August 20, 2014 | 1911 users online

Liquid - MAC - Matchmaster SPF 15 Foundation

rated 3.7(373 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.7
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.4
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/14/2012 7:24:00 AM More reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

Wierd scent. Oxidises badly and gets even darker throughout the day, so sample first if you have oily skin. Shade 1 is even darker and more orange than NW15 so I don't recommend if you have very fair skin. Mac should consider putting out a NW 05 - NW 10 foundation to suit paler skin, there is a market out there!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/14/2012 3:00:00 AM More reviews by upl6868

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

My Favorite Foundation from Mac.
I've been going a bit tanner recently but this product still match my skin well *Thumbs up* It's medium coverage and not oily. When in rush, I just only use this and my face is ready to go. I do apply an additional layer where i need to conceal tho. One more thing, this dries quickly so you need to work fast.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/13/2012 2:27:00 AM More reviews by chrissaayy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I really love this foundation and i have brought it 2 times :) even though it is pretty expensive from where i am from the results are worth it. For me, it doesn't cake at all, doesn't make my face greasy. It does get a bit boring though when u wear it everyday...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/24/2012 10:48:00 AM More reviews by lygophilia

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I just finished my first bottle and have recently repurchased another as I absolutely love this foundation. The formula is silky, blends so easily into my skin, provides medium coverage, contains SPF15, sets to a semi-matte finish, and wears extremely well all day without oxidizing or looking cakey. Super impressed with the packaging too, love the pump that can be easily closed with a twist of the cap. I wear the shade '1' and its a flawless match to my complexion, for reference I wear MAC NC15, Bourjois 51 Vanille Clair, Revlon Colorstay in Buff, Vichy Dermablend in Opal, Laura Mercier Silk Creme Foundation in Ivory Rose, NARS Deauville, and Revlon PhotoReady in Vanilla.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/20/2012 7:48:00 PM More reviews by xiufey88

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have been using this foundation over one month now. I am somewhere between NC30 - NC35, and using 3.0. The color matched me perfectly. The SA at Mac counter said it's a mid coverage foundation, but I found this cover pretty on my face. Well this is my first Mac foundation so I can't really compare to other popular ones. I use my hands to apply this and gives me the most nature finish. It dried down pretty fast on my face, so I have to work apply section by section on my skin. It has pretty much keeps me matte all day, and the staying power is amazing! (last me up to 8 hrs) I don't use powder to set my foundation except my nose area. Because I found out if I set my foundation, about 4-5 hrs later my nature oil mix with powder look crease around my mouth area. Dont get me wrong. It happened on all foundation I use. This is not the only one. I think this foundation is great for summer use. But it might be a bit too dry for winter. I am not sure, but I will try for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/19/2012 6:11:00 AM More reviews by Walko

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is one of the best I've tried. I use it in 1.5 which the mac girl picked for me. When I started to put it on it looked awful like yellow, but when blended in it's fine, lives up to its "matchmaster" name. I have no problems with this oxidising at all.Good at controlling oilies as well, as well as any I've found anyway.My previous favourite was the revlon colorstay which I still like, but what I hate about colorstay is it's a devil to remove. The Mac one reoves easier.Matchmaster looks very natural on, almost like you're not wearing much make up. I wouldn't say it is full coverage, best with colorstay for that. But this is a very good foundation. a little pricey but worth it.Wouldn't recommend for dry skin though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/17/2012 7:38:00 PM More reviews by beeeez

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've had this for a while now. One morning, I decided to go in my unused make-up drawer and found this lying there right in front of me and I thought MEH why not try it again (I forgot how it was for my skin). Right now I am using Hourglass Immaculate and it's the best mattifying liquid to powder foundation EVER for my very oily t-zone. But because it's so damn expensive (about $70.00CAD with tax), I wanted to look for an alternative and use the Hourglass for nicer occasions. So I tried this on...and it's summer right now. I must say, I'm surprised how it ACTUALLY keeps me matte hmmm pretty much ALL DAY. How did I forget! Why didn't I keep on using it?? Why is it in my drawer?!? The color actually matches me! I'm about a NC40-NC42 right now cause I got tanned (normally nc25-35 when pale), But my face fades really quick like 1 week quick, compared to the rest of my body (from exfoliating my face), so the foundation won't match my neck. If my face didn't fade, it will match my neck. I mean..this foundation DOES say Matchmaster right...so it will adjust to whatever color you have. REALLY GOOD foundation for oil control.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/14/2012 10:00:00 PM More reviews by hootie2

Age: 44-55 Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I am really liking this. I have the strangest skin on earth and this is not irritating it so far. I mix it with lotion because its very matte. Even with my oily skin it is very drying, which is nice for a change. Tired of oily face. The coverage is also a bit much for me, I like tinted moisturizers but couldn't find one that wouldn't break me out. I am crossing my fingers on this one. I wear nw/nc 20 and have this in 1.5 and its perfect.
Update: Broke me out. I haven't the heart to discuss it further.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/7/2012 12:11:00 AM More reviews by Sagehen

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I thought this would be the answer to my prayers when MAC discontinued my fave foundation (StudioFinish in NW 45 and/or NC50). I was matched at a counter and of course the SA recommended the8.0. I took it and discovered that after several hours it oxidizes terribly dark and ruddy. I have also tried the 7.5 and it still looks "off". I am just trying to use the bottle I have and move on from this awful, overly expensive product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/5/2012 11:27:00 AM More reviews by xkudax

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

I got this in 7.5. I'm an nc50 in studio fix. I was so excited about this foundation based on he description. By I'm afraid it's a fail for me. I've spent the last while looking for my HG foundation. Unfortunately this isn't it. The colour oxidises to a horrible red after a while. It melts off my face after like 2 hrs only regardless of how much I set it. Not impressed! It feels icky and transfers very easily. Never again. Thank god it didn't at least break me out!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No