April 19, 2014 | 864 users online

Foundations - Make Up For Ever - HD High Definition Foundation

rated 3.6(2086 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 8/11/2013 10:07:00 PM More reviews by Emmapc

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought MUFE HD foundation because the girl on Sephora told me it was an amazing oil free foundation, she also told me that it was dermatologically tested and that it wouldn't make me break out, so I bought it. The girl on Sephora told me that 125 was the color for my skin tone so I believed her. I am usually shade 20 in Dior or Chanel's foundation. I used this foundation for one week and that was a lot of time, because first of all the color was too orangey, it didn't last more than 2 hours, my skin was so shiny that I felt the need to take it away because it was very greasy and I started to notice that my pores were starting to get clogged. About the coverage, I would say it is medium coverage, but if you have red blemishes, you would also need to use extra concealer.After that week I was struggling about this foundation, I gave it to my mom, she has dry skin, she doesn't have any blemish, and her only problem are a few fine lines around her eyes, she's also a bit darker than me. She told me that it was too heavy for her, she loved the tone, but she stayed with Chanel's Lift Lumiere. So I just recommend this foundation for someone with dry/combination skin who doesn't care about SPF, and who's skin hasn't got too much scars or discoloration on their skin. I really don't get the hype about this. I prefer dioskin Forever.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/10/2013 9:45:00 PM More reviews by Marta2696

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I did not like this foundation. It is NOT long lasting whatsoever (not that it advertises that or anything, but one usually hopes for long lasting coverage). It's honestly not flattering on my skin. It makes it almost look...wet I guess. Oh and it just slides around like a kid with socks on a hardwood floor. The reason I rated it as a two as opposed to a one is because its lightest shade ACTUALLY MATCHES MY SKIN TONE...now, this is truly a big deal. For us porcelain princesses, it's quite hard to find something that matches well...or hell, matches at all. So the downsides are as follows: -not long lasting. -not great coverage - slides around easily. Annnnd the upside is as follows: -great color for pale chicas!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/8/2013 10:15:00 PM More reviews by Productaddict911

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Holy grail foundation! I tried so many foundations and almost gave up on liquid formulas. This is not cakey and mimics your skin but better. 120 soft sand is a perfect match for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/8/2013 8:42:00 PM More reviews by thaonlylakergirl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I bought this in shade 185, the darkest one and while it matched my jawline, when applied all over my face, it looked too dark and muddy. It also has a moderately bad scent. The next shade up 180 looks to be too light; I wish there was a shade in between. But 185 is a very neutral, muddy shade of brown. Don't just rely on a patch test before you buy it. Try it over your entire face before buying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/7/2013 1:40:00 PM More reviews by Cdmlove

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I adore this foundation! My favorite one I've ever used! It covers well with one pump, I have fairly dry-acne prone skin and this works wonderfully, the only problem i had with this is the way my face looked afterwards it was super oily and made my face look super shiny which is something that I don't personally like, so I bought the MATTE one to try and I love it, it works perfectly and with moisturizer it doesn't look flaky or dry at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/6/2013 12:47:00 AM More reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

At this moment in time I have very mixed feelings about this foundation. I bought this foundation for $48 at Sephora in the shade 115 and these are my thoughts: The foundation comes in a plastic bottle with a big plastic cap that is constantly falling off so if packaging is big for you, you might feel a bit ripped off with this one. The foundation is fairly liquidy and offers a natural looking medium coverage with a satin finish. I was really disappointed in the shade range for those with fair skin because while the shades do go fairly light, the first 3 shades are all very, very pink toned which doesn't work for someone like me since I am neutral to yellow and the shade makes me look a bit like I have a sunburn. I can't comment on how the shades cater to darker skin tones since I have no experience with darker skin tones but I can only hope that they did a better job on that end.
My feelings: This foundation is not bad. This definitely isn't at this point in time an HG product for me but it is quite nice. I like its application best with my Urban Decay Optical blurring brush as it really gives a gorgeous airbrushed looked. With this foundation I feel like my skin looks natural, yet still very perfected- my skin tone is even and my blemishes have been toned down considerably. I don't find this foundation particularly long lasting which is pat of my issue with it. I don't like to powder a whole lot since I like my foundation to do its job without a lot of extra help and I find with this on I need to blot about once every 2 hours. I don't have very oily skin so it kind of alarms me but since it is the summer I think I will keep it until it starts to get cooler and see if it starts working better for me. At this point in time I would say that there are better products out there and I would definitely not recommend this for those with oily skin but it might do a nice job for those with normal to dry skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/5/2013 9:20:00 PM More reviews by emilyh8

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I have extremely oily, acne-prone sensitive skin and I did not find that this foundation worked for me at all. It is a light-medium coverage foundation but I felt it enhanced the appearance of my blemishes and made my skin look oilier than usual even when I used blotting paper and set powder. HOWEVER, I did my Mum's makeup with the very same product and she has normal skin with rosacea but she has no blemishes or oiliness and this foundation looked amazing on her! It looked so natural and flawless. It didn't react with her skin badly at all and her skin is also very sensitive so if you have normal-combination skin then I think this foundation would work wonders for you, especially in summer where you don't want full coverage.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/4/2013 8:24:00 PM More reviews by Lil3MissSarah

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Hmmm....
I finaly bought this stuff the other day for my wedding reception. I usually use MAC face and body but the shade I have is a tad to light which is fine for every day, but horrible for photos. I needed something that covered well and matched my skintone to a T while not giving a white cast. So I picked up a bottle of this HD foundation that I've been hearing about and I think it's OK. There's much better foundation out there. In person this foundation looks average. In photos (I tested it for photos) this is a Godsend. No joke. In photos it looks like my face went through the computer and had some retouching.
The application process was a struggle to figure out. 1st I used a dense brush to buff the product on and I put powder over it. It looked like a cakey mess. Then I tried buffing it on with the same brush (I also tried a stippling brush) and no powder and I got the same result so I washed my face since I'm not ready to face the 40 year old me yet. Then I tried applying it with my fingers (no powder) like how I do with MAC F&B. This gave me an even flawless finish. I wear this over Lancome La Base Pro. I wanted to see if I could forgo powder but the foundation started to look oily as the day went on. If this lasted all day without a powder it would be my HG. I gave it 4 lippies because it does what it's supposed to do and the shade range is phenomenal.
EDIT: I hate to say this but I'm starting to not like this foundation. Every time I put it on I'm reminded of the collosal price tag. I realized that this foundation is dramatially over priced. The packaging is plastic. The quality of the product is not that great. It does not last at all. I bought this foundation to look good in photos but on a few recent night outs I discovered that the nice photo effect wears off after a couple hours and leaves a big greasy mess. I have dry skin and this foundation makes my skin look like a grease pit. And I wear it over a primer. I tried putting powder over it, but no. I still look like a mess. Yep. This is one of my regret purchases.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/2/2013 9:49:00 PM More reviews by xxxPikadoodlexxx

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

I am so so glad I did not jump on the MUFE HD foundation bandwagon years ago and buy without trying it this when it was all the rage. I have gotten samples of this foundation multiple times in multiple different shades over 4 or 5 years always hoping I'd find one that works and they all... suck. Really, this stuff sucks. There's no other way to say it. It's runny, doesn't blend well, it's drying, it doesn't provide much (if any) coverage, it seeps into your pores, it oxidizes and just looks like crap in general. I don't see how this foundation works for anyone. Maybe it does, but I'm inclined more people buy it for the name than actual effectiveness.
Update: I had to add a couple more lippies because... I got ANOTHER sample, this time in 120, and it was a dead on match. Then I tried it with the beauty blender and it wasn't horrible... but it's still far from amazing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/28/2013 4:23:00 AM More reviews by icallitbliss

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Love this stuff! My face has been looking amazing since I started using it. Perfect color too, and I'm extremely pale and hard to match! HG and will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No