchy and sometimes painful, and not pretty! There was no pus or anything in them (pardon the grossness) so they definitely weren't pimples. And they seemed to last forever, flaring up repeatedly. Makeup irritated them more so I gave up trying to cover them up. All I could do was wear sunscreen religiously throughout the summer to keep them from turning into darkened scars. I couldn't figure out what was going on with my skin and it was steadily getting worse.


After googling my symptoms on the internet, I realized it could be a form of rosacea, treatable with topical antibiotic cream. I could go to the doctor to get a prescription, but then I thought of good old polysporin and wondered if that would work. I bought some a few weeks ago and began applying a thin layer every morning and every night. The difference its made is amazing. My skin has completely calmed down. There is no more pain or itching and I can hardly feel where the bumps used to be. The dark red angry splotches that had remained for months at a time are healing into pinkish splotches. I wish I had thought of polysporin sooner!

Update: Due to several months of high stress and lack of proper sleep caused by work, my skin has been freaking out. I had itchy inflamed red bumps on my cheeks and anything I put on my face seemed to aggravate my skin more. I remembered that Polysporin had helped in the past. This time I bought the cream version because the ointment is quite oily and you can wear the cream under makeup. The improvement was immediate. A day later, the inflammation was gone and the red spots were healing. It's been a few days now and my skin is looking much, much better. Polysporin will keep things under control until I can get to a dermatologist and get prescription treatment for my rosacea.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/26/2010 4:47:00 PM More reviews by dw4518

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

let down. feels like vaseline. did nothing for my big cyst.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/15/2010 4:14:00 PM More reviews by sarahlen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I never usually get huge breakouts but when I do I really pick and try and pop them which leads to scabs and scars. Well I recently got one and of course it just turned into an open sore on my face so bad I really didnt want to leave the house, So i decided to search top pick under unlisted brand to see if there were any home remedies. I treid hydrogen peroxide to clean it which was amazing and then i found reviews for this which I knew I had in with my band-aids somewhere. I tried it and i can say it really does live up to hype, it really helped heal it. the next morning after putting this on and adding a little bit of vitamin e oil the night before, I woke up with a little tiny dry patch and significantly smaller spot where before it was all swelled up, bright red and a large mark.
Although I don't like petroleum based products, it is one prodcut that actually does what it says it will (heal wounds) which is more than you can say for most beauty products out there. now im gonna allways have a tube on hand for emergencies

Is this review helpful? Yes No