April 17, 2014 | 1896 users online

Eyeliner - Bobbi Brown - Long Wear Gel Eyeliner in Black Ink



image 0image 1

rated 4.3(368 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 76% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/18/2008 2:02:00 PM More reviews by modestyblaise78

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product, and I am so glad that I bought it after reading all these reviews here.
It's absolutely perfect (apart from the price) and extremely easy to apply with an angled brush.
You can cry, sweat and dive with it without bad looking consequences.
It has an excellent staying power.
I would like to have this in all colors available, and would definitely repurchase.
I use it very often.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/18/2008 8:10:00 AM More reviews by Sour

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this eyeliner! I just canít live without it! Its totally HG material, I canít wait to try the other colors. Performance-wise, this product does not smudge or flake awayÖ EVER! And the color? Itís a true black that really lives up to its name.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/10/2008 8:14:00 PM More reviews by maysflower21

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Thank God for this product. I am one of those people who, without eyeliner looks like I've missed about 10 days of sleep. I agree with Gurululu's review 100%. I cannot stand re-applying every hour but with this product i dont have to! Believe me - it stays on and stays put. I actually use one of the fine brushes to apply it that i got from CVS. No problem. It doesnt smear either! So it doesnt look like you have owl eye. It takes some patience to put in, and you only need a TINY bit for both eyes. Just the very tip of the brush is all you need. The price is a little deep but i agree with the previous users that a little goes a long way- well worth it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/26/2008 8:18:00 PM More reviews by gurululu

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I wish I had this on my wedding day as I stabbed my eye lid a thousand times trying to get a neat line across my lid with a shaky hand. This stuff glides on so easily and perfectly with the given Bobbi Brown recommended brush that I could do it while walking to my car. I'm amazed. It is jet black and stays all day and night. Not difficult at all to clean off in the shower either. I'm amazed and that doesn't happen often. Just Make sure that you have great mascara that is as rich in color or your lashes will pale in comparison to your lids!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2008 10:36:00 PM More reviews by bibiancheng

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

it works similar to Mac fluidline but the color is thicker, easy to use, stay on really well for hours which i like, however, it caused irritation to my eyes several times, once it got into my eyelids, I will have to wear glasses for a week! too dangerous for me to use. And it's almost unwashable(you got to scratch really hard) if it gets on your contact lens. Also the price is high compare to other brands. never put it in your make up bag and leave your bag in the car baked by the hot sun, close the lid immediately after use.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2008 6:10:00 PM More reviews by tinylemming

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have this in black, green and navy (forget the exact names, but no shimmer in mine). This gel liner is OK. It lasts longer than MAC Fluidline on me (esp waterline) but not long overall. A couple of hours tops. It's painfully annoying when this smudges (anywhere, not just waterline), it makes me self-conscious and i keep looking into a mirror to wipe off smudges. But many seem to have luck with it, so it's worth a shot. I did notice that the green one lasts the longest on me (not my long though).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/15/2008 4:10:00 PM More reviews by jbel80

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I used this eyeliner years ago with the recommended Bobbi Brown angled eyeliner brush and it got all smushy and smeared all over my oily lids so after a while I threw it away. It looked horrible. Then I switched to Laura Mercier and they taught me how to dab liner into my lash line from below the lashes with the Laura Mercier flat eyeliner brush. Then I tried this same method with the Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner with PERFECT RESULTS. So I realized that the Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner is really a great product but I wasn't putting it on properly. Now I have precise lined eyes with no smudging (which is a huge problem with my oily Asian lids because the crease is so close to my eye) and lasts all day long. The gel consistency really lets you add quite a bit into your lash line to get the darkest solid black thin line. So if you use this eyeliner, don't use that stupid Bobbi Brown brush they suggest and you'll love this eyeliner. Now I can't live without it!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2008 11:41:00 PM More reviews by eastbaychick9

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I LOVE this stuff! I want to buy it in other colors because it works so well but i don't like wearing black eyeliner everyday. I used this on my wedding day and it was great--never smudged or flaked, stayed in place for a good 10 hours! Also, it's a lot easier to apply than liquid eyeliner, because it doesn't drip. You need a good, stiff flat eyeliner brush to apply it, and if you have curly lashes (like me), you have to angle the brush in so you don't just get a bunch of eyeliner on your lashes, but with a little practice you'll have beautifully lined lids!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/23/2008 12:34:00 PM More reviews by milliestarz

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

EYES: Dark brown, almond-shaped.
HAIR: Black, straight, fine.


This gel eyeliner brings out the brown in your eyes, it goes on easy, and looks good all day. My only concern is that it smears onto my bottom lashes after 5 hours, maybe bc the skin around my eyes are oily.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/6/2008 4:08:00 AM More reviews by starzi

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

Fantastic eyeliner! I used to have a violet ink, but then the brush got really hard, and so did the liner (i think, i can't remember - it was quite a long time ago), so I gave it to someone else. However, suddenly I wanted to buy black ink, coz... well, i dunno, but I just wanted it, so I went and got it. And I do not regret it! The saleslady told me that the brush went hard coz I didn't wash it everytime I finished using it, and the gel liner got hard coz it was exposed to air too much, she told that when I'm applying the liner, turn the gel pot upside down, so there's a temporary cover to avoid too much air getting in. I really can't believe that the gel liner is sooooooo smooth, I use it on my bottom line, it smudges and flakes a teeny bit, but I don't really mind that. I've tried some black eyeliners before, but they all seem to smudge. But not this one! Well, at least not too much. However, it doesn't work on the waterline, but I don't really mind. I have hooded eyes, showing just a bit of the top lashline; I used some of BB's gel liner on it and on the bottom line, and instantly, my eyes look bigger!!! I'm lovin' this sooooo much! I recently bought another one, ivy shimmer ink, which I haven't used yet, but looks like a really nice colour. Will write a review on it soon. Btw, I didn't get the BB ultra fine eyeliner brush, coz it's too expensive, and I think I would need to get a new one every few months (maybe), so I just got some cheaper ones at the drugstore. It works perfectly fine with the liner. I used to love using Chanel's stylo yeux waterproof marine, but this totally beat it; I will only use that liner when I'm in a rush. xxx

Is this review helpful? Yes No