December 20, 2014 | 1660 users online

Top/Base Coats - Revlon - Multi-care base and top



image 0

rated 1.9(39 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 1.9
  • 12% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 10/16/2012 10:33:00 PM More reviews by MyNameIsHoney

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

I completely agree with the review by Luminousfeline below. I was almost disgusted to see the effect this base coat had on the colour I applied. The base, though dry to the touch, seemed to almost 'melt through' the colour, and pooled in a way that left it impossible to repair. Because I was using a shade close to blood red, the effect was actually sort of gory!
As a topcoat, the drying time is mostly what puts me off. I too have painted my nails in the evening, say 6-ish, gone to bed at 11, and have woken to find dents and imprints on my nails. This one is so not worth it...I'll finish it as a topcoat for when I'm using a metallic polish that doesn't show imperfections as easily, or perhaps for toenails. Will not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/27/2012 8:48:00 AM More reviews by luminousfeline

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This was my first base coat. It was an awful choice.

This product takes a long long LONG time to dry. Even when you think it is dry, it is not dry. If you use it as a base coat, even if you think you have let it dry, it won't dry and your nail polish will bubble. Lots of bubbles. When you use it as a top coat, even after 2 hours of drying time, it won't really be dry. If you paint your nails and 2 hours later go to bed, you will wake up with smudged/creased/imprinted/messed up surfaces.

Additionally, there is something about this product's formula that repels nail polish. You can watch the nail polish crawling away from the base coat and pooling weirdly as you apply it. The first coat after this product almost always has streaks and pulls away to leave unpainted potholes. This can result in weird hills and valleys in the polish that don't even out with subsequent coats.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/9/2012 5:23:00 AM More reviews by ireneyy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

This base coat + top coat will make your nail polish apply in a streaky manner and won't do anything to prevent it from chipping. It does not provide a smooth surface for your nail polish color. I always thought that the reason my nail polish turned out streaky was due to a mixture of bad technique and a bad nail polish (although it didn't make sense because I always use essie). Turns out it was this stupid product because the problem disappeared after I read negative reviews and decided to change base coats. You do not know how many hours i wasted removing my nail polish and putting it back on just to see if i could possibly get rid of the streakiness.
Spend a little more $$$ and just buy separate base coats and top coats from a better brand. The only good thing about this product was its beautiful frosted glassy bottle. nothing else, unfortunately.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 5/5/2012 7:55:00 PM More reviews by ricebby

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

WORST. PRODUCT. EVER. I would rate it a 0 if I could.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/22/2012 10:38:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I purchased this because I ran out of my OPI base coat and liked the idea of a base coat and a top coat in one product. The prices are relatively similar. I found that this product works fine simply as a top coat. As a base coat its not very strong and still allows for polish to stain my nail. I don't find it to be very effective. The one aspect I absolutely loathe about this polish is the consistency. It is so thin, almost to the point where it seems water-like. I tilted this bottle once and half of the product poured onto my hoodie. I have never experienced this with any other polish. I think this needs to be re-formulated. Not a fan of this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/21/2012 11:50:00 AM More reviews by chickee394

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The only reason I gave this product two stars is because on its own, it is not a bad clear polish. That aside, it does not work as a base coat because it makes the color go on completely streaky and thin (although the second coat of color is usually fine). It is not a good top coat either because it has a long dry time and very little shine. I would prefer to leave my polish without a top coat than use this because it makes my manicure look dull.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/11/2012 3:18:00 PM More reviews by byrdonebrere

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i don't think i've ever bothered to write a review on MUA (cuz i feel i have more interesting things to do than review makeup) but this product is so awful that i felt i had to warn the world. i didn't even try it as a topcoat because honestly, it's bad enough that i have to put on 3 coats of color to cover the weird streakiness induced by this product as a basecoat application. it's like some disgruntled revlon chemist decided to make this stuff nail polish RETARDANT, so when you apply color on top of it, the color contracts into streaks.

how did this stuff ever make it past... anyone? normally i love revlon, but the awfulness of this product makes me wonder how many OTHER products they make that actually are doing the opposite of what they claim to.

not cool at all, guys! if it weren't for your no animal testing policy, i'd never purchase from you again (but as it is, you're really my only drug store option for relatively cruelty-free products... products that suck, apparently).

:'(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/15/2012 2:32:00 PM More reviews by erinkaulback

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

As a base coat it made my nail polish go on streaky and uneven, and it made it take much longer to dry. As a top coat it actually reduced the shine of my polish and the brush is WAY too small! It also made my polish tacky and easily dentable. Will not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/16/2011 3:18:00 PM More reviews by NatureGirl219

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is probably the worst top coat I've ever used. It doesn't dry, makes my nails feel sticky, and gives my glitter polish a weird sludge texture. Honestly stay far, far away from this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/22/2011 12:41:00 PM More reviews by Disharmonic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product is legitimately worse than not using a base coat at all. It makes polish more difficult to apply, does not dry out at all, and smells funny.

Is this review helpful? Yes No