November 29, 2014 | 1710 users online

Conditioner - Dabur Vatika Hair Oil



image 0image 1

rated 4.1(47 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.2
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 9/1/2013 8:06:00 PM More reviews by Memz888

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have mixed feelings about this oil. Firstly it is difficult to use - you have to place in a bowl of hot water to melt into an oil consistency otherwise it is very difficult to get anything out. Second it made me itch - I mainly focused this oil on my roofs however it still made my scalp itch. Not sure if I am allergic to something in it but there was no rash. Just the itching that happened prior to application. I do feel that this oil made my hair look healthier after application and washing. However I was not prepared for the colour change it caused. I have dark brown (nearly black) hair so it was very subtle. In the light my hair started to look golden. It wasnt a bad change but it still was a change of colour so I would be wary of this oil if I had lighter hair. Contains henna, which explains the colour change. I don't think this oil made a significant enough improvement to my hair to warrant a repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/22/2013 11:17:00 PM More reviews by Anne184

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This made my scalp break out in a bright red rash, and the rash lasted for about a week. Needless to say, I will not use this product again. However, it did leave my hair soft and shiny. I will just use plain coconut oil now for my deep conditioning needs. Also, be aware that since this contains coconut oil, it will solidify in cooler weather which will make it difficult to get the product out of the bottle.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/6/2013 3:11:00 AM More reviews by nansierra

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Thanks to everyone who recommende this product. My hair was so dry, frizzy and flyaway before I read the product reviews. I live in a hot, humid climate where many beauty products are unavailable and my naturally curly hair has been in terrible condition. Vatika is a common brand here but I didn't try it because so many of the cheap, lesser known brands available really aren't very good.

The result has been truly amazing! My hair is soft, shiny, not frizzy and I can even shake my hair and it falls back into place. It also works extremely well as a nail and skin oil. And, as many have commented, the price is a bargain.

One note: I tried Vatika Almond, Coconut, Sesame Oil first since that was the one I could find easily. I later tried the Coconut Oil in the opaque bottle. It seemed to make my hair oily and didn't penetrate the hair shaft. So different hair types may respond to different formulations...Also, for some reason, the coconut seems to congeal in the bottle and is almost impossible to use without warming the bottle (but this may not be a problem with the clear liquid oil version.)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/17/2013 5:51:00 AM More reviews by diana444

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I love it makes my curly hair is so soft. ı have extremely dry hair and I have noticed that my hair is growing faster. the smell is strong but not unbearable! I would buy it again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/8/2013 7:08:00 AM More reviews by rhiaxxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I felt compelled to write a review for this hair oil. I have very curly 3a hair - lots of it, but fine and it is very long at the moment. In an absolute moment of madness, after not bleaching my hair for over 6 years, I decided to bleach the ends white blonde so that I could get a very unnatural purple added. This absolutely fried my hair, (my hair is naturally black) and as a result DAMAGED MY BEAUTIFUL CURLS! They had fallen out, so the top of my hair was beautiful, and the ends looked like stringy straight dying bleached worms. I cried, a lot, for about a month. And then my mother reminded me of the absolute miracle that is Vatika Hair Oil. Now, I'm Indian, so using Vatika was something I have been grown up to use - at the very least once a week. But obviously, it has it's downsides. As a child I was never completely able to wash the product out of my hair, it used to 'over-proteinise' my hair when I was younger as well, leaving it crunchy and matted. It smelled strange. Also my mum (bless her, she did try) had no clue about how to look after my hair, as her hair is as straight as a poker. So... when I was younger, she used to apply the oil into my hair without brushing it, which meant when it was time to wash it out, I ended up looking like Ronald McDonald who had got electrocuted by a hairdryer. Anyway, For all of those reasons, I stopped using it. So I was reluctant to give it another go, but I had given up with Kerastase and other 'Western' hair products because they just weren't doing enough for my hair. So I bought a bottle of Vatika, brushed my hair, and put the oil on. My hair literally drank the stuff - I used a quarter of the bottle in one sitting. I put a towel over my pillow and left it in over night, double shampooed and used my fail-safe mane n tail deep moisturising conditioner the next day, along with my redken fresh curls curl refiner and my redken ringlet 07 curl perfector, diffused, and voila! My hair is back to what it used to be. Perfect, soft, curly, floppy mess a-la Nicole Kidman. I guess I needed a serious dose of protein to replace what the bleach had taken out. Seriously, if you have curly hair that has been bleached, PLEASE try this. It's as cheap as chips, it can be bought on Amazon, and honestly, it really really really works if you have damaged hair that has lost it's curl. I plan to use it as a pre-poo every time now - as long as I continue to bleach my hair.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/1/2013 9:21:00 PM More reviews by jtmonian

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have four bottles of The vatika oil... so I'm not going to say I love VATIKA Oil. All I can say is Shea Moisture Resorative on damp hair + Vatika Oil + Curl Enhancing Smoothie. Makes the perfect 3c 4b hair pop. / * - * \

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/29/2012 6:44:00 PM More reviews by Marjacobs27

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

But this stuff really smoothes hair and gets the frizz to behave, the only downfall is the smell that lingers long after you wash your hair and it is kinda....funky. Anyway, I've been alternating with this and Pro Naturals Moroccan Argan oil for even more benefits and my hair has never been stronger, smoother or healthier! I'm so happy with these products!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/19/2012 11:48:00 PM More reviews by LauraWolfhart

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This has a very strange smell, which I think is due to the neem and amla. It kinda smells like lemons and coconuts, but not really, and the longer you leave it on your hair, the worse it gets! It also made my scalp itchy so I stopped using it. Iím now using Pro Naturals Moroccan Argan oil instead and itís very light and the smell is very subtle. I love it and my hair is really improving!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/2/2012 7:35:00 PM More reviews by pisces31919

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this stuff!!! I have been "natural" for almost 2 years and have been using coconut oil since my BC in July 2010. I discovered this when my best friend went to the Dubai and she sent me a bottle. My hair is sooooooo hydrated with this and it has a nice light coconut and citrus smell. I usually put it in my hair at night when I do my "pebbles" (high pont tail) and put my satin bonnet over it so that it can penatrate into my hair at night. Will repurchase over and over again:-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/25/2012 3:46:00 PM More reviews by envirogeeky

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This review is for the Vatika Enriched Coconut Oil. I purchased this at a Bangladeshi grocery store near my house but you can order it online for about 4 bucks and some change. I used this is a pre-shampoo treatment and leave it in overnight. I have fine hair but have a lot of it and it is wavy and sometimes prone to dryness on occasion. Using this oil from mid shaft down and leaving it in overnight then shampooing it out in the morning leaves my hair very soft and more manageable. The nice thing about coconut oil is that there are studies that have documented that it is one of the few hair oils that can actually penetrate the shaft of the hair and condition it, unlike mineral oil which sits on the surface of the hair. Coconut oil can help prevent protein loss that tends to occur from frequent washing with shampoos with detergents. Also the amla and henna add a nice gloss to the hair.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No