October 20, 2014 | 1538 users online

Makeup Brushes - Home Made Brush Cleaner / Cleanser



image 0

rated 4.8(36 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.8
  • 97% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/19/2012 7:10:00 PM More reviews by dawnzartandlife

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Here is a recipe for DIY MU brush cleaner that I <3
1 cup distilled water
1/4 cup rubbing alcohol
1/2 tablespoon laundry detergent/ or Castile Soap
1/2 tablespoon hair shampoo
1 tablespoon spray leave in conditioner
I use the same recipe as others, and also found it online, it works great and even makes brushes that were kinda scratchy lush and soft. I swear by this formula. Cheap and So worthy of checking out if you have never tried it!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/16/2012 5:23:00 PM More reviews by jasmine915

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I won't repeat what everyone has written, but I used Enkore's recipe and it works fantastic! What I used: 7th Generation liquid dish soap, Trader Joe's Refresh shampoo, John Frieda Root Awakening Detangling Spray, and rosewater for scent. Try it! Super cheap and works far better than anything bought!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/7/2012 5:02:00 PM More reviews by Sereneness

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Simple, cheap, and very effective!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/8/2012 10:05:00 AM More reviews by Zariana

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

MakeupAlley users always share the most innovative ideas that actually work!
I've been cleaning my brushes with shampoo and water for years now. At times, I do admit, I get a tad bit lazy and neglect to wash them at least weekly - certainly not good for my acne-prone complexion!
Enter the home made brush cleaner.
I am utterly flabbergasted as to how effectively this nifty concoction cleaned my brushes. It may seem melo-dramatic to utilise the word 'flabbergasted', but every last bit of foundation was 'drawn' out from my foundation brush. I used just three short bursts of brush cleaner. Incredible!
My recipe is similar to the one listed here. I did modify it slighty as I can't find rubbing alcohol anywhere. Surgical spirits will have to do.
In place of the dishwashing detergent, I used an aromatic herbal infused shower gel.
I can now gently clean my brushes and look forward to less comestic acne flare-ups.
All in all, it's an excellent, cost-effective way to clean make up brushes.
What's not to love?

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/4/2012 12:27:00 PM More reviews by jltrdms

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Old link with old reviews and so glad it popped into my search results. I had all items on hand, even spray bottle. I am guilty of nearly never washing my brushes and realized this is really not being responsible with my investment in good brushes and quality make-up. So happy with results. I did note some reviews reposted the recipe but had incorrect measurement of TB marked as tsp.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/24/2011 10:46:00 AM More reviews by iodine

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Yipppeeeee! Finally a great product that works and is cheap. LOL, read the instructions (how hard can this be???) and make up a spray bottle to keep in my drawer.
Cleaned my new R and R brushes quickly and they could have been used within a few minutes because they dried so quickly. I also used a creamy leave in conditioner but I used a kitchen whisk to smooth it out in the alcohol before adding any other ingredients. Worked like a charm! No clumps.
Brushes are clean, soft, fluffy and returned to the pristine condition as when brand new. Great stuff!! Bought extra spray bottle and filled it for a stocking stuffer for my daughter.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/20/2011 5:25:00 PM More reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I followed a "recipe" from a friend.

90% water
10% alcohol

I make the mixture in a small spray bottle and spray on 2-3 sprays for face brushes and 1-2 sprays for eye brushes. It depends on how big the brush is and how much makeup is on it.
I use to deep clean my brushes every time I used them - it's such a hassle. But this spray is wonderful. It kills the germs, removes most of the makeup and leaves my brushes just as soft as if I were to wash them.

After I spray, I blot the brushes with a tissue, then swirl them around on a washcloth until they're mostly dry and let them rest.
I've never had any negatives AT ALL with this method. My brushes dry so much quicker and I don't have to worry about breakouts.

It's so simple and inexpensive, too! I don't feel the need to try any other method.

13 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/17/2011 6:45:00 PM More reviews by Pretchel

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I followed EnKore's recipe and I just love that brush cleanser. I'm using it everyday to clean my brushes between deep clean. I used a homemade shampoo (unscented and especially made for my fine, fragile and hard to manage hair), Infusium 23 and some Sunlight dish soap, plus distillated water and 70% alcool. The smell is not overpowering, it's dirt cheap and very effective.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/1/2011 12:55:00 PM More reviews by kaleidoscopic

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

Like many of the other reviewers, I also follow enkoremakeup's recipe from youtube. It works great and it even easily cleans the brushes I use for gel eyeliner! I usually had difficulty cleaning out my gel eyeliners when I had used baby shampoo....maybe its just the eyeliner I use. (It hardens up on my brush after using it)

By the way, don't make the same mistake as I did. I know Koren said not to use lotion/gel leave-in conditioner but I went ahead and did so anyway because I didn't feel like going to the store to go buy some. DON'T!!! I know, I'm silly. It doesn't dissolve and it leaves solid conditioner chunks inside the solution. Good thing I only used a small 60 ml portion of my cleaning solution to test that out.

So... to everyone: use spray leave-in conditioner!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 7/5/2011 5:36:00 AM More reviews by skittytan

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

Like most of you gals, I too took to Koren's recipe, although I didn't have any leave in conditioner handy. I followed the same recipe although instead of just shampoo, I put in a 2 in 1 shampoo and conditioner. I'm really hoping for the same result =) I just cleaned and fluffed my brushes...WIll update as soon as they are nice and dry... (P.S. LOVE Koren!!! ) Gave the packaging 3 because, well, it really depends on what you have lying around right?? ^_^

Is this review helpful? Yes No