Revlon Super Lustrous Creme - Pink in the Afternoon

4.2

207 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/28/2009 7:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I really like this lipstick! It's my first one and I'm happy I got it. It looks a lot like the pink that Audrey Hepburn has on in "Breakfast at Tiffany's", but on my very pigmented lips, it looks a bit brighter. I'm sure it would look softer with a bit of concealer to tone down my lips natural colour. It's also great quality, not super shiny like gloss, but not super matte. It lasted me through a meal, so the staying quality is great. I personally don't need lip pencil while using it because it doesn't bleed, but then again I have full, smooth lips. All in all, it's a great everyday lipstick!

EDIT: Way bright on my lips and concealer just makes it look weird. And not really an everyday lipstick due to the brightness, but if I lightly pat it onto my lips, it looks cute yet subtle.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 7/12/2009 6:12:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I finally found the perfect pink lipstick! Who would have guessed that Pink In The Afternoon, which has been around for years would work for me. No matter what color pink I put on it turns blue, not this one, I don't see the "retro pink" that I've read here and I'm medium with blonde hair and blue eyes. It does have that understated Breakfast At Tiffany's feel to it, that it's a simple creme, no frost, just lays down an elegant pink color that doesn't change 2 minutes later. Could be an HG lippie for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/6/2009 9:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

No, no, no. This is SO not for me! Fabulous color in the tube--it's a light, super-60's pink. When I put it on, it couldn't have been worse--it's absolutely the wrong color and all you could see were these glowing lips. This would look great on someone with dark coloring, but not on me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My first Revlon lipstick ever and I love it! I got it at CVS for 50% off and I decided to try to Revlon lipsticks b/c I'm obssessed with MAC lippies, but they get kinda expensive. This shade is great. Its the perfect dupe for MAC's Fanfare lipstick! It doesn't have that weird annoying scent that lipsticks tend to have. It's very moisturizing too!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2009 10:49:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

What a wonderful lipstick line!! I love this line so much for the color selection, the wearability, and the overall attractiveness of the products.
I'm adoring my new Pink in the Afternoon lipstick! it's the *perfect* subtle pink for my pigmented lips. I'm dark skinned, with cool undertones I've been told. I have hispanic/mexican skin, and therefore, very few MLBB or pale shades look right on me.
This pink qualifies as a pale-ish color, but it's not mod-white-out looking or too pastel/opaque. It's not sheer either. It's just a creamy, lovely, geranium pink with about medium coverage. I can see it being fairly visible on fairer skin tones, but on me, it's just such a nice and neutral pink.
This is what I wanted L'oreal's Pink Tranquilo to be (i saw that on a pic of J-lo)...and sometimes i can be too idealistic in thinking pale pinks work on me. This one does work...and at $6.99, it's a total bargain.

the packaging: gorgeous. Black durable plastic case with no weird bullet shape (*cough*MAC*cough), just simple with a clear top that allows you to see the color. I have 2 other lipsticks from this line and i love that aspect. The side says "Revlon" in gold.

cost: as stated above, $6.99 USD at my most expensive supermarket, so you could probably find even cheaper.

smell/taste: zero, zip, nada! lovely and non-offensive!

texture: smooth/creamy, no shimmer and no weird flaking, etc.

misc: the undertones for this pink are not really blue or yellow, just more of a neutral pink. I'd say it is somewhere on the warmer side if i had to pick.

Lovely! This whole line is amazing, please check it out the next time you need a little pick-me-up!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is a wonderful playboy-type pink on me. It's a warm creamy pink shade with a good texture. Yes of course it leaves marks on cups, etc. and disappears after a while, but you get a good few hours of wear, and it just looks so pornolicious in a Doris Day way. I love it to bits. Also, if you're feeling tacky, this matches Rimmel's Portobello Pink nail polish.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/21/2009 1:03:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This lipstick was only about $4 with the BOGOF ds sales....I agree, when I put this on, I immediately thought of Audrey Hepburn from Breakfast at Tiffanys. A very retro yet modern creamy pink that's neither warm nor cool. I'm a superbig fan of Revlon lipsticks and this one is another winner!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2009 8:42:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the perfect girly shade and is such a classic color. Reminds me of Holly Golightly's lipstick in Breakfast at Tiffanys! I wear this everyday.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 3/2/2009 12:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This looked so bad on me! I am a fair skinned brunette with brown eyes and it looked like a bright, light opaque warm pink - reminded me of the old lady from There's Something About Mary. The finish is semi-matte.

I think others (blondes probably) would look fabulous in this lipstick.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2009 1:40:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Picked this up during a BOGO based on a jones for spring and based on the picture, which is very accurate. I like the texture and packaging. The lipstick wears long enough for a cream and the pink doesn't clash with my warm-toned skin. But I will say that the pink is sort of flat and one-dimensional. It's not ugly or garish, just not my typical look. A sheerer formula would have been more flattering for this shade.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews
Back to Top