April 18, 2014 | 1838 users online

Foundations - Maybelline - Dream Matte Mousse

rated 3.0(3147 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.0
  • 48% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 4/13/2008 2:26:00 AM More reviews by stefuhknee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The first time I used this product, I really liked it. However once I started using it on a regular basis I began to notice that my face felt really cakey. It made my skin super oily as well, and I had to carry around my powder everywhere for touch ups.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/12/2008 4:06:00 PM More reviews by autumnskye

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

To me, these shades seem to run on the darker side. The first jar I bought was way too dark for me. I finally got it right with the purchase of my second jar.
I loved this foudation so much at first, I would actually look forward to applying it in the mornings, it was fun to work with. However, having middle aged skin I am not so sure that this is the best foundation for me. When they say matte, they are not kidding.
On the positive side, this keeps my oily t-zone from shining all throughout the day and I never have to apply powder. On the negative side, it really tends to dry out my cheeks and make my skin look flaky and rough. I think this works best with a really heavy daytime moisturizer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2008 8:40:00 AM More reviews by gina2685

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Being a TM user I figured it'd be nice to hane a foundation for special occasions but, since my make up already costs me a lot, I decided not to splurge and try out the newest popular maybelline foundation...Big mistake. My skin is combination and what I have to admit is that this product is matte indeed, I could even put it on without powder, it's finish is powdery enough. But I don't think it's really blendable, I mean, I've used successfully some heavier foundation on certain occasions in the past and never had a problem, but couldn't really blend this one on my skin. It felt a bit cakey, especially on my cheeks (and I always moisturize). It just didn't work for me. Another con: for some strange reason Maybelline keeps forgetting the pale skined girls out there - at least in Greece, where I'm staying. I felt stupid when I found out that their lightest shade was way too dark for me. I guess they thought that the lovely mediterranean sun means we're all tanned and glowy all year round but that's not really true for some of us....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/7/2008 6:28:00 PM More reviews by lelinaaa

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have facial eczema which makes me look like I wear lipstick on my upper lip and cheeks/chin, so I was a bit hesitant to use this product as I've read that many people get allergic reactions to Maybelline. However this foundation is working well so far -- it DOES really show off your dry patches, though! If you have dry skin make sure you exfoliate and moisturize really well. The coverage is good and I like how it goes matte, for once my t-zone is not shiny. The price is reasonable as this is drugstore-level, and I'm on a tight budget. I also like how you don't need a lot to cover the whole face. Could use more colors in the range, though..

I'm happy with it so far.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/1/2008 3:51:00 PM More reviews by xsophiex

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

i love this foundation it blends so easialy and looks really natrual and has good coverage to! i definatly would NOT reconmend this if u have dry skin because it highlights any dry patches you have! and u will have to re-apply through out the day as it dose last quiet long but not long enuf! xxx

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/31/2008 12:20:00 PM More reviews by brooklynnesmommy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

At first, I fell in love with this foundation! It really evened out my skin tone, but after a couple hours, you can see everything AGAIN! When paired up with a concealer, or pressed powder, it made my face look too made up and my face felt caked!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/26/2008 11:37:00 PM More reviews by steelmagnolia20

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I switched to this product after Maybelline discontinued their stick Express Makeup which I LOVED. Everything I love gets discontinued. This makeup offers great overall coverage, and also helps with my super-oily skin much more than regular foundations. However, if applied too heavily, it can easily look too dark and cakey. My number one complaint is that it comes in a pot. Consistency evenually turns from moussy gel into crumbly cakey messss. Especially gross if you have long nails like I do. It gets all under them and everyday causes a problem. I would have switched already if it weren't for that fact that I have super-sensitive skin and it does well with breakouts/coverage/oil control.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/25/2008 5:10:00 PM More reviews by k0kleppe

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

At first I really liked this product because it offers good coverage and evened out my skin tone without causing any breakouts. However, as I got half way through the jar, it didn't feel good to put it on my skin anymore and the texture of it seemed to change to a different consistancy. Also, my forehead would feel oily mid way through the day (which may not have had anything to do with the product) but either way I do not feel I would by this product again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/24/2008 7:25:00 AM More reviews by mcrain78

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really loved the way this product felt on my skin! It felt like whipped silk against my skin and the color I chose was a great match for my skin! I really do like the product, however I like a lighter more natural finish... If you use a foundation brush to apply the makeup, it is wonderful though! I would buy this again if I were on a tight budget.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/23/2008 10:53:00 PM More reviews by mtvsux

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

It went on ok and looked nice, but then it yurned very greasy on me over the course of the day as well as left the light cast many on here mentioned. i tossed it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No