December 17, 2014 | 1769 users online

Palettes - Urban Decay - NAKED

rated 4.6(2180 reviews)

Pin It

RELATED PRODUCTS

NAKED2: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=148781/NAKED2-/Urban-Decay/Palettes

NAKED3: http://www.makeupalley.com/product/showreview.asp/ItemId=167248/NAKED-3/Urban-Decay/Palettes

rated 3 of 5 on 10/16/2010 3:17:00 AM More reviews by Holly13

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Like many of you, I was hunting this down and happened to walk by the Urban Decay counter at Macy's just as they were putting them out. As I snagged it I thought "Ha! I've got you now! Maybe I should buy two?" and took it home to use right away. I'm an eye makeup junkie, and especially love nude shades. Well, I've used The Naked Palette for about two weeks now, and I feel kinda dumb getting all hopped up about it. It is beautifully packaged and versatile, but I feel like I could have taken my $44.00 to Target and duped every shade with change left over. Frankly, my Wet & Wild and L'oreal shadows are pretty much on par with these. The UD Primer Potion makes my shadow crease worse, for some reason, so I'm tossing it. I agree with everyone on the nice pigmentation and creamy texture, but they just don't blend as easily as other UD shadows I've used in the past. Plus, they crease. UD eyeshadow never creased on my lids before. Staying power on me is about five to eight hours, with the matte shades lasting the longest, but nothing exceptional. If I blend a matte shade over a shimmer, it's pretty much toast in five hours, or less on a hot day.The dual ended liner is a cool idea and dreamy to apply, but I'm bummed they don't last very long. Not waterproof or even water-resistant for me, either. After an hour I need a touch up, and in two my liner is gone! I'm not saying don't buy this, but it's not worth getting all freaked out over. It's an average product that has been hyped out of proportion. Were I were able to test drive it before I pulled the trigger, I would have passed. So, while I still love Urban Decay and will continue to buy their gear, sadly I'm going to say I would not purchase this particular item again. I do love looking at the silvery, shimmery colors, though.

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/13/2010 6:31:00 PM More reviews by shortieumpkin

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this all because of the hype. There is so much fall out with these. I am not impressed with the colors... you can find them all without buying this palette. If you have lots of eyeshadows.... you probably have must of them.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/13/2010 6:01:00 PM More reviews by SelinaKat

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Ok, this is a "warm palette", yet it has no gold highlight colors. The highlighters "Sin" and "Virgin" are pale pink/peach/silver shades. There is a ton of fall out if you don't use a primer, but the primer makes it look a bit cakey and crepe-y. "Half baked" is a copper/burnt gold and can appear garish if you do not smoke it out with a brown color, in person and in photos. In fact, I'm most disappointed that it looks so harsh in photos. All of these colors are highly pigmented, but they do not photograph in a beautiful, natural way. It's not a sheen, it's sparkly.

"Toasted" and "Hustle" do not photograph and look as good as Sable or Smut from MAC. I'm not even a MAC eyeshadow's girl, but these MAC shadows have less chunkiness to them and is more flattering.

"Smog" is a nice color, but it can be duped by many brown/bronzes in several other palettes.

I bought this Palette because of the hype and because of how beautiful the swatches looked on the back of my hand. They definitely don't look that way throughout the day (Fall out) or in photos. A lot of times, the shadows that look good on the hand look too heavy on the eye. For now, I think Hourglass eyeshadows far surpass the ones in this palette, both in texture, quality, and photo-ability.

However, I don't regret buying this palette. It's fun to carry around, but it does leave something to be missed. I always find myself reaching for a gold/shimmer highlighter instead (Sin and Virgin washes my yellow-toned skin out).

I want to say these shadows in general are high quality and they have a very silver sheen to them. It's lovely to look out, but not the best for my complexion. I will say it's better quality than the Two-Faced naked palettes. However, I would be happy just having Smog and Naked (Dupe: MAC's KID) out of these palettes. Actually, Sidecar, though it has a lot of fall out, really brightens the eyes when applied in the lower lash line despise the intense silver glitter.

I've seen this look beautiful on some people, so I say, watch a lot of videos and tutorials on this and see if you'd think it'd look good on you.

For reference, I'm NC25-30, light brown hair, warm toned, light brown eyes, light-golden complexion.

16 out of 24 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 10/13/2010 4:20:00 PM More reviews by Wisteria005

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I got this because of all the hype, and like MAC's Stereo Rose, I just didn't see why literally, EVERYBODY got it. I have dupes for most of the colors, and I just don't get much use out of it. Sadly, I bought into the hype, and bought 2. The only really nice thing about this palette is the packaging, but other than that I don't really like it very much. Just my opinion. :)

12 out of 21 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/13/2010 4:11:00 PM More reviews by mestuprancid

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

The best Urban Decay palette I have ever bought. I own every other palette and this is the only one that I can, and have used every single color in. It took forever to find it anywhere but i'm so happy I didn't give in and pay some ridiculous amount for it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2010 11:04:00 PM More reviews by cjgrrl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

Awesome, love it,best colours and amazing pigments, best thing going!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2010 10:03:00 PM More reviews by Juls616

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this palette, I went into the store and bought it as soon as it was available. The colors are so pretty and pigmented. A little goes a long way. You can use all of them together or separate and I like that there are some colors more matte, and other more glittery and shimmery. Hustle, sidecar and toasted are my absolute favorites in the palette. Half baked looks really good on me when I have a nice tan. Plus, I really like that it comes with the eyeshadow primer potion because it really makes a difference in how long the shadow lasts. Overall this is a great product and after using it on clients and friends, they have all gone out to get there own! Its a Must Have!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2010 9:39:00 PM More reviews by SapphireRoses80

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've had this palette for 2 months now and I can officially say this is hands down the best palette in my collection! It's my go to when I'm in a rush or if I'm traveling. The price for this palette is amazing, $44. A single drugstore eyeshadow can range anywhere from 3-5 dollars, and most of the time they aren't deeply pigmented and end up taking a lot of space in your makeup drawer unless you depot them which will cost more since you'll have to purchase something to put them in. I think for anyone that's starting out in makeup and wants to make a smart money saving purchase, the naked palette is the way to go. The colors are creamy, highly pigmented, easily blendable, and best of all, every single color is beautiful. There is not one color in this palette that I don't like. I wish Urban Decay would hurry up and restock this for all the women and men that are still waiting to buy it.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/12/2010 2:28:00 AM More reviews by smellerie03

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

OMG! This palette is a must have for anybody! I seriously don't know why didn't buy this palette sooner. There is a very nice range of colors in this palette, all of the shadows are very nicely pigmented and so soft and silky. ove this palette and am so glad I got it, definitely a good investment, and highly recommend it. Other than that I love it! The price may seem a bit high, but each of these shadows retail individually for $17 so it is actually a killer deal ($204 value) for only $44, I would say it is a steal of a deal.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/11/2010 10:09:00 AM More reviews by amystewart

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm not great when it comes to picking out colour combinations for eyeshadows but since buying this fantastic pallette, it doesnt' matter.
All the colours go beautifully together and really suit my complexion. I have blonde hair and blue eyes but I think any colouring could wear this pallette.

It's really easy to create pretty day looks with matte colours like naked and buck and a bit of Sidecar or Toasted to liven it up and then has fantasically dramatic yet wearable colours like Darkhouise and Gunmetal for smokey evening looks.

It comes with thye eyeshadow primer which I could take or leave - a bit of foundation works better for me.

Overall great palette, colours and although pricey its still full of wearable pigmented colours (I got it 20% off in Debenhams and had 10 worth of beauty points so it worked out around 15 but full price its not cheap).

I took 1 lipstick off becasue if you dont like shimmer and glitter this (and all UD products) isnt for you, plus its expensive.

Is this review helpful? Yes No