November 28, 2014 | 1874 users online

Eye Makeup Remover - Estee Lauder - Gentle Eye Makeup Remover



image 0

rated 2.8(187 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 31% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/31/2005 10:28:00 PM More reviews by karinc713

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

takes off all my water resistant eyemakeup instantly w/out irritation or stinging. for some reason this dissolves the eye makeup quickly so there's no need to rub or tug the eye area.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/28/2005 3:34:00 PM More reviews by ceciliathegreat

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

OHHH! I like this, as much as I love Lancôme`s stuff, I find Estée Lauder`s is MUCH better than Lancôme`s Bi-facil or Neutrogena`s eyemakeup remover!
Lazy Gals: I'm kinda lazy, so unlike the 'bi-phase' removers, you don't need to shake the bottle which really helps when you're running short on time or if you're so tired after a long day's work. In most directions, they tell you to hold the saturated cotton pad on your eye for a few seconds then wipe off, but I never do that. I like to swipe immediately and from this I can tell that Estée Lauder's work best because virtually EVERYTHING comes off right away! With Lancôme or Neutrogena`s I really need to rub several times which irritates my eyes, otherwise I`ll need to pour A LOT of it on the pad.
Texture: Very soapy! There's no foam lathered up around your eyes or anything like that lol, but to me it feels slippery like soap. Yet there`s absolutely NO greasiness either (Lancôme/Neutrogena's have ALOT of oilies).
Effectivity: It seems like many reviewers have mentioned that this does not take off eye makeup effectively as it is 'too gentle'. Well the reason that 'it does not take it all off' is because you DO NOT SEE ALL THE EYE GUNK on your cotton pad since it NEUTRALIZES the color!!! That's right! This is what's SOOO COOL about this remover: it neutralizes colors! Since ppl don't SEE the gunk on the cotton pad, they automatically think it didn't do the job right. I think this is much more pleasant to the eye because know you're not cleaning your eye with previously cleaned off gunk stuck on the pad.
Overall, great product, i'm gonna run out to buy the full size product cuz I got this as a sample in the first place. Also, it's much cheaper than Lancôme`s Bi-facil. I used to despize EL (for no apparent reason lol) and thus have never bought much of their stuff, but now i'm beginning to see things differently about this brand! continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/25/2005 6:11:00 PM More reviews by hollywoodgurl

Age: 44-55 Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Violet

Wouldn't buy this again, as this doesn't seem to easily take off much of anything. I think it is too gentle to remove waterproof makeups, but sometimes it seems to sting my eye area, not a good thing. I think that EL's Take It Away is far far superior to this, and its cream base doesn't ever sting or irritate my eye area at all, so I'll stick with that forever.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/2/2005 11:57:00 PM More reviews by cjenn

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I like that this stuff has a small hole in the bottle, eliminates waste, though this isn't horribly expensive. It took off my eyemakeup pretty well, about as well as Neutrogena's Gentle Eyemakeup Remover, without any irritation. I did have some difficulty taking off my h20 proof L'Oreal eyeliner though, I had to use two cotton balls. All in all however, I like this stuff, but may give the Take It Away next time, the bottle is twice as big.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/26/2005 5:26:00 PM More reviews by travgsmom

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This remover left me with dark smudges under my eyes. I wear Clinique Naturally Glossy mascara that isn't even waterproof. Maybe they changed the formula since the earlier reviews.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/26/2005 8:51:00 AM More reviews by azndolleyes

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

it sucks,it can not remove ur waterproof make-up AT ALL!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 4/9/2004 5:41:00 AM More reviews by beccaxxx

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Works okay but too pricy!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/14/2004 5:06:00 AM More reviews by RedT

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I really thought I might not like this (but bought it anyway!!) but I do! It takes off even the most stubborn mascara and eye liner (Smashbox I'm looking at you!)with no need to rub. It has oil in it but doesn't feel oily at all and doesn't leave behind an ikky residue like others do. About £12 in the UK and lasts for ages so I'd definitely buy this again. Loving Estee Lauder again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/6/2004 12:47:00 AM More reviews by funkykitty

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Silver, Other, Other Eyes: Violet

Gentle it is since it didnt remove hardly anything. I prfer Lancomes Bifacil by a longshot. It didnt bother my eyes but it didnt work very well either. I do tend to wear a lot of make up, the works - primer, several shadows, liner, mascara etc but for 15.00 this is drugstore quality in a department store price. Pass on this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 12/30/2003 12:15:00 PM More reviews by noseofblue

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Not gentle enough. This is just one of many eye makeup removers that claims to be "gentle" but makes my eyes sting anyway. If you've got sensitive eyes or allergies, try Kiehls or La Mer, which actually are gentle.

Is this review helpful? Yes No