December 22, 2014 | 1806 users online

Liquid - MAC - Pro Longwear Foundation

rated 3.8(894 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 6/14/2013 6:22:00 PM More reviews by Kpmuzzy

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Love this foundation it's not too heavy and a medium coverage. I've got quite oily skin and have been looking for the best combo to keep me looking fresh for as long as possible. To do this I start off by using boots mattifing lotion, then B.prepared primer (Superdrug), this foundation then set with corn silk translucent loose powder (Boots) and for me it's the most effective combo for my oily skin (get a little shine, but only after hours of wear and doesn't effect the look of foundation when blotted). I know everyone's skin varies but this works for me and I think the products you use before and after can better or worsen the effectiveness of foundation and its about finding what works best for you. Personally I love this foundation and will definitely keep using :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/10/2013 9:41:00 PM More reviews by Xaephan

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I've bought two foundations from MAC (this one and the Matchmaster) and this one is by far the worse of the two. i was expecting to love this because I'm pretty darn oily and this is supposed to be long wearing, but nope! It goes on cakey and heavy from the start no matter what I do--sheer it out with a wet sponge didn't even help, even when I use far less than the Matchmaster. I don't notice that I get less shiny over the day when compared to the Matchmaster either. It does still look alright at the end of the day, but with the way it looks all mask-like and doesn't offer better oil control/staying power over other foundations, it was a bust for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/5/2013 12:41:00 PM More reviews by Lollyfox

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Do not bother ! One of the worst foundations MAC has ever made.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/4/2013 11:16:00 PM More reviews by myan21

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I'm disappointing. I'm a huge fan of MAC cosmetics and my absolute favourite foundation I have ever owned is studio fix fluid. I love how the foundation comes with a pump but I felt that this foundation was very heavy. It's sticky, rubbery, and still melts off my very oily face. Even with a primer, setting powered and setting spray it still transfers onto my clothes and skin and it also looks very cakey after mid day touch ups. But mixing it with a moisturizer does take away the sticky feeling.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/3/2013 11:44:00 PM More reviews by NoirAngelx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Overall, is a decent foundation for those looking for medium coverage, in a longwearing foundation base. It is mildly reminiscent of older foundation formulations (e.g. original Double Wear, Colorstay, etc.) that dried a bit tacky on the skin but had phenomenal staying power. This one is a bit more lightweight but still has a tendency to have that drying-cement feeling, which I personally don't mind because I have very oily skin, especially in the spring and summer. Is it longwearing? Yes. But the reason I won't be purchasing this again is because I don't have a good shade match, and I don't find the coverage to be buildable at all. I am a neutral-olive NC15 and I found the Pro Longwear colors to be rather orange-leaning, more so than the Studio Fix Fluid line. I also favor full coverage foundation, and when I tried to build it up, the top layer had already dried and it would become cakey quickly. I think those looking for a solid medium coverage will be happy with this. It is a pretty good foundation but I have other foundations I favor for a longwearing, matte base.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/2/2013 6:02:00 AM More reviews by guccimomma

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Wtf? This foundation sucks! And the sales assistant was such a lunatic. Her foundation was caked on like crazy,not to mention orange and way off from her pale skin tone. She even told me estee lauder dw is a better choice than mac! Apart from the above, the foundation is horrible. Melted off my face in less than an hour. Used it with primer and set it with powder. I will never ever purchase anything from mac again. After 3 disappointing products,one including studio fix, I have no faith in Mac.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/1/2013 5:39:00 PM More reviews by Chlo02

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I use nc40, and generally my skin can't hold foundation very well. With all others iv tried, it's off again within a couple of hours.
However this foundation stays on all day, from 8am til 6pm and looks fab. (Probably would last longer too)
I'd say it's medium coverage but extremely buildable for a higher coverage.
It's quite thick in consistency which I'm not a HUGE fan of but that's expected with a long lasting foundation i guess.
Overall I really like this foundation, would definitely buy it again, although I love mac so I'd like to try other foundations too! X

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/31/2013 8:16:00 AM More reviews by Ejaneeeeeee

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

LOVE this foundation, I'm a nw20 and it is completely perfect for my skin tone. It gives full coverage and lasts alllll day. The only things i dont like is I find myself using quite a few pumps more than I would with any other product to get the coverage I want which sucks because it is pretty expensive. And once iv applied it all over it feels... Weird on my face almost rubbery so I recommend setting it with a translucent powder :) 5 lippies for coverage!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/29/2013 1:16:00 PM More reviews by jamiehaneul

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I don't usually use foundation because it makes my skin look gross and greasy by the end of the day. This, if left on without powder, will become just a tad oily for me but it is still quite surprising it's not as oily as usual. With powder, this foundation sets perfectly. I haven't found a foundation like this before and I'm glad I've bought it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/25/2013 5:49:00 AM More reviews by Glove101

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using this foundation for about 2 years now.

My skin can get oily at times. This foundation does last a long time without looking ugly. When applied well - it will give you a flawless finish. I rarely have problems with it looking cakey. It does provide medium coverage. I have red acne marks and this does not fully cover them but this does make them way less noticeable.

I haven't really had much problems with this foundation. So I will continue to use it. So far it has worked better than studio fix and clinque foundations I have tried in the past.

Is this review helpful? Yes No