December 20, 2014 | 955 users online

BB Cream - Ponds - Luminous Finish BB+

rated 4.0(101 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 70% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 10/9/2014 9:30:00 PM More reviews by xhavefaithx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

Hands down this is the best BB cream that I've used. I have very oily skin and this bb cream lasts for the full 8 hours that I'm at work. The consistency is thick, but blend smoothly and blends in quite well. I am very pleased with the pigment of the cream, usually bb creams in the color medium are very orangey, but ponds have more natural looking shades. Also the smell is wonderful. Has a very light flower type smell to it. Once you put it on, you do not have any scent at all so people that are sensitive to scent do not worry. I would buy this product again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/9/2014 5:21:00 PM More reviews by supafob

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

If you are used to Korean BB Creams, then this won’t be a good choice for you, unless you are looking to downgrade to something much more like a tinted moisturizer. I gave this a go because it was only $2.50-$3 on clearance at Target. However, even at such a deal, I returned it. It only comes in two shades, Light & Medium – mine was medium. This is definitely more like a tinted moisturizer, which I don’t care for. It provides a very sheer, light layer to even out skin tone & moisturizes your skin, but that’s it. It doesn’t help with pores nor does it improve skin over time like some of the Korean brands. If you want to hide any minor blemishes, dark spots, or veins, but have it still look natural, stick with Korean brands. This doesn’t do anything even after applying two-three additional layers. It feels and looks like I’m not wearing anything (though it did make it look dewy). It did nothing wrong to my skin, nor did it enhance it. Sorry! Just not for me!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/6/2014 2:26:00 PM More reviews by Hollyoshaughnessy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Love this in fair/light! It hasn't broken out my relatively sensitive combination skin. It's faded my newer acne marks and is beginning to fade the others. This has a light and clean scent. So happy to have found something I like with sun protection! Usually a product with SPF feels greasy on my skin and I'd just rather not deal with that at all. This product is moisturizing without the oily feeling you get from a lot of products with this sort of coverage. It's definitely a slightly luminous finish (without shimmer or sparkle) with sheer to medium coverage (build-able coverage). That being said, I set this with a bit of mineral powder which gives me a bit of a semi matte look. I have very dark/vibrant naturally red hair...my skin would be considered fair (not porcelain) with freckles. Somehow this product covers any and all imperfections while not covering my freckles. This truly is my HG product. So fast and straight forward...blends into my skin beautifully. Recommend to anyone with fair skin!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/14/2014 10:36:00 AM More reviews by celina5847

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

If you like this product and it's your HG...Buy it Now!! I'm sure this is going to be a discontinued item since I've seen it on clearance in several stores. $2.99 then down to .75CENTS (which I got free because I had a $1.00coupon)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/7/2014 1:53:00 PM More reviews by xxxcarol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Other

This might be a good "starter" BB cream--it has the thicker texture and glow of the Asian ones and you can pick it up in the drugstore or supermarket. And a lot of people love it, I did too when I first tried it. I liked the finish and it didn't break me out. However--I could not shake the feeling that my face was dirty when I was wearing this, ugh, and it only got worse as the day went on. Lasting power is not great either. I went to the Lioele BB and probably won't look back.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/26/2014 2:48:00 PM More reviews by Beatully

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Finally getting around to writing a review of this product! Initially, I really liked it! This was the first BB that matched my skintone perfectly! People asked me what I was using on my skin! However, there are some downfalls to this product. The coverage is somewhere between light-medium. I would not recommend layering this as it will look cakey. Doesn't hide acne/acne scarring, but will at least dull the appearance of them (You will still need to use concealer if you like full coverage). It will, however, hide redness and even out your skin tone, which is nice! I recommend this to someone with normal-dry skin. I have very oily skin in my T-Zone, and when this stuff says "Luminous Finish" they commit. It starts off matte, but within an hour, my skin began to look very greasy. This product even made my cheeks look oily, and it especially made my nose look absolutely disgusting. If you have oily skin, you will need a very good finishing powder to keep the shininess at bay.

I don't know if this is a common trend with Luminous Finish foundations/bb creams, but this stuff rubbed off like no other. Even touching a tissue to my nose would complete saturate the tissue with product.

I also could not stand the strong smell. Right from the moment you remove the cap, you can smell the product. It has a strong, almost floral smell. As the day goes on, my face wreaks of sunscreen.

I did, however, wear this stuff on vacation and my face was ironically the only part of my body that did not get sunburned. I guess for this summer or a day at the beach, this isn't a bad product to have around.

Another plus, this is one of the first makeup products that did not cause my skin to breakout. So if you're acne prone, this may make a nice base for your makeup, and lessen the amount of products you will have to use to hide spots. It also does not settle into pores or creases, and lasts pretty much the whole day.

All in all, I most likely wont be repurchasing. May have something to do with my new acne prescription, but this BB cream now looks very cakey on me, and doesn't work well with my oily skin. I'd say if you have normal-dry skin and some scarring or redness that could use some covering up, go for it. However, if you have oily skin and have active breakouts to conceal, you may wanna pass on this one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/26/2014 8:51:00 AM More reviews by imkt

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Edit- Upon closer inspection, I see our formulation in this part if the world is different (better?). My tube, marketed as "Flawless Radiance BB+", is labelled as SPF 30+. The liquid is incredibly thin and easy to work into the skin. And as I mention in my review, the colour 'beige' is phenomenal. That's all. My opinion stands.



I have fine, dry skin, and I find that this works wonders on me. It is incredibly light, yet it provides nice coverage without a makeup-y look or feel. Where I live (southern Africa) this only comes in beige or chocolate, so I am not sure how this compares colour wise to what others have experienced. I have fair olive skin and the beige is wonderful. It is one of the only tm/bb creams I have used with a true yellow undertone (Bobbi Brown has great yellow based shades, but it is unattainable here). And, of course, the price is right. A very good purchase in my opinion.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/12/2014 4:34:00 PM More reviews by laurenjill05

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I got the shades light and medium on clearance at Target. I am really glad I didn't pay full price for these because it is basically just a lightly tinted moisturizer - so don't expect any coverage from this. My skin tone still looked uneven after applying this, and I have clear skin. The medium shade looks pretty dark when you squeeze the tube, but it's so sheer it really doesn't even matter because once spread out it's not even going to show up. If you're looking for a bb cream with coverage - you're better off trying Garnier's or Rimmel's matte bb cream. I would return these but I figured they were so cheap I'll just use them as a moisturizer. They do have a nice rose scent and pretty packaging.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/11/2014 9:32:00 PM More reviews by gwen712

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

The best ever, but I'm seeing it clearanced a lot of places. Is it going away? Just my luck.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/9/2014 7:55:00 PM More reviews by doorah

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm happily surprised with this near perfect and affordable BB cream from Ponds. Like many, I spend lots and expect better performance the more I spend. Although I have tried several of the higher end options I reach for my Ponds BB+ cream every single day. I first apply my Estee Lauder Matte perfecter and then the BB cream. It applies and blends like a dream and leaves a soft satin finish. I usually use more "sheer" foundations because medium coverage formulas seem to either accentuate dry areas I didn't even know I had, or settle into fine lines and wrinkles. Which brings me to one of the main reasons I love this product; I get excellent coverage and it looks and feels natural. I am also pleased with the sunscreen capabilities as I've been in the sun longer than I expected (meaning I didn't apply any additional sunscreen as I would had I known....) and although I may have received some redness elsewhere, my face was not affected at all. It lasts all day and into the evening as well, which is really quite remarkable for me. The only drawback I have is there are only two shades. Light and medium. The light is too light for now as it is mid summer, it may or may not work during the winter months, however the medium first appears way too dark from the tube but when I blend it over my skin (with my fingers, nothing else) it seems to melt into my skin and I get that medium to full coverage and the skin tone is very natural. I have cool toned skin which makes most other medium or full coverage foundations appear yellow or orangish on me. I also don't notice any fragrance at all as some others have mentioned, not sure why that is as I have a very sensitive nose! This is seriously one of the best discoveries I've found in a long time. I will definitely repurchase and I won't mind if I need to mix the two shades together for my winter skin, it's worth it to me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No