July 30, 2014 | 1182 users online

Tinted Moisturizer - Merle Norman - Luxiva Sheer Defense Tinted Moisturizer



image 0image 1

rated 4.2(65 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 11/2/2010 7:16:00 PM More reviews by kanka999

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I gave this 3 lippies because for the price, I wanted to love it and I just didn't. I think if it were cheaper, I would have just kept it but after wearing it for a few days, I wasn't all that impressed and so returned it. I was matched to ML30 which looked dark but on was an OK match for my NC20 skin. I just kind of felt like I looked dirty...maybe splotchy is a better word. I could feel it on my skin too. I didn't expect full coverage, but like I said after paying $36 and some change, I wanted it to be a HG and it just wasn't. I will have to say that it spread very nicely. I just purchased Aveeno's TM and am liking it so far and it was less than half of MN. I'll update on that one in a few days.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/2/2010 6:48:00 PM More reviews by gurululu

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I will have to update about its longterm effects on my skin, but as a new user, I have to say I am impressed so far. I have worn Clinique Almost makeup for years. I never appreciated its lack of staying power, but never could find another light makeup that didn't accentuate lines and, most importantly, had a true neutral undertone. I am a mut with some pink, some yellow/ olive undertones. When I wipe the almost makeup on a piece of white tissue, I see neutral beige / brownish color. For some reason, neutral tones bring out the best combination of undertones and hide my lines best. Although I haven't been in the sun for 10 years and am very fair (lighter than 10 in Mac), the ML30 in this line is the neutral color that immediately sunk into my skin. It looks brown on tissue, just like my old Clinque, but melts into my complexion perfectly because of its neutral tones. my neck is as white as a sheet of paper but you can't see the contrast. I checked the website and ML30 is the only (n) neutral color of the 7 listed. So the owner of this MN store in Summit NJ, really listened to me when I said I want a neutral color even though she was tempted to give me the lightest color. So far, this lasted much longer over my very rich sunblock (LRP Lait) with some loose powder from Clinique, no fine lines, no settling into pores, no lines of demarcation even on my fair skin, evened my skin tone, but did not make my perfection look completely flawless. It goes on creamy yet has a very natural light finish that is not shiny, glowy or greasy. The loose powder sits over it nicely and doesn't cake up. However, it is October here and not very humid. Let's hope this does as well in the hot, humid, summers. I also like the extra titamium (physical) spf over my chemical LRP. It gives me a sense of security in the case that the chemical block dissipates without me knowing.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/6/2010 3:46:00 PM More reviews by sadie324

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

Like everyone else said, great tm! I LOVE it! this was my first foundation of any kind, and I've been using it ever since! this wonderful and works great for even a teens skin! ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/28/2010 3:54:00 PM More reviews by caymen

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was my product of choice for years, I loved it. I provided fantastic coverage, yet allowed my skin to show through. I never had so many compliments on my skin as when I wore MN tinted morturizer, people tended to think I was not wearing make up, a plus to me. I have combination, sensitive skin with rosacea and it was still perfect. It wore well. The color line was limited but I worked with it by having two shades, a summer and winter and mixing the rest of the year. No big deal for the perfect foundation.
Unfortunately when they expanded their color line they also added a full spectrum sunscreen, before it had only be UVA, now it breaks me out every time I try to wear it. It still looks great but I cannot tolerate it. I am now in search of a suitable replacement. I am so sad that MN messed up the perfect product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/7/2010 4:11:00 PM More reviews by viiixxxen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

If I could, i would certainly give this 10 lippies! I've been using this for 3-4 years now, and I absolutely love it so much that even thought I cant get Merle Norman in my country, I ask for my aunt who lives in Canada to send this to me (one bottle a year, if I use it everyday, so the price pays of really nicely).

First of all, must say I have oily, acne prone skin, my shade in MAC is NW20 and I use this TM in the color "nude", which is a perfect match. It gives you more coverage than most tinted moisturizers and a very natural finish (matte in the right areas, like my nose and chin, but still is dewy in the cheek area, just that "natural glow" sort of thing). It usually last for me around 8 hours in the summer, blotting only once. In the winter, its goes day to night and I could only wish the concealer in my dark circles (i use mac select moisturecove) would last that long.

As I'm oily, in the summer i find this is just enough moisturizing for me, but in the winter I use jus a TINYYYY bit of my Dramatically Different Moisturizing Gel (Clinique) before I apply this TM. Also, if i'll be staying outdoors or doing some kind of activity, i skip this just because the SPF of 15 it's not enought for me anywhere but indoors.

Usually I prefer to apply this with very clean hands, just a little bit goes a long way. Non-latex sponge works as well for me, but no brush gives me such a good result.

All and all, this product is for you whaetever your skin type, I'm pretty sure you can find a good match in your skin tone and, surprisingly, it never made me break out (not even when my skin was going to a MAD time). Just use some moisturizing before if your skin is dry/really dry (even just in some areas) and you should be just fine. Just remember that this tinted moisturizer DOES give you coverage, a little bit like a light to medium foundation, so if you are looking for very sheer coverage this might not be your thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/3/2010 1:14:00 AM More reviews by kcj1314

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This was just okay. For the price I was expecting more. My biggest issue was that it gave me tiny pimples everywhere after a week or two. I will not repurchase.

edit: found this in my bathroom and tried using it again. it officially is the culprit of my cystic acne...especially around my jawline!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/21/2009 8:43:00 AM More reviews by rbyars1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Wow, I underestimated Merle Norman for a long time, writing it off as an "Old Lady" brand but I have really been pleasantly surprised recently with two products in particular. #1 is the Ultra powder foundation and #2 is this tinted moisturizer. It has an excellent consistency, not too thick and not too thin. It's very easily spreadable and belnds like a dream. I was lucky to also find a match in the lightest color (L10- formerly known as "bare") For reference I am LLL cool toned and about NW15-20, L10 matches perfectly..I blend the tm just like I would any other foundation because it has some decent coverage, but still is very light and doesnt feel heavy or cakey. In fact it goes on perfect with my MUFE kabuki (another love of mine, ha). Top off with a little translucent powder and I am good to go all day. This TM has great staying power, makes it thru an 8hr workday easy. If you have been debating on Merle Norman and have a studio nearby, please give them a try as there are some undiscovered gems in the bunch, this TM is def one of them. If you prefer TMs with a little coverage like a very light foundation, you really will love this. Oh yeah..been using it for 3weeks and no breakouts or clogged pores :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/5/2009 10:29:00 AM More reviews by dovely

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff. I was using physicians formula organic wear, but that made me really dry for some reason. I do use a moisturizer under this, because alone it is not hydrating enough for me. It had light/medium coverage and is great for days when you just want a little coverage to even skin tone. I used it during my pregnancy to even out some temperary pigmentation I had. Highly reccommend this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/9/2009 8:44:00 PM More reviews by grnfaerie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I get my eyebrows waxed at a Merle Norman store, so everytime I go there they try to push products on me (which is usually really annoying.) This time however, I'm so glad they talked me into buying this because it's great! I have oily skin, so I wasn't keen on using an additional moisturizer, but this doesn't make me oilier than usual and the coverage is pretty good. The best things about it are that it doesn't break me out- which a lot of things do, and the SPF in this really works well. I can be out in the sun all day and definitely tell the areas where I wasn't covered. On days that I need more coverage I'll brush on some mineral foundation over it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/4/2009 8:31:00 PM More reviews by KittyKatBlonde

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have been searching for the past 5 years for something that would work for my aging, rosacea, extremely HARD to color match face. I have tried just about every foundation (liquid, mineral, powder, you name it) out there. I can never get a good color match and all the foundations I have tried seem to collect in my lines and wrinkles. To cover what I wanted covered, I would have to go to a heavier foundation which looked like a mask and the mineral foundations always got shiney and eventually looked oily and I have dry skin. MN tinted moisturizer, which I didn't think would be enough coverage, has been AWESOME for me. I have it in ML30. It is neutral enough not to be too yellow or pink for my skin, yet seems to cover or blur a good deal of my redness and skin damage. It has UVA and UVB protection (both chemical and physical sunscreen in it), which some may not like but is needed for my rosacea skin. I do wish it had a higher SPF as it only has an SPF of 15. I put this on my face and neck and it seems to blend both together without looking like make up at all. It feels light on. I then dust with MN translucent powder. The tube is a generous size, however at $36 it is a bit pricey but no more than some foundations. I haven't tried the mineral powders from MN that have been mentioned in other reviews with the TM but might because of the good reviews. I did purchase some foundation from MN as well as I thought I needed more coverage. Their timeless foundation. I find that this goes well over the tinted moisturizer. However I found out I like the tinted moisturizer w/o the foundation best. I now just use the actual foundation to dot on an area where I might need a bit more coverage. MN foundations and TM look so much more natural than anything else I have ever tried. I am sorry it took me until 45 to discover MN.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No