November 25, 2014 | 1817 users online

Moisturizers - Neostrata - Ultra-Smoothing Cream (10% Glycolic Acid)



image 0

rated 4.6(52 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 88% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 2/8/2013 12:05:00 PM More reviews by Mikeswife

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This has been a lifesaver for my dry, tired skin.

Price: This stuff runs 30-some dollars for a full tube, not outrageous when you consider the amount you get and what it does.

Packaging: bare bones, very basic. It's okay--I don't need fancy jars.

Product: I picked up a 5-pack sample of this on ebay after desperately searching the internet (and MUA) for solutions to my dry, flaky winter skin. I tried exfoliating scrubs, La Mer, a bunch of "dry skin" labeled stuff (including several products by Dermalogica that are far more expensive) and was still waking every morning to flakes, and finding them on my face by mid afternoon. Not everyone's skin may be able to tolerate glycolic acid, but after three weeks of using this once a day (before bed), I can honestly say my skin looks brighter, clearer, less dry and less run down. The texture of my face has also greatly improved, as the skin on my cheeks and forehead feels so smooth. I like that this is a cream and not anything I have to apply and wash off, and I also like that it exfoliates without being a scrub.

As a sidenote, this gets some criticism online as it is really 8% glycolic acid / 2% citric, but as I stated earlier, if you're not sure about how your skin will handle glycolic, it's probably better to start low. It definitely tingles a bit when on. As another note, it also has a slightly weird smell, but it's given me such results that I can overlook it. A+.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/1/2013 10:43:00 PM More reviews by yyou

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

What a fantastic product for the quality and price, I've been using mine almost twice daily for almost a year and it still has a ton of product left. I truly feel like this has improved the overall quality of my skin and left it finer and brighter. When I have breakouts and use it I even feel like it helps clear them up faster. Yes it will tend to tingle a little (especially if you used it all over your face) especially the eye area but for me it's not uncomfortable, if it truly bothers you it helps to put an eyecream or serum on afterwards (this product is better for refinishing/clarifying the skin, for moisturizing it's good to use something else on top).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/20/2012 9:25:00 AM More reviews by Mzunga

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

If you're serious about skincare, skip the glamorous brands and get onto prescription or prescription-grade products to get your money's worth.
Neostrata glycolic products are spectacular to thin out the the skin and make it look smooth and polished. Really amazing stuff.
I use in the mornings, with a vitamin c or hyaluronic serum (depending on dryness. I regulate use with nightime retinoic acid (NOT the weaker retinol) as prescribed by a dermatologist, making sure I don't overcharge my skin so it doesn't get irritated.
This is really the only way to get real results, it's a shame the information doesn't get out there and people spend so much money on phoney products.

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/25/2012 9:04:00 PM More reviews by Ellenxxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I've been using this on and off for 15 years. Sometimes I run out and don't re-purchase for a while, when I do get some more, I am always shocked at the overnight improvement of my skin! It makes it so smooth!

Now that I'm in my 30s and starting to get some fine lines, I will never lapse again- I'll be using this wonderful product for a long time to come!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2012 2:01:00 PM More reviews by amnahp12

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

This stuff is fantastic. I used the daytime smoothing cream [with an SPF of 15] in the pump bottle, level 3 [10% glycolic acid]. I had never used GA before, but it only stung - minorly - for a few minutes at the first application, and then never again. But most bizarrely, after only a few days it made my acne-prone, bumpy skin, REMARKABLY smoother one one side [after nothing else had worked!] I was shocked, but the price tag was just not cutting it [CAD$40 before tax], and I only used it for a few weeks before starting Retin-A and ordering the MUCH bigger bottle of 10% AHA+ by acne.org, which I now use on my body and sparingly on my face [don't want to overdo it!]

Point being, it did something when nothing else did - for acne and clogged pores, at least try it. Sensitive skinned individuals, ramp up from a lower concentration. Highly impressed, definitely recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/18/2012 1:13:00 PM More reviews by rucci80

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used the lotion version but i do use this cream for the extra concentration and "oomph" when required.
Helped clear my skin in days and prevent major oily puss like zits forming.
I had clear skin til 29 years of age and suddenly developed adult acne with big white heads but after using this and the lotion version it cleared up my skin 60%.
only down side is the smell and stinging but it does subside after a week or so, just be very vigilant and religious with it.
It doesnt thin yourmskin, it makes ur cell turn over faster with the aha in it.
Highly recommend this holdy grail prodcut, though hard to find in australia i found it at chemist warehouse hidden away.
Acne scars healed incredibly and prevents the nasty zits i used to get, and disappears much faster during my period.
Used with clarisonic cleanser andniuse the cream or lotion version of this excellent product, after spending a fortune on precription medicine, topical prescription treatments n facials! This has worked the best n gave my confidence back!
Give it a go, MU saved my skin!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/12/2012 5:40:00 AM More reviews by ishara

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I am concerned about the reviews I have read that describe this product as "thinning" the skin. I make sure that I use sunscreen to counteract.

However, I also agree that it works really well, seems to get rid of all those unsightly discolourations and smooth the skin texture and appearance. I will seriously consider continuing with this product - very happy with the results and price.

Somebody - please assure me about the skin "thinning"!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/12/2012 9:08:00 AM More reviews by suburns

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

After reading reviews, I was worried that my sensitive skin wouldn't be able to tolerate this product. This winter, I have had MAJOR skin problems...breakouts, dry, scaly forehead...and within just a few days of using this lotion, my skin was soft, smooth, and cleared up. I'm not one to believe in miracle products, but this has been one for me! It does tingle quite a bit, even itchy right after applying some nights. But it calms down pretty quickly, and the results are amazing. Would highly recommend.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/5/2012 9:04:00 PM More reviews by makeupman05

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

No just no instead it made my skin oilier, upon applying this cream my face instantly feels fresh but after 4 hours i totally look like a glazed doughnut.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/3/2012 5:41:00 PM More reviews by amanda23

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

In Canada, this is also known as Neostrata's Oil Free Smoothing Lotion, Level 3, not to be confused with the Daytime Smoothing Lotion, which is, in my opinion, not as good.
I use this cream nightly and it is an amazing product. It is quite intense, so if you have very sensitive skin, be very careful with how often you apply. My skin is fairly used to AHA's so it responds well. This stuff is fantastic for smoothing your skin and evening skintone. This works so well that my husband's male friend even made a comment as to how smooth my skin was looking and that I looked younger.
I don't use this during the day too, I tried and it was just too much for my skin. Be sure to use the advice and apply sunscreen during the day as the glycolic acid will thin your skin. I don't find that this makes my skin oily in the least, if anything, it could be a bit more moisturizing but will probably be perfect when the summertime finally rolls around. Oh, and I don't find this has any offensive scent whatsoever. What an amazing product, so glad I tried it.
Update: I got away from using this for awhile, not sure why, just trying other products. I started using this again 2 days ago and I already see such a difference in my skin. It's so smooth and the tone is already evening out. I will never stray again.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No