November 23, 2014 | 2033 users online

Tinted Moisturizer - NARS - Pure Radiant Tinted Moisturizer

rated 4.0(355 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 67% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/18/2013 5:19:00 PM More reviews by bleuday

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I marked this as a repurchase, but I probably won't ....


however, if you're a 1) brand buyer; 2) looking for a good solid tinted moisturizer, this may be your ticket.


First, the finish on this is very good. I did have a few problems getting the correct color; however, once I got the right color, I was pleased with the product.


Great finish. Great wear. Great packaging .... hey, it's NARS.


However, I am much more happy with the finish on the MD Skincare (Dr. Dennis Gross) that I picked up. That's the one I keep reaching for. Over and over. Also, I found the color matching far more forgiving. Matched up first time around.


There's something about the finish and overall treatment benefits that make that product my current go to. Really impressive and natural, which goes along with the color matching .... but, had I not discovered that one, I would be using my NARS. The NARS is a bit more 'make-upy,' imo. Not quite as natural. Not quite as easy. Not quite the treatment benefits I had wanted.



I really don't mean this as a bait and switch; rather, not everyone likes to try something a little off the brand track.



TM's I've used and enjoyed in the past (that I remember): Perricone, Stila, Bienfait Du Matin ... and, now, this MD SkinCare


TM's I did not enjoy (off the top of my head): Bobbi Brown, Laura Mercia



Good solid choice if you're not inclined to go "off-brand."


:-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/12/2013 9:58:00 PM More reviews by 123finallyfriday

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for about a week now, and as a product-junkie I must say Im impressed. I purchased this because I was tired of the "perfect" look. that foundation gives, where yes, ur skin looks perfect, but also a bit fake, no matter how well its blended..... So I wanted something nice, sheer, and natural looking that would still give me some color, a glow, and spf. This product makes my skin look super fresh (without looking too dewy, hate that) and feel super soft. I have it in the color St. Moritz, and it matches me really well, Im around an nc35-nc37 with olive undertones. one of the things I really like about it is that it doesnt accentuate any pores or fine lines, I feel like my skin look more youthfull wearing this, where as I find a foundation can often age you. If it wasnt for the price, and that it isnt available here in Denmark I would have given it 5 lippies, but for the inconvenience of having to research to find the shade you think is right and pay an extra 12 euro for shipping I take it one down. it is a steep tinted moisturizer, but I will most likely buy it again if/when I run out.

***
Been using this consistanly for almost 6 months now, and its still my most reached for face base. EVERYTIME I get compliments on my skin, I am wearing this. and I work as a makeup artist. would Highly recomend!
Also love mixing this with a drop of my sheer glow for special occasions when I want a bit more flawlessness! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 1/11/2013 1:19:00 PM More reviews by deanna424

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I wanted to like this. The lightest color was a good match for me. The coverage was good for a tinted moisturizer. I'm not sure what's in this but it broke me out horribly. I had a face full of bumps almost overnight. I expected better from Nars!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/4/2013 8:49:00 AM More reviews by viiixxxen

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I wish I could give this product a much higher grade, but unfortunetly it doesn't work for me. :/

The packaging is really nice and straight to the point with the squeeze tube. I find the quantity of product easy to control and that it's a nice and simple way for it to come. The color "Finland", which is the lightest, matched well with my NC15 skin and I had no problems there - it's a nice selection of shades.

This TM goes very lightweight and feels like nothing on your skin. The look of it is so natural and easy going that I can see how someone would love it to death if they're into "no makeup makeup". Didn't cover the light spots of past acne I have The lasting power is pretty decent and I find that just by using some powder over my T-zone I was okay in the oil-control department for most of the day (just had to blot once).

However, it broke me out pretty² badly. I'm inclined to believe it was the titanium dioxidade, since it looks like I'm getting pretty sensitive to it. :/ If you aren't sensitive as I'm to it, i would most definetly recommend this for an person who enjoys TM with ligh coverage and the no-makeup feel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/3/2013 12:05:00 PM More reviews by rpairan

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Blue

I switched from Laura Mercier's tinted moisturizer to this and I love it! I am in the color Alaska and it covers so well for a tinted moisterizer. Durning the summer I would put it over Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer and it stayed on all day, even after a kickball game in 100 degree heat. I can't say enough good things about this product love love love!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/1/2013 3:07:00 AM More reviews by iLoveYoutwo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

AMAZING product. I got matched with the shade Alaska and it covers my redness and unevenness very well without looking fake. I have acne prone skin and I get oily throughout the day.

Also, I noticed after I started using this product, my skin looks better than ever.

I am NC 20 and I use Alaska. I have sensitive, clog prone skin but this is gorgeous on me. When I wear this it just looks like I was blessed with beautiful skin.

ALSO, when I remove this at night I can see the product on the cotton pad, meaning my skin didn't drink this up.

Please vote up if this was helpful to you!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/28/2012 12:35:00 PM More reviews by nora3mac

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I got this in the shade Seychelles med/dark 2. The shade matching is fine, maybe would have preferred it to be slightly darker, but only by the smallest amount. For reference I am Caramel 400 in revlon colorstay (combination/oily), warm almond in bobbi brown and roughly an NC50 in MAC (slightly to dark for me).Its an ok product, light coverage but can be built to a medium coverage which is pretty good for a product branded as a tinted moisturizer, it feels and works more like a light coverage foundation.
The finish is very luminous and but not dewy which would make this a very good product for those with oily skin. For refrence I have normal skin with some dry areas around my nose.It has a slightly thick consistancy, like a traditional liquid foundation. It actually remids me a alot of the YSL le tient touche eclat foundation, but the shade selection is much better for me as I could't find a good shade match in YSL (their shades were wack).
My biggest gripe with this is the smell. Its stinks, I could really smell the scent when I had it on, I'm really bad at describing smells but it's this really odd fragrance, like a nasty strong perfume. I put it on and for the next two hours I could smell the fragrance and it made me nauseous. This however might be just me, as I am sensitive to smells.
Personally for me this product is pretty average, after all the hype I didn't really get blown away by it. Its pretty expensive for what it is and I don't think I will be repurchasing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/20/2012 10:53:00 PM More reviews by artemistzitzikilakis

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Could there be a nicer TM? This is exactly my dream; SPF 30 for winter, lasts long on (no primer, no sunscreen so far), somewhat mositurizing, and sheer to almost moderate coverage. It has more coverage then say the LM or BB TM, but it's not a fdtn. I always, always wore fdtn to cover my "flaws" then realized....,I don't have any and this is just making me look so much older! I am NC25 and got Alaska. It's a neutral/warm, but the next one up is St. Moritz and it's just terribly orance. Alaskea could be darker for me but it really is just close enough as it's not heavy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/19/2012 8:19:00 PM More reviews by illaillanow

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my holy grail. I work in the industry, every day, with that said, I have to wear a full face every day. This tinted moisturizer allows me to look presentable without feeling like I have too much caked on. I've experimented with many different brands (Laura Mercier, Dior, Smashbox, just to name a few), this is hands down the best for light- medium coverage for oily-combo skin. Dior turned me into an oil slick. Laura Mercier would separate on expression lines for some reason. Smashbox was too heavy for an every day tinted moisturizer. Then one day, I went out on a limb and purchased this bad boy. My. Mind. Is. Blown. Oil free beautifulness. This tinted moisturizer gives such a beautiful glow without shimmer or any of those fillers that "radiance" claiming products are usually full of. It just looks like skin. I will say though, the shade range is very much on the warm side, and I wear Alaska, with a slight discrepancy that I don't mind blending out for the formula, I just wish there wasn't such a huge gap between shades and there were more neutral tones. I wear this with a primer on days I need it to last longer and I set with my Sephora Mattifying Compact Foundation, seems to give me an amazing finish.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/13/2012 2:42:00 PM More reviews by Mikeswife

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to love this, but alas, it's going back.

Price: At $42, certainly not drugstore-level pricing, but in line with other high-end TM's, like BB or LM.

Packaging: My tube came with a broken top. I ordered direct from NARS.

Product: I normally use BB TM in XL Tint, so I ordered this in Finland, even though on the screen it looks very pale. I was surprised to find that it blended evenly into my skin and did not look unnatural. It has a nice finish, and provides good coverage for a TM, pretty well masking the reddish pigmentation in my skin. It also has a slightly fruity smell, not at all unpleasant. Bonus points for the high SPF.

So what's the problem? I also have very dry skin, especially on my T-zone, for which I heavily moisturize and exfoliate. Unlike BB's TM, this product seems to cling to, crease in and settle on all of my dry areas, particularly my cheeks, nose and forehead. I don't know if this is due to the OF formulation or if it's something else in their product. It's only noticeable when I hold a hand mirror right up close to inspect, but no matter.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No