July 29, 2014 | 1111 users online

Pressed Powders - Maybelline - Dream Matte Pressed Powder

rated 4.1(1379 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 78% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/2/2012 6:04:00 AM More reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is my HG pressed powder. I'm currently nc25 and I use the shade "beige". The next shade "honey" only works when i'm nc30-35. I have oily skin and this powder keeps my oils in check throughout the day! Doesn't look Cakey and blends in well. I use my elf flat top studio powder brush to apply to my t-zone after applying my liquid foundation. Def would repurchase! :)

Edit (6/13/13):
I still love this powder but I feel rimmel's stay matte powder does a better job at oil control!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/1/2012 10:39:00 PM More reviews by nomoreagingforme

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is an excellent powder for a drugstore! The tiny bit of coverage it gives you has a great finish. I honestly prefer Mac powder better but this is a lot cheaper which is a bonus.

This powder helps prevent smudging in other applicatiions. I would recommend it definitely if you are looking for an easy makeup that applies well without any problems and prevents smudging for other makeups.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/24/2012 1:32:00 AM More reviews by fishiebubble

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Pretty happy with this actually, I'd previously been using the NYC translucent powder but it leaves a white sheen across my face and doesn’t actually seem to keep the shine at bay. This stuff however, I've got no white sheen and no oily face!

I'm happy that I can now use up the rest of my incredibly expensive foundation which I had been thinking was a dud because it left me too shiny faced, but now, I can just dust some of the Dream Matte Powder over to correct the problem.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/23/2012 7:29:00 AM More reviews by TitaniumRose

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Other Eyes: Brown

Controls my oil, and doesn't make my face breakout, look ashy, etc. My HG powder atm.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/23/2012 12:18:00 AM More reviews by ariel2229

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this I put it over my Sonia kashuk tinted moisturizer and it keeps the oil away and gives me a Glow

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/21/2012 1:53:00 PM More reviews by missdiordior

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

The worst powder ever! I have combination skin with dry T zone. It only dries my skin even more and highlights my flakes. It was bought before my wedding and I regreted immediately. I'd say, ladies, if you have very dry skin, DO NOT even consider about this powder. I would never buy it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/18/2012 5:44:00 AM More reviews by jun109

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

this is my go-to powder whenever i use BB cream / liquid foundation / over any sunblock to take away any shine/ stickiness. even for BB cream with the lousiest oil control, i can just powder this on and my base makeup will last whole day (usually from 8am-10pm) with just some blotting. it's finely milled powder with light coverage and fantastic for oily skin / t zone.

I'm pretty neutral on the packaging although the swivel design can be less confusing but i love that it separates the puff and powder and therefore great for travelling / touching up.

the only thing that can be bad for this powder is the lack of SPF and that it's not available in Singapore.

for reference, i am a NC15-20 and uses Light4-5, cream shade.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/17/2012 11:29:00 PM More reviews by SashaMclean

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Other Eyes: Blue

This product has always worked well, I have used it for about a year. It provides the very light coverage I need and combats shine. I found it to work better than the laura mercier smooth focus setting powder which costs quite a bit more.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/15/2012 9:14:00 PM More reviews by bluebelleyes

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have combination oily skin, that has been covered (literally, covered) in acne for three years. I have tried every setting powder I could get my hands on to control the oil, until finally I discovered this powder. It was love at first sight. :D Because of the acne, I use a very heavy coverage of foundation, which feels awful, and looks awful UNTIL I apply this powder. :) Even after using it for a year and a half now, I'm always amazed at the difference it makes. Shrinks pores, sets makeup flawlessly, makes acne appear smaller and flattened, looks natural, and non-powdery, doesn't accentuate the fine hairs on the face, has a wonderful lasting powder, doesn't cake up, has lovely packaging that has never malfunctioned, doesn't increase my breakouts, the mirror stays clean because it's twist out, it's just amazing ! I use the lightest on my T-zone, and the medium shade on my cheekbones and temples. As I reapply during the day, it gradually contours my face, which is lovely, because I haven't been able to use bronzer, blush, or highlighter in a long time since it just accentuates the acne on my cheeks...anyway, here's the best part of the whole thing...I CAN FINALLY SAY I HAVE AN HG PRODUCT!! :):):) I recommend it to all my friends, and it has become their HG powders as well. :) The only downside is that it's often hard in the lightest color because it's sold out. Because it's so awesome, everyone buys it. It's around 13$ here, but if you think that's a little high, wait till you try it. It's worth it. It's just great. Go try it. That's all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/15/2012 6:21:00 PM More reviews by DimpleBaby

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have just begun wearing make-up. My skin is very dry and I thought of giving this powder a try, but it did not suit me. My face looked powdery..and it actually stripped off all the moisture from my skin (I wore it above the foundation)..overall, I did not like the product..I will return it..Any suggestions on good loose or pressed powder for dry skin is welcome..I want my face to look natural and not cakey..

Is this review helpful? Yes No