April 17, 2014 | 1886 users online

Top/Base Coats - Revlon - Multi-care base and top



image 0

rated 1.8(36 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 1.8
  • 8% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 5/5/2012 7:55:00 PM More reviews by ricebby

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

WORST. PRODUCT. EVER. I would rate it a 0 if I could.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/22/2012 10:38:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I purchased this because I ran out of my OPI base coat and liked the idea of a base coat and a top coat in one product. The prices are relatively similar. I found that this product works fine simply as a top coat. As a base coat its not very strong and still allows for polish to stain my nail. I don't find it to be very effective. The one aspect I absolutely loathe about this polish is the consistency. It is so thin, almost to the point where it seems water-like. I tilted this bottle once and half of the product poured onto my hoodie. I have never experienced this with any other polish. I think this needs to be re-formulated. Not a fan of this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/21/2012 11:50:00 AM More reviews by chickee394

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The only reason I gave this product two stars is because on its own, it is not a bad clear polish. That aside, it does not work as a base coat because it makes the color go on completely streaky and thin (although the second coat of color is usually fine). It is not a good top coat either because it has a long dry time and very little shine. I would prefer to leave my polish without a top coat than use this because it makes my manicure look dull.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/11/2012 3:18:00 PM More reviews by byrdonebrere

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i don't think i've ever bothered to write a review on MUA (cuz i feel i have more interesting things to do than review makeup) but this product is so awful that i felt i had to warn the world. i didn't even try it as a topcoat because honestly, it's bad enough that i have to put on 3 coats of color to cover the weird streakiness induced by this product as a basecoat application. it's like some disgruntled revlon chemist decided to make this stuff nail polish RETARDANT, so when you apply color on top of it, the color contracts into streaks.

how did this stuff ever make it past... anyone? normally i love revlon, but the awfulness of this product makes me wonder how many OTHER products they make that actually are doing the opposite of what they claim to.

not cool at all, guys! if it weren't for your no animal testing policy, i'd never purchase from you again (but as it is, you're really my only drug store option for relatively cruelty-free products... products that suck, apparently).

:'(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/15/2012 2:32:00 PM More reviews by erinkaulback

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

As a base coat it made my nail polish go on streaky and uneven, and it made it take much longer to dry. As a top coat it actually reduced the shine of my polish and the brush is WAY too small! It also made my polish tacky and easily dentable. Will not repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/16/2011 3:18:00 PM More reviews by NatureGirl219

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is probably the worst top coat I've ever used. It doesn't dry, makes my nails feel sticky, and gives my glitter polish a weird sludge texture. Honestly stay far, far away from this product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/22/2011 12:41:00 PM More reviews by Disharmonic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product is legitimately worse than not using a base coat at all. It makes polish more difficult to apply, does not dry out at all, and smells funny.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/23/2011 11:51:00 AM More reviews by Hyoriyin

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I hate this product! Only bought it due to the nice frosted packaging. I had my nails done at the salon earlier, nice, smooth and glossy in OPI's Mermaid's Tears and OPI top coat. I wanted the manicure to last so I decided to get a top coat polish.
Bad move. First of all, it took forever to dry. Secondly, it kind of melted my manicure polish. I had it on for 6 minutes and had to scratch an itch, and my manicure totally spoilt! Therefore as an emergency move i had to put another two coats to make the spoilt manicure look decent.

It's been been almost two hours and frankly speaking I'm not quite sure if it has entirely dried yet :@
And it makes my polish look MATTE. NOT GLOSSY AT ALL.

Had to get a sticker off something and I could see the coat chip already.

Fail product. (Except for the packaging)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/9/2011 8:52:00 PM More reviews by Candy123718

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I don't know why this product is getting so many negative comments! I was in need of a cheap top coat and I was planning on using it as a base coat too, but when I saw this, I decided to try it out. It left my nails sleek and shiny, and most surprising of all, it dried super, super fast! Maybe some people got a defective bottle, because I am loving this Revlon one! It has lasted a long time and has not gotten goopy on me yet. I highly recommend this product!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/22/2011 10:55:00 PM More reviews by OpenPlains

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

This stuff takes hours to dry. I applied it midafternoon and it was still tacky at midnight, when I went to bed. Of course when I woke my nails were spoiled by impressions of my bed linens and fingerprints. I live in a blazingly hot desert, so there was no humidity to interfere or anything like that. There was no difference in the amount of time it takes for the paint to flake off, either. This product is a failure.

Is this review helpful? Yes No