Baking Soda

4.0

485 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Sodium bicarbonate


on 5/16/2011 10:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have tried so many facialscrubs, Cliniques, No7, St Ives, Origins, you name it! they all worked to some extent but never made a massive difference. Until now! I use baking soda mixed into a paste with some cold water and use that on its own as a scrub and OH MY WORD my skin has never been so great! Pores smaller, less breakouts, scars fading and skin so smooth and soft!! I always use this scrub every night after taking my makeup off to ensure my skin is free from it, and use Cliniques Moisture Surge gel afterwards. I will NEVER go back to using a branded face scrub again! Especially when a tub of bicarb costs me 56p!!! :D Honestly, if you love face scrubs you need to try this!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 5/10/2011 7:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I use this every other time I wash my hair ( I add it to my shampoo) to get rid of build up. I also use it as a spot treatment for my modderate acne.Great product I definatly recomend it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/10/2011 7:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Use this in a little cleanser and it does help keep the pores minimized!I put it in my hair to help removed build up once,twice a week.Good stuff!
I see results.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I use baking soda to brush my teeth and add it to a cleanser to exfoliate. I know it has many other uses that i got to try out...especially for the hair.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2011 7:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I use this as a spot treatment for whenever I pick at my face or a pimple is coming up. I use it over night and it seems to prevent anything from getting worse. It will also dry up some of my acne. Once in a while I will exfoliate my face with it but I don't do it too often since I've heard it isn't good to put on your face so I don't use this everyday.


on 5/3/2011 9:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Made me break out with cystic acne on my cheeks and forehead. It's really bad... I hope I can recover from this :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2011 4:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

My hair stylist told me I had build up in my hair so I searched all over the internet for a color safe, clarifying shampoo. I came across some articles that stated you could mix baking soda in with your shampoo and it will clarify you hair and is relatively safe for color treated hair. So I took washed my hair first with shampoo then I mixed about a tablespoon in with another shampoo application and applied it like I normally do. Scrubbed the roots all the way to the ends but I let it sit on there for 2-3 minutes. When I rinsed it out my hair felt squeaky clean! I went on with my regular routine by adding conditioner and it felt awesome when I was finished. I had no idea I even had build up in my hair but after washing it like this I could definitely tell a difference. I had been using a sulfate free shampoo for a few months so I think that was a culprit. While I will continue to use the sulfate free shampoo, I will do this baking soda routine once every two to three weeks depending on how greasy my hair gets.. I don't want to wash out my color but I am definitely enjoying a cleaner head of hair!

I also read you could use it to exfoliate your skin, even your face. Haven't been brave enough to try that yet!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2011 11:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE baking soda....love it love it.

~ use it instead of shampoo leaves my hair nice & clean for days
~ use it as a facial scrub as described above about once a week
~ my son uses it as a facial scrub he's 10 & starting to get a little acne around his nose keeps it nice & clear

around my home:
~ clean my bath tub
~ clean my pots & sink
~ clean my stove top

I'm sure there are more ways i use it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2011 10:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

AMAZING. I've been contemplating whether or not I should try it, but I thought why not? Last night, I thoroughly mixed 1 tbs of baking soda with 1 cup of water, poured it into a water bottle, splashed it onto my head while showering, and I came out with incredibly clean hair. My hair was voluminous, shiny, and felt like it had just been cleaned with actual shampoo. Highly recommend.




Last night was the first night I tried using baking soda as a shampoo, so I will update if I find any flaws. Not going back to using shampoo until I find any.

EDIT (Dec 30, 2014): Solely using baking soda appears to make the hair oil worse! My hair doesn't feel clean afterwards. It feels heavier & thicker in a bad, unclean way. I really wanted it to work.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2011 11:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

did not work for me. i have eczema and this really irritated it. it did make my skin feel soft and clean. i wish my skin would let me use it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

116 reviews
image

Sugar

251 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

51 reviews
Back to Top