October 25, 2014 | 1593 users online

Foundations - Rimmel - Wake Me Up



image 0image 1image 2

rated 3.7(291 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 3/24/2013 2:09:00 PM More reviews by winnieisapoohwitch

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

So I've been using this foundation for a while now, and I am a huge fan the semi-dewy finish. My skin is quite oily with a bit of hormonal acne, and this foundation does a good job of making me look dewy and not oily as I find there is often a thin line between the two. However, there are a few downsides to this foundation. Firstly, the colour match for me is not good. The foundation does not come in many shades and all the shades carry a strong pink undertone, definitely not suited to my asian skin with yellow undertones. I chose natural beige 400 which is too dark for me however it does give me a lovely sunkissed look, except I look slightly pink too. I avoid looking too pink by only applying 3/4 of a pump, as I find as soon as I start building it up, the pink really becomes noticeable. Secondly, I find this foundation rubs off easily, so touching my face when I have this foundation is a nono. Overall, amazing foundation if you happen to be matched to one of the not-so-many shades rimmel offers with this foundation!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/23/2013 10:26:00 AM More reviews by missjuly15

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Can anyone tell me if they've seen this foundation in Michigan? I've searched every drugstore CVS/RiteAid/Walgreens/Walmart/Kmart and can't find it! :(
I've checked ebay and it's only sold Internationally.

But I see that select Walmarts carry the Wake Me Up concealer. Weird!

(I even emailed Rimmel and I'm waiting on a response)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 3/21/2013 5:39:00 PM More reviews by blondefornow

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I am fairly obsessed with Youtube beauty videos. After Tanya Burr went on and on about Rimmel's Wake me Up foundation, I searched for a british retailer who would ship to me. Feelunique had the color I wanted, so I confidently placed my order...ignoring the Vitalumiere I had in my Chanel.com cart. My expectations were for a foundation that would offer sheer, dewey coverage. First things first. The packaging is great with a lovely pump. 100 Ivory is nice and seems to match my skin nicely. The scent is pleasant and the texture/consistency is light, almost fluffy. There is also a slickness which allows for decent slip while applying. My hopes, while not completely dashed..were slightly nicked. I have absolutely no idea what dewey means to Tanya Burr...or the advertising execs at Rimmel, but Wake me Up left me as matt as every other foundation I have ever worn! I don't know how Awake I looked after application, but matt doesn't suggest youth or vitality!! I don't hate it. It does cover nicely, medium I would say. It doesn't accentuate dryness, but dry patches did poke through (areas that didn't look dry before application). I did have significant creasing under my eyes, which I never have. It didn't feel bad on my skin and I haven't broken out from use. Here's the funniest part.the next day I used 1/2 pump of the foundation and THREE pumps of Clinique's Uplighter and STILL had a completely matt face!!! Sigh...I am on a quest for dewey, plump looking skin. Perhpas the summer will bring more life into this foundation for me. I will continue to use, but it does not live up to its claim for me!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/18/2013 8:25:00 PM More reviews by isabellalevi

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I'm a self-confessed beauty junkie and have tried every foundation under the sun. I've recently been using YSL's Teint de Touche Eclat which is great, but I wanted to try a drugstore foundation for days when I'm just at uni or something.

This is literally AMAZING. It's totally changed my perspective on drugstore foundations and I'm so glad I left my MAC Studion Fix long ago!

It gives a medium coverage with a satin finish (but more dewy than my YSL foundation).
It's perfect for my normal/combo skin and lasts all day.
It's so soft and smooth and feels beautiful on the skin.
It easily covers blemishes and redness, whilst letting the skin breathe and light radiate from the high points of the face.

AND it's only £8.99!!! Honestly! What more could you want? Considering I've been spending £29 on YSL Teint de Touche Eclat, this is absolutely amazing.

I can imagine a Nars Sheer Glow fan would like this product a lot.

This is 100% HG status for me! I hope Rimmel never discontinue it.

Xxxx

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/18/2013 5:08:00 AM More reviews by vs0ne

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this foundation hoping that it would be a cheap alternative to the Bourjois Healthy Mix. Although I have quite happily used it for a year, I was just hunting for something new.

PROS
- As several people have mentioned, the packaging, while still recognizably a pharmacy/drug store foundation, is quite aesthetically pleasing and comes with a pump, the importance of which should not be overlooked.
- The overall texture of the foundation was very nice (stippled in with my Beauty Blender), and is not too runny (which I find to be a drawback in the application of other foundations).
- Has a slight fragrance which is not disturbing in the least.
- Dries with a nice finish on my combination skin, and was able to last the day in the unpredictable Melbourne weather (12C degrees and raining in the morning, and hot sunshine in the afternoon).

CONS
- Some people have mentioned not being affected by the disco-ball effect, but unfortunately I am not one of them; while from 1.5-2m (5ft-6ft) away, it is not noticeable, under sunlight and within talking distance to my friend she immediately pointed out that my face had suddenly become a glitterball.
- The shade that was the closest match to my skin, the 200 Soft Beige, was still too pink for my warm-toned Asian skin, and unfortunately I am still not a fan of the whole two-toned face neck shebang. (I turned out looking like a slightly pink version of the orange glittery bottle cap)

Overall, a good effort apart from the glitter which made mine unwearable outside (maybe I got a defective one with a super huge clump of glitter mixed in? Everyone else seems to find theirs fine...)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/17/2013 3:59:00 PM More reviews by annaharries

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Other

i love this product! i love that it has a pump too. it gives good coverage and it hides most of my under eye circles and blemishes. it's not oily at all so good for oily skin. im not a fan of the little sparkle/glitters in it but this product is VERY blendable. i have fair skin and the colour i got was in True Ivory, little dark but it's great! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/15/2013 11:49:00 PM More reviews by Noveltyy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Tan, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely foundation. It gives a nice satin finish, and is perfect for my slightly dry skin. It blends like a dream, and it doesn't look cakey unless you put too many layers on. It's more of medium coverage foundation - which is what I was looking for. It hides your flaws, but lets your natural skin still show underneath to give it natural finish.

When you test it out on your hand it seems really shimmey, but when you apply it on your face it turns a lot more matte though.

It has a pump. Thank god.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/12/2013 3:44:00 PM More reviews by LynnieK

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I cannot say enough about this product, it is amazing! For a long time I have been a loyal Estée Lauder Double Wear user. I need the coverage for redness and love the lasting quality. I went on maternity leave a month ago and thought, why am I spending so much on foundation when I'm just at home most days. I had read good things about this foundation on a few beauty blogs and at such a great price, thought I'd give it a try.

The coverage is quite comparable to Double Wear's. not quite as good but the best I've seen from a drugstore foundation. The finish is more radiant which I really like as I have dry skin. It also sets beautifully without any powder (I have been using Urban Decay's Dew Me spray over top).

The price, packaging, product, everything about it is really good. I have no complaints at all. I love this foundation and will likely repurchase this before my Double Wear.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/11/2013 11:32:00 PM More reviews by prettymar

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

First off I have to disagree with some reviews when they say that it is "sparkly".... ummm it isn't AT ALL... with that being said it is definitely a VERY nice foundation for the price. Doesn't break me out, Doesn't;t look cakey, and blends very nicely.
Would repurchase especially given that price!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/11/2013 4:56:00 PM More reviews by hellerenee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

My HG foundation. It's perfect on my skin, and I love that it has a tiny bit of shimmer in it. Appropriately discrete, you don't wanna look too glittery.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No